We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST Backpackers in Byron!”
Review of Nomads Byron Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nomads Byron Bay
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Firstly I'll start with how RUDE the staff are! Stayed in Sept/ Oct for two weeks. The staff have this "We work in Byron therefore we are way cooler than you" attitude. Pathetic to say the least. So unhelpful, rude and b**chy. I did tell them how rude they were one morning, they all looked at me gob smacked.After this, I went to go make breakfast and one of the staff members were in there trying to be over nice and make conversation...umm a bit to late and fakeness made the situation even worse. I asked one of the girls cleaning the room for a spare pillow as the one I had was falling to pieces, She huffed and puffed without a response..I wen't to the bathroom and when I came back she had disappered.

The beds creak so loudly at the slightest of movements, the hallways reak of vomit and if you go into the bathrooms in the middle of the night expect people to being having sex in the showers. The bathrooms always stink (blood, spew.. you name it GROSS). If you are 18, are always drunk, like loud, bad taste music this is the place for you! There is also this reallyyyyy annoying, cheesy guy that screaches over the speakers Hellllooooooooooooo Nomadsssss! Enough to make you cringe.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrookeTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

304 - 310 of 416 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great hostel, they even have the famous Aquachicken who gives speedcourses of waterpolo in the pool. He is also worldfamous in Kiev and Blackpool. Really recommend it, also because you can sleep there really well. I've slept like a real pope.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquachicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed for a week- staff were rude from day 1 as they seemed reluctant and unwanting to help or provide assistance, were lazy and unprofessional. Heard a staff member swearing loudly calling female visitors 'b*****s' and complaining about cleaning the bathrooms. Not to mention the staff members having intercourse in the co-ed bathrooms at night. Bathrooms were hot, stuffy and dirty with the lovely noise of people having intercourse almost every night. The elevator and corridor stunk like body odour and vomit and many cochroaches were found in our 6-bed female dorm. Power plugs were out of their wall socket on arrival- something which should have been looked at and fixed. Bunk beds were squeaky and woke you up everytime someone even slightly moved. Only good aspects were air conditioner in rooms, location near beach and shops and the courtyard area. Kitchen was messy and smelt and closed at 11pm along with all other areas in the hostel. Main worry was extremely rude and unwelcoming staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_d31794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights with a friend travelling up the East Coast. We do prefer smaller hostels but this one was very good. Main plus was it is smack bang in the centre of Byron, only a short walk to the beaches, supermarket, shops and bars/restaurants. Checking in was easy, helpful friendly staff. Wifi is global gossip here, reception is rubbish, I brought three days for 20 dollars and could only use sypke once or twice as connection was bad. The room I stayed in was a 4 dorm, clean comfortable beds with lockers in the room and there was a balcony that overlooked the courtyard. It was a lot cleaner than other hostels and the showers were very good, they are communal, mixed sexes which I wasn't to bothered about. Byron was amazing and this hostel is defo worth booking its great value for money, and so central. Down point was the kitchen hobs were rubbish my omelette took ages!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 26curlywurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We are very unhappy customers!
The both nights we stayed there we just couldn't sleep whatsoever because of some "stupid drunk kids" !!! Shouting in the hall at 2am! running like crazy! Splashing doors all night long!
We tried to advice reception about what was happening but not much changed!

If you are looking to party all night long that's a perfect place for you.
Now if you are looking to get some sleep during night time I suggest to look for any other place.
Very disappointed customers.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nerd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine B, Front Office Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello,

We are very sorry your stay was such an unplesant one. Thank you for the feedback, we really do appreciate it. Unfortunatly the time you stayed with us was during the “schoolies period” which only is for 2 weeks and most of our customers are celebrating finishing school.


We do have in place “Night Angels” who monitor our hall ways at night. They do walk the halls constantly to make sure the noise is at its minimum so we will look into why on this night it was still so noisy. Once again we are very sorry your stay was not as it should have been. We would love you to come back and try us again, so would like to offer you a 50% discount on your return visit. If you would like to make another booking please call us on 0266807966, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

If you are not into partying I would suggest this hostel isn't for you. We stayed in a 6bed dorm with a balcony and It was cleaned daily (although not thoroughly). We stayed with some friend we had met in Sydney so I think that is what made our stay stand out. The staff were very helpful and there was always some entertainment every night. Every Tuesday and Thursday there is a quiz. My friends won a skydive and we won a trip to nimbin and a mad card which was cool. The kitchens were brilliant and was lots of space as long as it didn't get to busy. The showers were new and usually clean. Internet was very expensive so we went without. There jacuzzis but we didn't use these. The location was superb and was right in the heart of Byron bay.

It was great budget accommodation in the dorms but don't stay here if you want an early night or luxury as you most probably won't get it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Having traveled the greater part of Australia, this was the worst hostel we've stayed at to date. Could have a been a great place, but the lack of hospitality from the staff, and the state of the hostel were by far disappointing.
We stayed in a 10 person mixed dorm, for 3 nights. Air conditioning did not work, and we were stuck in a room with no balcony, and windows that were broken. Although, it was claimed that there was a women's only bathroom, men used it equally as much. Also, in the 4 days that were stayed there, the bathroom was never cleaned. Additionally, the tv room and kitchen closes at 11, so if you don't want to go out and party every night, you're basically confined to your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karine B, Front Office Manager at Nomads Byron Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we value this information and use it to improve the hostel. I am sorry your stay wasn’t as pleasant as we would have hoped. Unfortunately there is only one 10 share without a balcony, and all of our air-conditioning have been serviced and are in top condition. Our bathrooms are cleaned three times daily, and we do close down our common areas at 11 to keep the hostel quite at night, for a peaceful rest. We do hope you come and try our hostel again and are willing to give you a discount as your last visit wasn’t the best it could be. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#9 of 65 in Byron Bay
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
1 mi away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 65 in Byron Bay
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#27 of 65 in Byron Bay
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Holiday Village
0.5 mi away
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Byron Bay

Address: 1 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia (Formerly Nomads Odyssey)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range: $38 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Byron Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is the winner of the North Coast Tourism Awards 2010 for Best Backpackers Accommodation. This is Byron Bay’s newest premiere backpackers/flashpackers. Opened in March 2009, Nomads Byron is located just minutes from the stunning main beach behind the iconic Great Northern Hotel.This brand-new property offers a variety of dorms and en suite private rooms. Facilities include our Mad Travel Shop, a sun-drenched courtyard with two 12-seater spas, a fully equipped kitchen, Global Gossip internet, a BBQ, balcony views and a TV lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing