We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”
Review of Garden Burees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden Burees
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay
1 review
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently ran a retreat at the Garden Burees which was a perfect venue. Peaceful, private, beautiful decor and surrounded by nature. It's only a short 10 minute stroll to town and the beach and the staff were wonderful. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstentremlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Kirsten,
Thank you for your lovely review on us and we are very happy to hear that your guest Peter enjoyed his retreat in The Gallery Studio. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and it was also lovely to meet Katie.
Warm regards
Simone Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    62
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
25
155
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Garden Buree room for our anniversary. It was a unique and romantic accommodation for us. We enjoyed the outdoor shower so much...the water dragon even joined us in our private little yard a few times. We hired the bike from the owner for a whole day and rode around town. It was definitely worth it. The other little surprise was the cinema next door. There is a little pathway from our room to the cinema. We watched a movie there and it turned out to be one of the most comfortable cinemas ever!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobaK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Ohhh, what a lovely review! It seems like you really took in everything that we like to try to offer our valued guests. The Bike Hire is a great way to zip around Byron and I have to agree, the cinema next door is such a treat and Paul has a great slection of non- mainstream and mainstream movies. The outdoor shower in the burees makes you feel like you are out in the wilds.....very liberating. I look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Warm regards
Simone Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed in one of the lovely Garden Burees recently with my partner. It provided the perfect base for our trip. Very private and romantic. The spa and private garden with outdoor shower were a highlight. Less than a 10 minute walk into town/beach yet you feel like you are completely secluded. Staff were great. Great experience and fantastic value. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you James for your lovely review and we are over the moon that you found your stay with us was good value for money and left you with a feeling of wanting to return to stay. Please don't forget to call us directly to receive your return guest special.
Warm regards
Simone Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the 'Dragonfly rest' for our 19th anniversary recently. We found it just perfect. Simple, but very, very well appointed. Private, peaceful and oh so romantic. The only thing we found that could be improved, was the mattress on the bed. It's probably done it's job and ready for replacement.
There is the Brewery right next door when we felt like company, and it only took us 10 minutes to walk to the beach.
We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi Darren,
Thank you for staying with us for such a special occasion, wow 19 year anniversary, congratulations and we really look forward to welcoming you back to The Burees soon. Dragonfly is very special.
warm regards
Simone Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, the buree is so cute, the decor is so well done and all the touches that make is so comforting. It was so relaxing that although we planed on going out we fell asleep at 8pm and slept 12hrs. Had to save the spa bath till morning.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Fluer,
Thank you for your review on your stay in the cosy Buree. At least you had the chance to us the double spa the next morning. We are so glad that you had a relaxing stay.
See you again soon we hope.
Warm regards
Simone Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the 'Dragonfly Rest' Room for 3 nights for our anniversary - despite some of the previous reviews we absolutely loved it. The wildlife were definitely not a nuisance and if anything they were as welcoming as the reception staff - particularly the friendly green tree frogs at our front door! The camp ground next door should also be given credit for their beautiful music, I spent most nights outside listening to them sing which made it that little bit more relaxing. Admittedly they did get loud towards the end of the night but you can't have it all your way. I'm a fussy traveller but I would definitely recommend this place for something a little different!

Room Tip: Dragonfly Rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Sarah,
Thankyou for your lovely review and so happy to hear that you enjoyed the space that is The Dragonfly's Rest. Feels like you are in a different world. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Burees in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrabri, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Absolutely LOVED this place. It's simplistic yet has everything you need for a relaxing stay without unnecessary bells and whistles. I stayed by myself in the Studio apartment, and hired a bike from here so I could ride it down to the beach. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the room was comfortable and quiet. You can't come to Byron and stay somewhere commercial - it ruins the fun and the peaceful vibe of the place. I have finally found my little slice of Byron Bay heaven! So very grateful for this treasure. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanks Kate for your review on us. Hiring bikes is such a good idea and we have just bought 4 new ones for The Burees. I look forward to seeing you again at The Burees, you would really like The Dragonfly's Rest as well. See you next time you come up from Narrabri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
2.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Aabi's at Byron
Aabi's at Byron
#11 of 65 in Byron Bay
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Burees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Burees

Property: Garden Burees
Address: 17 Gordon St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Burees 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-Energise, Kick Back and Chill Out at The Garden Burees Byron BayEscape to a lush wonderland and immerse your senses with a cozy and unique array of accommodation styles that suits all occasions and budgets. From individuals wanting time to reflect, to the hopeless romantics and not to mention get togethers with family or your partners in crime, each individual retreat sings it's own song. From the luxury of our 2 storey Grand Buree to the chic and edgy self contained hideaways or the balinese inspired bungalows, the Burees will have a style that will suit your needs. This tucked away treasure, nestled in tropical surrounds is only a short stroll (10 minutes) to the famous beaches, shops, markets and restaurants of Byron. Located next door to The Garden Burees is a treasure trove of enjoyment with The Buddha Gardens Day Spa, The Iconic Arts Factory Lodge, The Arthouse Lounge Cinema and Byron Bay Brewery. Whatever the pleasure....................... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Garden Burees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing