We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“broken pool”
Review of Bay Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Beach Motel
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“broken pool”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The kids love a pool so we where disapointed when we saw the broken pool sign up for the duration of our stay.
noisy from people getting into their rooms in the early hours
when we checked out they charged us 7 dollars for 2 tiny bottles of water which every other motel give for free
I suggested the water should be free since the pool was out of order during our stay, she was having none of it
overpriced for what is a cheap style motel
the only positive was its close to most things and cafes and has a car space
shame still looking for a good motel hotel to use on our byron visits

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brissypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    47
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
10
48
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Checked into this Motel late in the afternoon got a double room with balcony for $165 which was very good value for money for its location others were wanting $195 - $240 room no14 balcony overlooked library car park receptionist did inform us on check in but it got the evening sun so we chilled out with a drink. The nice lady on reception was really helpful recommending places to eat & go. After we had checked out she let us leave our car in car park while we went out for the day. Room was nice & clean, comfy bed, all the facilities you need hairdryer, iron, fridge etc. great outdoor facilities too not that we used them due to only staying one night but front shallow pool with loungers rear garden & BBQ area. Great location near town & beach. I would have happily stayed longer & would totally recommend you book in here. Thanks bay beach motel happy holidays :-)

Room Tip: Room 14 overlooks library car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzNige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I travel all over the place for business and this is one motel I keep coming back to.
It is clean and really close to town, an easy walk down the street, but far enough away that you don't get the noise from the centre of town.
The construction next door has finished, so no noise from there.
The lady at the front counter is always friendly and helpful.
For this area it is well priced.
I don't have any problems I can think of about staying here!
I just read the other reviews and can't believe some of the whinging about this motel, wow! I totally disagree!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

stayed for one night visiting with three other couples, good clean motel , near the centre of town , good for short stays for couples, pleasant staff, good base to stay a week end, we were lucky to get 4 rooms all of our party were pleased

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Such a great location - the BBM is a short walk from the centre of town, so no need for a taxi, walk to light house across the road from the main beach - a cute little pool great when the beach is windy...

Room Tip: I stayed in the balcony room, although I have stayed in the east side a little smaller but also comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camthm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I am very disappointed in this motel. I have tried twice to book a "Standard 2 Night Room" on their site. Each time i go to process the payment i get an error saying I have not met the minimum stay. The room is a "2 night room" and I am booking for 2 nights.

When i called the hotel, I was told by the very rude receptionist that the owners have 'changed their mind', for this period it will be a minimum 5 night stay. This is not stated anywhereon their site, and to make matters worse over the past few days a number of our family and friends have booked the same room for 2 and 3 nights. I was told that they have now changed their policy for this time period, there is nothing she can do for me. I was told to call back in a few days to see if there are any updates.

I am very displeased with the service i have received.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here as a solo traveller for a couple of days in October and was impressed by the location, facilities and friendly staff. The rooms were spacious, nice decor and with all the facilities you would expect of a motel. I recommend as a good value for money option right near the beach and town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rml247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus Motel
Hibiscus Motel
#7 of 32 in Byron Bay
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#14 of 32 in Byron Bay
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beach Motel

Property: Bay Beach Motel
Address: 32 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Beach Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing