We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Hotel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Motel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hibiscus Motel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Suites(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waves Byron Bay(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Beach Motel(Byron Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
101
163
86
47
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
163
86
47
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel desksmall lockersbed ensuitegreat locationair conclean roomsa great place to meetcommunal areaseast coast triprooms are bigfridge spacesocial hostelreception areaoutside areanoisy at nightshops and cafesbottle shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 443 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in Nomads Byron in mid December and found that the hostel was clean and that the rooms were simple and modern and smelt clean. This is a relatively new hostel and so it definitely is in much better condition than a lot of others. It is in a great location just off of the main street and close to the beach. We did not have our own shower and toilet but there were some available on the floor with about 5 showers and toilets, plus some separate disabled ones and I can't say that i ever had to wait for one. Kitchen was small(ish) and a lot cleaner than some hostels, they also had a large eating/drinking area and hot tub.

The wifi was a let down for me. Whilst travelling free wifi is important and something that sways me to book somewhere. You could only use it downstairs in reception and even then it was not a simple process to login. I don't know why they can't just password protect it and bobs your uncle. This is Nomad's all over Australia, not just this one.

Overall great place but it isn't the cheapest...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

- Friendly staff: there had been a mixup in our booking en as a compensation, we got a day free parking.
- Showers and toilets were not very clean.
- Wi-fi not always working right of fast enough.
- We had a free meal!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stNipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear 1stNipo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Nomads Byron Bay and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience.

I was pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and that you were satisfied with the compensation you received for the error with your booking.

I apologise that you found the bathrooms not clean, this is certainly not consistent with a large majority of the other reviews and feedback we receive. As we do make a very conscious effort to maintain high cleanliness standards. Regardless of this I will discuss your feedback with the team to ensure we do not receive feedback such as this in future.

Thank you again for your review!

Kind Regards,
Sam B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for 2 days. The room was very clean and included airco which was very convenient. Met some nice people during the organized activities. There is a pingpong table and 2 Jacuzzis. The common area was huge where you can hang out

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the wifi was often unavailable because everyone was using it. i don't like the advertising of free wifi if it doesn't work in the morning or night. the rest of the hostel was great. it had a strong party atmosphere.

Room Tip: i don't know mate
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jomesrobolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

8 friends and i booked out a 10 bed dorm and had such a great time at this hostel. There were always things to do at night, whether it be a beer pong tournament or if they were just organising a large group to go clubbing.

The staff were very friendly and had some laughs and drinks with us which we all appreciated and the rooms were kept clean (except for when we made such a mess of our own room that we told the poor girl coming in to clean it to just not bother and we did it ourselves)

Had a fantastic time, lots of fun, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews