We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay in Byron” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayhaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bayhaven Lodge
Ranked #8 of 39 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Byron”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Second time at the Bayhaven. Great location close to city center and beach, nice rooms, easy street parking. The only downsides were the cost and if there are other guests it can get quite noisy. If you can find a special rate on Wotif then this is a great deal.

I ended up getting very sick during this visit and was bedridden for two days, staying one unplanned day at the bayhaven. Summer was very helpful in terms of accommodating my needs and helping me out. Thank you Summer!

Cheers,

JJ

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Jonathan. Glad you had a pleasant stay even in the circumstances. We are thrilled to see returning guests enjoy their time with us as much as the first. We do have some great deals all year round for everyone.
Hope you visit soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    56
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
140
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed in the grand suite, and there was nothing grand about it. The area has no privacy and whilst flicking through the TV channels I saw my self on TV. YES the room had a camera in and so did the other areas.
We could have been recorded naked or worse. We were not informed of the camera and presume others in the house were not. We had to check our bedroom.
Will not stay again, and don't think you can use the cooker if you stay less than 7 nights, yes pay $900.00 and can't cook. PATHETIC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for the Review, however we would like to point out that Security Camera are not in Rooms but in all SHARED/COMMON areas for the protection of guests and staff. It is stated in all websites, including our own, and welcome booklet that there are security camera in these areas.
There are basic food preparations in the Grand and Superior suite available.There is microwave and fridge at all times. Again clearly stated that unless staying 7 or more nights fully cooking facilities(oven and hobs) will not be made for full use. We would like to point out that this gentleman did stay for less than 5 days in our most luxurious suite.
We are pleased he liked our location and rated us highly for our cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was lovely, with nice furnishings but the rooms were rather small and the amenities were minimal. There is little storage for luggage and no room fridge, cooking facilities, not even hand towels. But the rooms are clean and cozy. Only major complaint is that the rooms aren't very sound proof. The hotel us located right next to town and is close to the beach. We were hoping to use the spa and kitchen facilities but these were only allowed for the superior guests.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alainavarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Alainavarr. Thank you for the review on our Guest lodge. Sorry that you felt the Deluxe was small, this is our most affordable room. We do have more spacious rooms at Bayhaven. The Garden and Deluxe Suite do have a Shared fridge available for use in the Sun room. The Grand and 2 Superior Rooms have basic food preparation however if guests in these room were staying longing than 7 nights only then full cooking would be use to them.
Thanks again and we hope you have safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The lodge was a perfect place to stay Byron. My sister and I were looking for a short getaway and the lodge met all our expectations of being quiet, clean, modern and very comfortable. We were in walking distance of everything - beach, shops, restaurants. Bayhaven lodge would make a great place for couples who want to have a relaxed getaway. I have found my favourite place to stay in Byron.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jojo2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Owner at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to let other travelers know what we have on offer here at Bayhaven Lodge. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

My stay at the lodge was one to remember. Very pleasant/helpful staff, high quality rooms and everything you need on the doorstep. The bars and restaurants are close by but the noise is not a problem.I will be returning to Bayhavan Lodge again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Owner at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2016
Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to let other travelers know what we have on offer here at Bayhaven Lodge. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

The location of the lodge is excellent, being only a short stroll from the main strip. The complex is not a hotel format with a front desk but provides access to site and room via key pad locks at doors. I had not booked ahead but arranged everything over a mobile from standing out the front late in the evening.

A great deal of effort, thought and expense has gone into setting up the lodge. It is professionally managed with an extremely high level of attention to detail. Room presentation is first class. It was thus ironic that my room did not have a box of tissues but did have everything else one could think of.

This is a very high quality facility but has limited floor space in the standard room. In 3 months of traveling NZ, Aust, Tiawan and Korea, this was the highest amount paid for a night stay and is considered excessive by a significant margin. Supply and demand presumably is the reason that these rates can be applied in Byron Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi SEAsiaRocks, thanks for your critique, April is a very busy month for Byron Bay. We aim to provide a high and professional standard to all guests. We have passed on all recommendations and comments to the team. Many thanks and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

The location was good, the setting and landscape was very well presented, and we loved the spa after a day down the beach!
Good security system, however it wasn't the best having to remember 3 different codes.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariacaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayhavenlodge, Manager at Bayhaven Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Mariacaina
Thank you for choosing Bayhaven Lodge. We are grateful for our location to center with great places to eat, drink and relax on the beach. Our SwimSpa is fabulous to soak in after a day. Our security system is there for the protection of all, we adjust each level after guests leave. Keeping the complex as security as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Cape Beach House
The Cape Beach House
#3 of 39 in Byron Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Beachcomber Resort
Byron Beachcomber Resort
#19 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayhaven Lodge

Property: Bayhaven Lodge
Address: 16 Shirley Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayhaven Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located within a very comfortable 150 metre stroll to the heart of town and adjacent to ‘The Wreck,’ one of Byron's most famous surf breaks, Bay Haven Lodge is a fully renovated and modernised traditional whaler's cottage. It is the only one of its kind offering guest accommodation in Byron Bay and a must see for those in search of a relaxing and memorable holiday. Set in a brilliant location, it is the closest B&B to Byron's buzzing town centre and stunning beaches so there's really no need to bring the car! This beautifully appointed property has warmth, character and charm, with a fresh, modern and relaxed feel. We have a range of Suites to cater for everyone’s budget, starting from the more affordable Deluxe Suites and Garden Suites through to the further appointed and spacious Superior Suites, ultimately with our best being the magnificent Grand Suite, all featuring beautiful décor with eye-catching prints by local artists, ensuites with choice of showerheads and tea and coffee making facilities. They also contain all the modern fixtures one would expect, including reverse cycle air conditioning, remote control ceiling fans, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, 3D compatible LCD screen TVs and DVD players with MP3 connection. The lodge has an expansive north-facing sunroom that has been converted into a communal guest area for Garden and Deluxe Suite guests to enjoy, with comfortable lounge suites and a large shared guest fridge. A fantastic area to simply sit, unwind and enjoy a good book. The wall-to-wall bi-fold doors of the sunroom open onto a tranquil, Balinese-style garden where you can enjoy a BBQ, lounge by the water feature, savour a morning coffee or just relax in peace and soak up the romantic tropical atmosphere. The Garden Suites have the added luxury of their own French doors opening onto the sunroom, offering direct access and views to the gardens. Indulge in a glass of red by the water feature or relax in your own room and gaze at the dimly lit garden. At Bay Haven Lodge we aim to provide a slice of the Bay’s traditional tranquillity in true character of the property itself, with all the wonderful benefits Byron has to offer, literally at your doorstep. Bay Haven’s owner has been a Byron Bay resident for 25 years and can provide great firsthand advice on local tours, culture, scenic sites, markets, activities and eateries. He can also point you in the direction of the best beaches, surf breaks and snorkelling spots, all within a 3 minute stroll from our front door!The Superior SuiteModern suite located in our newly completed extensions, the Superior Suite features square-set ceilings, polished spotted gum floorboards, Ensuite with choice of shower heads, reverse cycle air conditioning, remote controlled ceiling fan, dimmable down lighting, large mirrors, hanging space, 32 inch compatible LCD screen TV, Blu-ray DVD with MP3 connection and tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bayhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Haven Hotel Byron Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing