We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Burees great spot”
Review of Garden Burees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden Burees
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed in both a garden buree and the Chalet Bathroom at this property and loved both. The property is well located within easy walking distance of town and right beside the Arts Factory/Buddha Bar complex, which is a great spot in its own right with well-priced meals and live music.

The two-story buree was very comfortable and distinctive accommodation, with a private outdoor shower. The nearby one-level Chalet Bathroom, with its massive exterior bathroom and quiet sitting area was a wonderful experience. Also, the staff couldn't do enough to help. We'd certainly return for another stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimM466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 263 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

We adored our stay in our Garden Buree - didn't want to leave! We were glad that the Buddha Bar was in the vicinity...(those boutique beers that are made there are too delish!) We just didn't want to stray too far from our Buree & it's own beautiful spa. We lost the desire to go into Byron & just lounged around enjoying the luxury of our own little world. Simone made it from the word go...she was so warm & welcoming when we checked in. It was such a charming place...so quiet & peaceful-the gardens had a spiritual quality about them & we loved our own very private garden & the fun of showering outside. We were captivated with the tame Eastern Water Dragons sitting on the rocks outside. It was all a truly romantic experience for us both ...we'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: We were so impressed with the choice of the 3 very romantic Garden Burees but the Grand Buree looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed with family in the Grand Buree and couldn't be happier with it. Everything we needed was there, loved the decor, plenty of room. Unlike another reviewer, we were not bothered by noise at all. When we arrived Simone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have stayed a couple of nights in the chalet bathroom, which was really a great and unique experience! Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised. So relaxing, the day spa is very recommendable too. The location was good, close to town, and with the buddha bar just around the corner which was ideal for an evening drink with some live music! If you're looking for something different then just a standard hotel room, this would really be the place in Byron for a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeroen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

stayed for an night.....spent most of my time in the spa.....ha ha ha
enjoyed everything....Yes!!! the stairs are rather tight
and the t.v reception was not good
but.....who cares
i certainly didn`t
will be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebeautiful10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed in the Chalet Studio for one night and in the Grand Buree for two nights. This has to be one of the most overpriced accommodation in Australia.

Chalet Studio
This is a spruced up shed. Not all the windows have curtains, and the ones that do, will not cover them anyway. However, no need for curtains as the room overlooks a scenic wonderland of a toolshed and a communal vegetable garden, so you will be woken up by the noise anyway, as the property backs onto the Arts Factory, Brewery and Back Packers accommodation. From the pics I have attached, you will see the stunning view of the tin shed roof. To be fair to them they do put a note in much smaller font to the rest of the site at the bottom of the page, so can't say they didn't warn you!

Don't worry if you can't get enough of the view, as the toilet and shower area (both in the bedroom and separated by just a thin wall) do not have any coverings on the windows, so you can look straight out and anyone walking into the next chalet can see you in the shower. This is the cheapest option here, and at $175 per night is ridiculous.

Grand Buree
I'm not going to bother explaining most of the features of the property as I don't think anyone should stay here. Here are the key features you need to know:

1. Enjoy close contact with the Mozzies - The window was left open in the lounge area with no fly screen, upon inspection it was broken and left lying against the wall.

2. No need to sleep, relax in the soothing music of the band next door - The pub/brewery is right on the other side of the garden wall to the pub and brewery. They had a live band on Friday and Saturday night from about 7.30pm to 11pm. This is not about hearing just a humming sound, you will get the full live musical experience in the buree. Forget it if you have an early start or just want to experience that 'peaceful stroll in the Balinese Garden' that the website advertises.

3. Great for train enthusiasts - Especially if you love steam engines, as the brewery next doors runs 24/7. So approx every 30 mins, you will near a steam pressure release which lasts for several seconds and very loud. This goes on throughout the night, so you can enjoy the noise ongoing.

4. Bali experience - More like the street experience inside the buree. Although largely clean, they kindly left the bottle caps from the previous inhabitants by the spa (which is not heated, so basically a pond with pressure jets), as well as cobwebs in several locations, cockroaches, ants, spiders and geckos.

As another reviewer has stated, the website doesn't give you the right picture. If you want the above experience, go next door to the backpackers, you'll save yourself a lot of money, at least you can used it next door at the pub.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thechinesecockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenBurees, Manager at Garden Burees, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was so disapointing. Yes, we are adjacent to The Buddah Bar which can be noisy on Friday and Saturday nights in The Grande Buree (the only style of accommodation on our site affected by the Buddah Bar noise) depending on the style of music being played. Unfortunately, these guests did stay when a music festival was taking place ( a yearly event), this was louder than usual. The brewery has stopped the air pressure noise coming from nextdoor by moving it indoors. There is an upside to being next door to great music, food, a day spa and arthouse lounge cinema. Everything is in close proximity and only a 5 minute walk to town. Regarding the cobwebs and mosquitoes, we are surrounded by beautiful rainforest and a nature reserve so there will be insects and wildlife depending on the time of the year. We have mosquito netting on all windows and the screen that the guests have said was broken has been fixed and must have broken when they were in the room as I would not check someone in with a flyscreeen lying on the ground. You cannot stop a spider spinning a web throughout the night. I believe this is exagerating somewhat and not fair on our behalf. The Chalet Studio mentioned in this review has been renovated since their stay with us and we now provide a beautiful private bamboo courtyard and all windows have new blinds and the neighbours roof is now hidden behind a lovely bamboo screen. The communal garden that you look down on from your window is a great iniciative taken on by the local residents to live a more sustainable and healthy life. I do hope that this review does not deter you from visiting us in the future and I would kindly welcome back these guests on a discounted rate to make up for their last stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Me and my husband satyed in the bathroon chalet for 2 nights - we loved it - the outside bathroom was beautiful it was so relaxing and peaceful we will definantly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandBPz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 34 in Byron Bay
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
0.5 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 34 in Byron Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 34 in Byron Bay
409 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Lord Byron
The Lord Byron
#2 of 34 in Byron Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Burees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Burees

Address: 17 Gordon St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $141 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Burees 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Re-Energise, Kick Back and Chill Out at The Garden Burees Byron BayEscape to a lush wonderland and immerse your senses with a cozy and unique array of accommodation styles that suits all occasions and budgets. From individuals wanting time to reflect, to the hopeless romantics and not to mention get togethers with family or your partners in crime, each individual retreat sings it's own song. From the luxury of our 2 storey Grand Buree to the chic and edgy self contained hideaways or the balinese inspired bungalows, the Burees will have a style that will suit your needs. This tucked away treasure, nestled in tropical surrounds is only a short stroll (10 minutes) to the famous beaches, shops, markets and restaurants of Byron. Located next door to The Garden Burees is a treasure trove of enjoyment with The Buddha Gardens Day Spa, The Iconic Arts Factory Lodge, The Arthouse Lounge Cinema and Byron Bay Brewery. Whatever the pleasure....................... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Burees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing