We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Brunswick Heads

“If there was a -1 that would be it”
Review of La Casita

La Casita
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We went to book a table for 9 and were told that we had to have the banquet menu @$60 per head. I said well we’ll book a 4 and a 5 and can we have them together. The answer was oh you can’t do that as we know you are together and can only have the banquet menu @ $60 per head. Needless to say we didn’t book as the comments for the banquet menu we not good either. We will not be back

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Sapphiregirl632014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 38 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Tiny portions
Second worse Mexican food I’ve ever had.
Would not recommend the tacos.
Very overpriced and overrated.
Had attitude from the woman who served me. When I asked if they did take away she also said that “this food does not travel well” well all I can say is the tacos didn’t taste well. Would not recommend
They should try adding some original Mexican dishes to their menu.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank food_doood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

Where to start???? This place ticked all the boxes for a fantastic night out with friends. From the minute you arrive your senses are engulfed by the fabulous and colourful decor, the catchy rhythms playing in the background and the intoxicating flavours emanating from the kitchen. The food is traditional mexican with a modern twist that suits the coastal surroundings. The time and effort that the chef and the team have obviously put into the menu is evidenced in every bite. Absolutely order the fish the taco with a side of the chargrilled corn and be sure to wash it down with a very generously poured spicy Benny Margarita. On top of all the this, the staff are incredibly happy, enthusiastic about their product and for eager for everyone who comes to have a great time. Loved it!, would definitely go back next time I'm in Byron (only a 20min drive from Byron to Brunswick). Tip: book early to get a spot - its a small place with shared seating and on Saturday night there were people waiting out the door to try and get a table.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HomeNowXOXO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019

Tucked away on the side of the main road into Brunswick, a couple of mins walk from the main town.....the only visible sign says ‘Mexican’. By day, it looks ordinary. By night, wow, gorgeous. You could be in Mexico.
Great service, fabulous food - certainly not supermarket style but really tasty authentic Mexican. We actually went there knowing all this - La Casita was mentioned in the best restaurants in NSW guide the previous Sunday, so we detoured for a night in Brunswick and were not disappointed.
My only disappointment was the very limited wine list and lack of a lighter style red. A simple fix.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank auntynell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

Went here on a
Relatively quiet night but was still busy. Staff were helpful and friendly. There was a large group with one member louder than the rest and consistently loud and disruptive making it a less than good experience fir all those around. Detracted from the est if the experience. Food was different. Good but I’m not sure what was missing but did t quite hit the mark. Maybe a second visit will help confirm one way or another

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank familytraveler129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casita also viewed

Brunswick Heads, Byron Shire
Brunswick Heads, Byron Shire
 
Brunswick Heads, Byron Shire
Brunswick Heads, Byron Shire
 
Brunswick Heads, Byron Shire
Brunswick Heads, Byron Shire
 

Been to La Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing