We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most modern hostel I've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is so new and the location is perfect so really can't fault it. Seen quite a few bad reviews that I really don't understand, the rooms were spacious enough and had little lockers available for valuables, the bathrooms aren't en suite but they're pretty big and so modern so not really an issue, kitchen is pretty big with enough hobs and sinks for several people to cook at a time and all the cutlery and crockery etc looked new. Communal area was large and everyone tended to drink and socialise there. Every day a couple of activities or things to do were put on which was nice and usually worth getting involved in. The hostel is right next to an aldi which is handy and cheap! Overall I really can't see any problem with this hostel and thought it was one of the better ones I'd stayed at!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

305 - 311 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place was a pretty fun place to stay. As it was raining the whole time I was in Byron Bay (which was absolutely devastating), the entire trip was not so bad as it was fun just hanging around the hostel. They organize party nights at different bars almost daily I think as well as activities in the common room. Rooms were aright, can't complain there.

Only thing I didn't like was the upkeep of the place, it wasn't as clean as I'd hoped. The two hot-tubs you see in the photos were pretty grimey and not working, and I saw cockroaches on more than one occaison. I also didn't like the fact that there were no ensuite rooms.

The staff was pretty good, and there was one guy in particular, forget his name but he's the event coordinator I guess, who really was out to ensure everyone had a good time. Made efforts to talk to more reserved solo travellers to join the group and have fun. To this end, that's why I rate this a 4 despite it being not so clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermario86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Loved my stay here, great location, big spacious dorm rooms, plenty of clean toilets/showers, comfy beds, great staff and entertainment/drinking game in the common room.
I would recommend anyone stay here when they visit Byron Bay.

Byron itself is amazing!! Gorgeous beach, and super-cool surfer vibe to the place.
Make sure you make a trip to Nimbin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights.

Cons: 1. No free wifi, would recommend bringing your own laptop and you can pay $4 for 24 hrs, 2. for $40 a night it can be pricey, Pros: They price match, so if you find a cheaper quote at a similar hostel they will match it. We were luckily able to get a room for $25 a night, except for a Friday night when myself and my one friend paid $35 each.
Great hostel for women with female only dorms and female only bathrooms aswell. Hostel is generally quite clean. Staff were very friendly in general and accomodating.
Great common room and open area. Great at night as everyone is drinking and mingling and hostel staff encourage drinking games, or getting to know other travellers.
Entertainment schedule for every day where the hostel encourages beach games, water/beer pong, VIP nights at close clubs and bars (where they pick you up and give you a free drink), DJ's on friday nights, live music some nights.
Kitchen is clean however the pans are a complete nightmare to cook with. Some won't sit flat.
Travel desk on ground floor which is very helpful and open most hours.
Located right opposite a big Bottle shop and right next to an Aldi. About 5 - 10 minutes walk to the beach of the central bus stop. 15 minutes walk to a big Woolworths. Centrally located to all shops and cafes.
I stayed in the 6 bed dorm room, both female only and mixed. Both were spacious enough with one room even having a double bed at the bottom as a bunk bed, and the other having a balcony onto the street.
I personally took a look at two other hostels in the area (The Arts Factory and Backpackers Inn) and was glad I booked Nomads as it seemed the best.

In conclusion, a great hostel if you want to socialise and party with the common rooms and such, but good if you're looking to get in and out aswell.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Pros: good location. Minutes from the bus junction, and the beach. Clean. Space to leave your bags before/after check out. Big common areas/kitchen, outdoor hot tubs.

Cons: blast music from 9am to 11pm. Check out at 10am. Everyone seemed to be in constant party mode and drunk at all hours of the day.

General observations: Great if you are young and want to party.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of january. Facilities available are top notch, good kitchen, good showers, lockers and plugs in rooms easily accessible. Location is great being in the centre of the town with an ALDI and a bottle shop within 50m as well as being within walking distance of all the decent bars.

BUT! The thing that lets this place down is the staff, who seem to thing they are some sort of demi-gods and that us, the paying customers, should be so lucky to be in their presence (Apart from one nice and genuinely helpful girl on reception). The staff are cliquey, patronising and generally not very helpful.

That aside the cleanliness is very good, the common room is a great place to meet fellow travellers and have a drink also.

Overall i would recommend this hostel, just don't expect any miracles from the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalyjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The bathrooms were very clean, as were the bedrooms. The staff were hit and miss.. Mostly helpful and nice! The travel desk was handy and convenient. The location was great! The courtyard would have to be the best bit. Especially because I was with friends and it was a great place to chill out. The kitchen was alright.. Everything worked. It was great that the courtyard closed at 10pm, so those that wanted to party and be noisy had to either sleep or leave. Great hostel on the whole!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
408 reviews
1 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#5 of 65 in Byron Bay
483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
Aquarius Backpackers Motel
#16 of 65 in Byron Bay
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
Backpackers Holiday Village
#10 of 65 in Byron Bay
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers

Address: 1 Lateen Lane, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $54 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. Nomads Byron Bay is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel. This centrally located property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing