We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baystay Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 35 Byron Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights and had a very good time. It´s a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and a 10-15 min walk to the center. Location is great as it´s quiet and peaceful but just a short walk to the main scene. Room is quite basic but has aircon, microwave and a little fridge. TV is indeed quite old but you are in byron bay, why would you be watching tv anyway?
Beakie was simple but very good, with bread, jam, fruit, cereal, sometimes muffins or croissants.
Annie and Jack were very friendly, great hosts. We left on the 14th of January and found out that Annie and Jack are leaving and the previous owners were taking over again on the 15th of January so I am not quite sure if the place will be run the same way. Hopefully they will.

Room Tip: We had the little studio (outside the house) and were really happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRA_BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

Can't say enough good things about this bed and breakfast. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The hosts were lovely people, friendly and helpful, and provided a delicious breakfast. The location is fantastic - 5 minute walk to the beach and town center. We loved our stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Many thanks to our lovely hosts Annie and Jack who were very welcoming. Jack kindly supplied us with a local map pointing out some places of interest, and then in the morning we met Annie who cooked up a storm in the kitchen.
We stayed in the spa room which I booked months in advance so our trip would be on the weekend of the Byron markets which were well within walking distance.
We made very good use of the spa and sauna - so relaxing.
Breakfast was delicious and plenty to go around. We enjoyed fresh fruit, juice, tea, coffee, cereals, fresh baked bread, banana pancakes one day and fresh muffins the next. All of this was enjoyed on the lovely deck upstairs.
This was my forth stay at Baystay, and I will definately be returning. Make sure you book well in advance for weekends and peak periods.
We also arrived early and were able to check into our room around 1pm which was great after our 3 hour road trip.
Best B&B in Byron. Make sure if visiting Byron you make a trip to Twisted Sista Cafe - great coffee and cakes.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I luved my stay @ this B&B. Set in its own oasis of gardens & trees a few mins walk out of town.
First few nights I stayed in the shared accomodation which has everything you need with kitchenette for light meals.
I then moved into the self contained Spa suite with Spa, sauna own living room, private garden area & patio.
Hosts Annie & John were very welcoming & helpful with local information.. The homemade breakfast was delicious on the balcony & a great chance to talk with the other guests.
I would recommend a stay here & look forward to staying @ Baystay on my next visit to Beautiful Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The accommodation (studio room) whilst being clean and tidy was very basic, lacking in character and old fashioned in style, the tv was archaic and dvd didnt work. The bathroom was damp and badly in need of refurbishment. The external appearance of the studio was lovely as were the surrounding gardens. We were informed that the breakfast had not been included as we had a paid a lower rate (we could however pay $30 for breakfast for three people). The caretakers were very friendly. Location was close to the beach and a 10 min walk into town.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerchick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Really enjoyed our 2-night stay in the spa suite - our own separate bit of the house with a spa bath and sauna. It felt very luxurious which is just what we needed. The owners clearly take pride in the place as it looked great - you don't need to worry about the negative review about the shower door, that's all been taken care of. Breakfast was lovely, homemade bread, beautiful preserves, poached pears and good coffee. Overall it was good value and we loved the private but homely feel to the spa suite. Would definitely love to stay again if we come back to Byron Bay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatDog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

As a single traveler this was the perfect break from noisy hostels. The hospitality was great, breakfast was delicious and the hosts went above and beyond to make sure all of my needs were met. I'll definitely be recommending this little jewel in Byron Bay to my friends and family and hope to visit again one day!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmys2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Bayhaven Lodge
Bayhaven Lodge
#9 of 35 in Byron Bay
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arcadia House
Arcadia House
#7 of 35 in Byron Bay
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tri Byron Bay
Tri Byron Bay
#18 of 35 in Byron Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Planula B&B Retreat
Planula B&B Retreat
#17 of 35 in Byron Bay
126 reviews
1.0 mi away
Byron Springs Guesthouse
Byron Springs Guesthouse
#5 of 35 in Byron Bay
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Longbourn on Massinger Hotel
#24 of 35 in Byron Bay
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baystay Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baystay Bed & Breakfast

Address: 30 Marvell St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Byron Bay
Price Range: $116 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baystay Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baystay is a lovely bed and breakfast situated within 5 minutes walk to both town and beach. It is a traditional style Aussie beach house of the 70s and has been operated as a B&B since 1995. Your hosts are locals of over 25 years and can help you with information about our beautiful area and give you an experience of our laid back beach lifestyle. Come and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Baystay Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing