We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly staff, but dirty and run down”

Main Beach Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Byron Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Main Beach Backpackers
Bonstetten, Aargau, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Location, friendly staff, but dirty and run down”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

the hostel is located very good, near to beach and everything. Rooms are run down, dirty bathrooms, lousy kitchen, beds are old nd hard>).... not to be recommanded. but prize is good :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    11
    18
    34
See reviews for
1
24
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I came here because of the recommendation in the Lonely Planet. The hostel is great located in walking distance to the beach. The staff is friendly. But the whole place is very filthy and unclean. I've booked a double room for AUD 60 a night and that was a waste of money. The bed was in a terrible condition and I'd had to put a cushion on the middle of the matress to lay straight. It was all smelly and I was not shure, if the sheets had been changed. The shared bathroom is in a lausy condition and was dirty and damp. Not to recommend at all!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank myriam_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Byron Bay hotels

sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2012

As my title says, the hostel has a superb location with 2 minutes walk to the beach, and 2 minutes in either direction to bars and restaurants and so on. Also, if you are a social person then it's a great place to meet new people, especially if you're on your own.
Downside is that it's all quite basic, with very thin mattresses, and everything is a little unclean especially the bathrooms. If you can ignore then fine, but there are no creature comforts here, bar the fun moral! Lockers in rooms are a plus!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Fantastic place to stay - would highly recommend! Great atmosphere, comfy clean beds, free wifi, friendly staff and awesome location!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieTrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We booked this hostel for our 4 night trip to Byron on the recommendation of Lonely Planet who we usually find more than reliable but on this occasion they got it so wrong. We booked a double room with ensuite and the room was pretty disgusting. The floor is painted concrete I guess to make cleaning easier if only they cleaned! The room smelt, the curtains were mouldy and only just covered the window. The linen seemed clean but the chairs in the room seemed to have years of grime on them. The ensuite was gross - it wasn't clean and smelt of a combination of mould and urine. The bamboo blind in the ensuite didn't cover the clear glass window so we had to use it in the dark so people passing on the walkway along side it couldn't see in! Although the communal areas were large the kitchen was gross, so much so we decided not to use it! We decided to dig deep into our budget and eat in Byron. It was Byron itself which saved the trip: it's great cafes, fun atmosphere, great abundant live music, fabulous beaches and scenery. We would NEVER stay at Main Beach Backpackers again and will warn anyone going to Byron to stay anywhere but.

Room Tip: Dont go. Find another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

it's the worst hostel I've ever been in Australia!!!!!! it's unhygienic and it it stinks in the rooms and in the showers/toilets as well. never ever again ! I think it toooooo much money for that hostel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lisi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

i love this hostel so much i want to marry it!
the positives: A giant kitchen, a giant tv room a swimming pool, hammock, outside eating bbq area, close to the beach, friendly staff, a brilliant atmosphere amongst people staying there, good party games during the week, ample car parking and clean beds and bedrooms. the only negative is the showers are rarely spotless, but everyone brings home half the beach with them so its too be expected!

whats not to like about this hostel? nothing. if you are staying in byron stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duffman m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#6 of 32 in Byron Bay
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
Byron Bay Beach Hostel
#29 of 66 in Byron Bay
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Byron Bathers
Byron Bathers
#13 of 35 in Byron Bay
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Terraces
The Terraces
#27 of 66 in Byron Bay
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Royal Apartments
Bay Royal Apartments
#35 of 66 in Byron Bay
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#31 of 66 in Byron Bay
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Main Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Main Beach Backpackers

Property: Main Beach Backpackers
Address: | Cnr Lawson & Fletcher Streets, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Byron Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Main Beach Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing