We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, first class cabins”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Sun Holiday Park
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed in the Starfish cabin which has been refurbished since last year and looks slot fresher. Equipped with everything you need ie cutlery, plates, even an iron and a mop.
Cannot beat the location, a minute walk to the beach. Had no trouble with noise and staff on this occasion were very helpful especially Natalie.
We have already booked again for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

Although the park was in a good location, we would not stay there again. On holidays you look forward to having a sleep in but at 6.45 am EVERY Saturday morning and we were there for 3, the bins were emptied by truck and very noisy The Amenities were being cleaned at different times from early hours in the morning to late morning there was no consistency. The staff were abrupt and not customer focused like they were doing us a favor letting us stay there. We are in our 40's.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in our camper van back in February 2009. It is a lovely site which is located in the centre of Byron Bay right close to the shops and right next to the beach. Our spot had a lovely view over the ocean and also meant we had a refreshing sea breeze. The site when we visited was very well maintained and clean and had a good ratio of amenities. It was not too expensive either despite its highly sought after location and popularity. It was also not rowdy and was quiet at night (apart from the cicadas) so is good for families (as we took our 6 month old) especially seeing how close it is to the beach. Highly recommended but book well in advance as we were lucky and only managed to stay at short notice as there was a cancellation!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jodeh, Manager at First Sun Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our park. We are glad your stay was a pleasant one and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were pretty disappointed with our stay, even though we loved Byron. I must admit that is has the best location in Byron. It is on the best beach and amongst all the restaurants, shops and cafes.
The young reception staff were rude, unhelpful and need to smile; life can't be that bad living in relaxed Byron Bay. The rooms look bigger on the net, seriously they are shoe boxes. The weather was bad, so that made things a bit worst because as a family of three were stuck in the room. If the rooms has some shelves installed it could make life a lot easier. The share bathrooms were dirty and the camp kitchen was the worst I have seen at a caravan park. I asked the staff very nicely to put a light globe in the bathroom so I could see in the shower, but that was too hard. We only got 2 towels and had to put our own linen on the beds. I am not a mean advisor, this is my first bad one. For the price I really would expect a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KellHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Byron is a magical spot but it can be pricey to stay there at the best of times. FSHP is excellent value for money. It is in a perfect and central location. The facilities and grounds are always kept pristine. We stayed in a Cabin (no ensuite) and found it to be perfect for our needs. The cooking facilities were fine and the toilets too. Really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend for anyone to stay there, couples or families.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Byron accommodation can be very expensive especially on the weekends but this place was great value for money and you are in the heart of Byron. Everything you need is within walking distance. Stayed for the weekend in a lodge room with ensuite. These rooms are very clean and although basic have everything you need. The grounds and camp kitchen which are straight out front of the rooms are very neat and tidy with lovely picnic tables and trees everywhere. I stayed with my son and found this place to have a lovely atmosphere. The only down side is that because of the value for money and location this place attracts alot of young people who come back from the clubs at all hours. First Sun do make you sign a no party policy so no parting on site but you do hear the party crew coming home in the middle of the night. If you are a light sleeper this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to get a lodge room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nessie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

After traveling up the east coast our van broke down in Byron Bay. We contacted First Sun and they immeditatly told us not to worry and that they would find us a room. We were placed in lodge 15. It was lovely and clean. There was a shared outside cooking area that was set up very well, and shared showers and bathrooms that were always spotless. Amazing location and service that we could not fault. We stayed for 4 nights and it was a pleasure. Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy_1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#34 of 65 in Byron Bay
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glen Villa Resort
Glen Villa Resort
#18 of 65 in Byron Bay
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
Discovery Parks - Byron Bay
#28 of 65 in Byron Bay
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.2 mi away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#13 of 34 in Byron Bay
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Sun Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Sun Holiday Park

Address: Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $78 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Sun Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of Byron Bay, just metres from the beach and town centre. Located on the beachfront at beautiful Byron Bay, First Sun Holiday Park offers you everything Byron Bay is world renowned for literally metres from your cabin, caravan or tent. Wake to the sound of surf lapping ‘The Wreck’ beach and take a stroll along the golden sands towards Byron Lighthouse. Step into town for a coffee, a night out in one of Byron’s many restaurants, pubs and clubs, or take in Byron’s eclectic shops, street life and markets. At First Sun Holiday Park you need never take your car anywhere because everything is so close at hand. Choose from Self Contained Cabins, Lodges, Powered and Unpowered Caravan Sites and a shady camp area. Our facilities are first class and the views towards The Wreck, Byron Lighthouse, Mt Warning and beyond, are only a few reasons why you should visit us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your First Sun Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Sun Holiday Park Hotel Byron Bay
1st Sun Holiday Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing