We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomads Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nomads Byron Bay
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a very spacious, clean and nice 8 bed dorm. Pay the extra two dollars (instead of a 10 bed) as it is worth it. Not a licensed hostel so you can drink in the common room and the outside area and meet others. Lots organised such as walks, quizzes, games, 2$ pastas. Close to CBD and beach. Fantastic hostel!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    144
    71
    40
    36
See reviews for
6
58
92
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed at Nomads for 6 nights and it was by far my least favourite hostel. I got there to find they thought I'd cancelled my booking and they were extremely unhelpful about it. I had to go back to the reception 4 times and in total about 2 hours was wasted without even a sorry as it was their mistake.

The rooms are big and you have a balcony and lots of plug sockets, however the rooms do smell a bit - I think it's the duvet sheets that they never wash.

Also, if you like a big party hostel with noise all night long this is your place, it not then don't stay here.

Best thing was the kitchen, t was clean and lots of space to cook.

But overall this hostel wasn't good. Shame as had stayed in other nomads before which were much nicer. But the staff here really didn't care and in general the rooms and bathrooms smelt.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englandgirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine B, General Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Englandgirl88,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback through Trip Advisor on your recent stay at Nomads Byron Bay.

I do apologise that you did not enjoy your experience and if you feel that the service provided was poor. I will discuss your comments with the team so they are aware of your feedback and I am sure they will be quite disappointed as generally we do receive positive feedback regarding the service we provide.

Englandgirl88, once again thank you for your review and I apologise your stay was not what you expected. If you would like to discuss this further or provide any additional details please do not hesitate to contact me directly on bookings@nomadsbyronbay.com.

Kind Regards,
Sam B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed for three nights in November. The hostel was a good base for exploring Byron and its surroundings. The room (an 8 bed female dorm) was clean and bright and had a balcony. No ensuite facilities but the female only showers were clean with plenty of basins and mirrors!
The hostel has a nice outdoor decked area linked to the common room. People congregate there in the evening before heading out. I liked that the outdoor area closed at 10pm which meant that if you were having a night in you could get some sleep!
A bit pricier than other hostels but would consider staying again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in a private double room with ensuite. For a hostel the standard of the double room was excellent, really nice room, of a decent size with a good bathroom all for a really decent price.

The location is awesome, right in the heart of where you need to stay if you're visiting Byron Bay (which I would highly recommend visiting). The staff were really helpful. Great communal areas but also big enough to get away from the noise if that's not your thing.

Free car park underneath the hostel if you're staying there which is a massive bonus.

Wifi only charged at $4 for 24 hours so great value, as it uses Global Gossip, if you move on to another hostel before you have used your internet access you can use it elsewhere provided they have Global Gossip access.

For the guys at Nomads - the only thing I would say is take a look at the shower in room 211 as it sprayed more water all over the bathroom than in the shower cubicle so ended up using the communal showers! Also, the guys at other Nomads hostels, especially Sydney Westend could take a leaf out of your book, we stayed there for one night after staying with you Byron and it was disgusting.

All in all Nomads Byron Bay is highly recommended and worth paying an extra few dollars for a private room if you can as they are great quality with towels and toiletries and linen thrown in.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nosha1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Currently staying here now, and must say, have no complaints whatsoever about this hostel!
The location is perfect, city centre and close to anywhere you'd want to go in Byron. Didn't know what to expect, as other hostels I've been to were dodgy, but was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. Our 6 bedroom room was spotless and included an en-suite bathroom. All rooms seem to have balconies and en suite bathrooms as far as i can tell, which is awesome. The public facilities were very clean also (bigger bathrooms much more than smaller handicapped toilet). All throughout the days there were staff members cleaning and even painting walls.

The only downfalls i can see at this point are the Christmas Beetles that are EVERYWHERE. Flying all over, and blankets of dead ones in the kitchen while trying to cook dinner. Cant really control those, other than by keeping doors and/or screens shut. No mugs or glasses provided, which was weird, and also half of the burners on the stove top didn't work.

Location is amazing and perfect for walking to any spot in Byron. The vibe of the hostel is upbeat, with a range of music playing though out the halls during the day/evening, and daily activities posted in the courtyard. All in all, I'm enjoying my stay and would 100% recommend this hostel to other backpackers or travellers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm not a backpacker, and as such my time at Nomad's while in Byron recently was considered and researched prior to ensure I maximised privacy and that all-important personal space!

We were in a deluxe king room and had our own ensuite and balcony - and as such it was perfect for relatively cheap.

Great location - definitely go next door to Barefoot Roasters and see the delightful Rodney for a good coffee and chat with a local.

Met some lovely travellers, and were there for Halloween - which was a great vibe and experience for an Aussie who in her 27 years has not once celebrated the spooky, gore-splattered holiday.

Nice decor to boot... a top-notch backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebjmccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days and absolutely loved it. As soon as we arrived there was stuff happening out on the terrace. Our room was clean enough and the beds were pretty comfy. I'd definitely recommend this hostel to backpackers who enjoy a good time, if not this hostel probably isn't for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bremmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#3 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
0.5 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Property: Nomads Byron Bay
Address: 1 Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Byron Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing