We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view over the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brunswick River Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Certificate of Excellence
Low Head, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely view over the river”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

First floor looking over the river. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Plenty of tea and coffee and toiletries. About over priced at $130 and no seniors rates. Pleasant reception staff who were very helpful. A lovely experience overall. Very central and 5 minute walk to the beach. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
53
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Brunswick Heads is a small, peaceful, coastal town and this motel is in prime position. The rooms are exceptionally clean, newly refurbed and have lovely balcony views of the river. This was my third time at the Brunswick River Inn.
During a visit last December I realised the rooms have no aircon. I'm not a big user of aircon at the hottest of times, but my friend struggled without it. This visit, during a wet, cold, July it was immediately evident that the rooms have no heating either. None. On enquiring we ended up with the small blow heater from reception.
In addition, the free wi-fi didn't work and the owner showed no interest in solving this problem. (My husband and I are experienced users of hotel/motel wi-fi.) And finally, one of the bedside table lamps was malfunctioning and unable to be used.
The cafe was closed due to the motel undergoing renovations that were apparently very noisy from 8am onwards. We did not hang around to find out.
I do not wish to present an entirely negative review. I have such fondness for Brunswick Heads and have enjoyed previous stays at the BRI, but had I known there was no heating we would have stayed elsewhere this time. And $159 (Qn and Single) in the context of the above seems a little on the high side to me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zentriplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenTP, Owner at Brunswick River Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank your for your review, and your kind words regarding the motels prime location, clean, newly refurbished rooms and lovely balcony views of the river. We believe that your criticisms were fair and well reasoned. I would like to offer some explanation for these issues.

We took over the hotel 12 months ago, the building is almost 40 years old and was in a very decrepit and unloved state. We have undertaken the significant task of renovating the motel completely, not just new carpets and paint, but replacing almost everything down to the plumbing, wiring, roof, flooring... everything.

Many of the issues that you raised will be solved in the next stage of the renovation that has already commenced, the morning noise from was from the complete gutting and refurbishment of the downstairs cafe/restaurant, that has just started. We have tried to keep the noise to a minimum, and we will be shutting the hotel completely for the noisiest part of the process.

All the rooms will be air-conditioned in this stage of the renovation, with reverse cycle heating and cooling air conditioners. The little heater you were given is a temporary solution until we get this system installed. We will also be replacing the balcony sliding glass doors in all of the rooms to cut out external noise.

The WiFi has been an ongoing issue and one that i have to admit we have struggled with. The 70s era construction of the building is such that EVERY floor and wall is steel reinforced concrete or blockwork that seems to be almost impenetrable by WiFi signals, we have a series of 600mw commercial hotspot access points, that should cover all of the town, but we still have connection issues. While the motel is closed for renovation, we will get this worked out, even if it requires repeaters in every room.

As for the bedside lamp, bulbs die on occasion, this will be fixed immediately.

We love Brunswick Heads as much as you obviously do, and we hope that after this final stage of renovations, which should be completed by september, that you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you again for your review. It was more than fair. We hope that if you do choose to stay with us again, and that in your next review we will justify a 5 star rating.

Yours sincerely,
Darren Pearson
Motel Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on business for the night. Stay in a renovated room with a balcony. Beth close to river, parks & shops. Will definitely stay again. Only negative is the walls lack a bit of sound proofing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights as I was visiting for a friends wedding. I was on my own but the staff really looked after me. The rooms have all been renovated recently and were clean, tidy and excellent, there are more works planned so the place will get better and better! The location in Brunswick Heads is perfect, it's by all the main cafes and shops and opposite the bridge to the two beaches. It took me just 20 minutes to walk to the river beach,swim and get back! Perfect. I would say this is now the best place to stay in the area and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsWhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed recently stayed here for 4 nights, what a great find. Hotel management were friendly, easy going and gave us some great tips for eating out in Brunswick. The rooms were spotlessly cleaned, pretty quiet - apart from the noise of the ocean - just perfect. Great little cafe downstairs for breakfast, close to town and great eateries. we will definately be back.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the main road, closer to the pub, little noisier, but doesn't go on too long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel for the past 2 years at Easter for the Bluesfest. The room was very clean and comfortable and well serviced. The staff were very accommodating during our stay, even as far as organising to have 2 bottles of wine in our fridge for our arrival (thanks Frederick). This hotel was the first place I looked to book again for this years festival holiday and we can't wait to stay again. We're looking forward to seeing the newly renovated rooms and to meet the new management.
chees
Karen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A great newly reno'd motel, we were made to feel very welcome by the great staff, the beds were very comfortable, the new showers were nice and hot and the room was very clean. We stayed an enjoyable couple of days, we would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalExplorer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick Heads
0.3 mi away
Brunswick Heads Motel
Brunswick Heads Motel
#1 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
59 reviews
6.3 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
369 reviews
17.0 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kingscliff
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sails Motel
The Sails Motel
#2 of 4 in Brunswick Heads
52 reviews
18.3 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick River Inn

Property: Brunswick River Inn
Address: 2 The Terrace, Brunswick Heads, New South Wales 2483, Australia (Formerly Riverview Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Brunswick Heads
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Brunswick Heads
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brunswick River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Brunswick River Inn" is a small boutique motel with newly refurbished rooms. Situated only a short stroll to the golden sands of Brunswick Heads surf beach, all rooms in the motel overlook the Brunswick River, and its lovely river side park. All of our rooms feature: Queen-size beds (plus single in triple rooms) Large flat screen TVs Private Balcony with views overlooking the famous Brunswick River. Modern bathrooms Free high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Brunswick River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing