We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location - beachfront with very clean amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
First Sun Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns
Level Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great location - beachfront with very clean amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Right in the heart of Byron Bay, within walking distance to shops & sights, beachfront with very clean amenities......reception staff not the friendliest though. expensive but what you would expect beachfront at Byron Bay, I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Definitely go for beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    58
    23
    11
    3
See reviews for
50
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jurien, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were excited to be staying at byron bay and booked into the first sun for 3 nights while travelling up the east coast. I was extremely disappointed with the attitude of the staff who allocated us a site right next door to where the were constructing the town pool. We were not told of this at the time and arrived at the site to have water being discharged from the workers onto the site and items parked on it also. We went back to reception to tell them that there is no way we can put our van there, but the noise was terrible and wouldn't be suitable for a relaxing break in byron. The attitude of the staff member was poor. She said "well they finish at 4'" she was not helpful in trying to accommodate us and scowled when I suggested that this is not the best site to be allocating to people.

So we drove up the road and stayed 2 nights at Clarkes Beach caravan park. We had a fantastic stay there. They were extremely welcoming and it was a nicer park anyway.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We just got back from our 5 night stay , I must say its in the best location , too easy to keep nicking back and forwards to the main st , it's just at the caravan parks door step , also the beach is right there, very handy , so all positive , only negatives would be its needs a play area for the kids , and the microwaves in the camp kitchens were very rusty and out dated , the cabins were nice , another BIG positive is each cabin has its own BBQ which we thought was the best !!
Will stay again but would luv some more palms and a kiddies play area .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaz160674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Myself and two friends stayed 3 nights, 2nd to 5th August 2012 at this caravan park in a cabin. Prompted to write this review because the negative comments re the reception staff almost made me choose somewhere else. All staff we dealt with at initial booking, subsequent queries we made by phone and face to face, and when booking in, were efficient, friendly and very helpful, including giving directions to places we wanted to find and ideas for places to eat. The cabin was spacious, clean, and well stocked with what we needed. The noise was the normal you would expect in a caravan park and we have stayed in many caravan parks. The rates were reasonable given we were right in town, and the location was excellent. Myself and my friends would most certainly booked in again. Sue Reynolds Murwillumbah

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 750sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in the Starfish cabin which has been refurbished since last year and looks slot fresher. Equipped with everything you need ie cutlery, plates, even an iron and a mop.
Cannot beat the location, a minute walk to the beach. Had no trouble with noise and staff on this occasion were very helpful especially Natalie.
We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Although the park was in a good location, we would not stay there again. On holidays you look forward to having a sleep in but at 6.45 am EVERY Saturday morning and we were there for 3, the bins were emptied by truck and very noisy The Amenities were being cleaned at different times from early hours in the morning to late morning there was no consistency. The staff were abrupt and not customer focused like they were doing us a favor letting us stay there. We are in our 40's.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in our camper van back in February 2009. It is a lovely site which is located in the centre of Byron Bay right close to the shops and right next to the beach. Our spot had a lovely view over the ocean and also meant we had a refreshing sea breeze. The site when we visited was very well maintained and clean and had a good ratio of amenities. It was not too expensive either despite its highly sought after location and popularity. It was also not rowdy and was quiet at night (apart from the cicadas) so is good for families (as we took our 6 month old) especially seeing how close it is to the beach. Highly recommended but book well in advance as we were lucky and only managed to stay at short notice as there was a cancellation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our park. We are glad your stay was a pleasant one and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#10 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
North Coast Holiday Parks Clarkes Beach
0.4 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#17 of 64 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#24 of 64 in Byron Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Property: First Sun Holiday Park
Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — First Sun Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Sun Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing