We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braidwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MONA Country Manor House
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just revisited Mona having been here four years ago. Magnificent - it's one of our favourite places in the world. Upon entering the property you know you have entered another world - a haven. Just a week end and we both felt so relaxed. Beautiful accommodation and we liked just being able to chill, read a book, watch a DVD and walk around the beautiful grounds. Feeling energetic we also visited some of the great local pubs in surrounding villages which Kerry the proprietor was able to recommended. We'll be back and wont leave it so long until next time. My wife says we should make it an annual getaway. We took the option to have a private session in the bathhouse - would highly recommend (you might have to make a special request as its not all that obvious that it is available).

Room Tip: The Stable is best for families and groups >6. For couples and groups of up to 3 couples the Co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaHouse, Owner at MONA Country Manor House, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We love to welcome back return guests. Autumn is a lovely time to "just chill". This year has been especially wonderful.
We don't mean to keep the Bathhouse a secret, we just keep it locked for safety reasons. We need 48 hours notice to have it hot and sparkling clean, so we do request that you book it prior to your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had an absolutely perfect time at Mona.
The grounds and accom were lovely.
Thank you for sharing your amazing property with us Kerry - we we love to come back again, sample winter and enjoy that fireplace!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takemebacktotahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaHouse, Owner at MONA Country Manor House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback and so pleased you enjoyed your Autumn stay. We endeavour to provide a wonderful and relaxing environment no matter what time of year. For Winter there are warm cosy fires and good books, misty mornings and envigourating walks. We would love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A group of us stayed at this elegant rural property in Braidwood and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The Stables Villa was an absolute delight for all and we couldn't stop marveling about the facilities and accommodation. Having a chance to stay in this luxury rental was like stepping back in time to the grande lifestyle and family centric living on an estate farm.

The location was perfect and easy to get to, Mona Country Manor House is just out of the Braidwood township, halfway between Canberra and Batemans Bay, so it was ideal for those travelling from the Canberra airport and the NSW South Coast to easily meet up.

The Stables - well, it is huge and unique! On the ground floor are the functional stables and a huge corridor with extra shower rooms and storage. I think there was a second fridge available there, but we didn't use it.

Inside the actual accommodation, there is a large foyer with sitting area, with beautiful wooden stairs leading to the second level and huge double doors to the outside world. On one side is a massive spa room with an incredibly large and luxurious spa bath, separate shower and extra toilet and wall long vanity, basins and well lit mirror. There are ample heated towel rails to get your towels (or wet clothes) dry quickly.

Across from the spa room is the country-style kitchen - don't let the size fool you we had a ball preparing meals for all here. There is everything imaginable that you need for a largish group.

Ample cooking utensils, pots pans, serving implements and trays so you can carry your goodies safely upstairs to the dining table. The kitchen has a huge table with plenty of room for juggling supplies and serving, ample bench space and cupboards. The gourmet coffee machine is a bonus! and the electric/wood stove is amazing.

Getting in the mood for homely farmhouse food we stocked up the wood burning stove and whipped up a huge pot of soup that simmered away adding atmosphere and beckoning everyone to enquire "can we eat now?" We had no problem feeding the masses!

Tip - before you go shopping check the kitchen to see what is in the pantry stock, all the basics and more are available for use. There is a supermarket and quality suppliers just around the corner in Braidwood. If you don't want to cook, there are excellent eateries for breakfast, lunch and dinner available.

Moving upstairs you arrive in the dining area with the huge family style table and massive windows with beautiful views. And "Gasp", A JUKE BOX with a huge array of favourites!!! To the left is a full size billiard table and a hall leading to bedrooms and bathrooms. To the right is the wood burning fireplace (already lit and with a supply of wood) wonderfully comfortable lounges and chairs, TV and (of course) a piano! Another hall leads to more bedrooms and bathrooms.

There are books, games, magazines and beautiful art and antiques everywhere. The atmosphere is like an old fashioned "club" and it is just perfect for entertaining. We were fascinated with the windows along the back of this huge area as they are designed to look down into the stables, presumably so you could keep an eye on your horse if you have them accommodation in the stables with you.

The configuration of the rooms in the Stables is great. With two master bedrooms (one ensuited for extra privacy) with huge windows overlooking the property and an extra room at each end of the main living space. Each room has it's own luxury marble bathroom with underfloor heating and heated towel rails. All bedrooms are beautifully furnished, luxury linen on each bed and again handpicked antique furniture and little extras to enjoy. Sleep quality was fabulous.

It was chilly (as Braidwood can be) when we were there, but the whole villa was toasty warm.

Nothing was to hard for our hosts and the attention to detail and service is indeed 5 star.

When we ventured out, there was so much to see and do on the property and a brisk walk along the well defined walking trails led us to some fascinating discoveries - the formal gardens were delightful, the old bush cabin, the woods, the sculptures and more were amazing.

My teen girl was fortunate enough to be able to book a small horsemanship lesson and property ride, which was a highlight of her trip to the country. (not sure if this is available still, but if not there is an excellent riding place in the area - Saddle Club for Girls).

Bottom line is I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this boutique self catering accommodation to anybody.

MONA is the perfect setting for a group getaway or country wedding and there is a huge conference centre on-site. I think the total group capacity with the two villas is 16 people or so and there are lots of other accommodations in Braidwood for other attendees to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms at MONA are unique and have their own luxury bathrooms with all the extras, an eclecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaHouse, Owner at MONA Country Manor House, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It is such a delight for us that this guest enjoyed so very many aspects of the property. While Mona has so much to offer, not everyone gets around to experiencing as much as this group did during their stay. Well done. Mona offers Specials for groups wanting to stay on weekends, but we also will make you a special tempting offer if you can extend your and enjoy the many aspects of Mona and the township of Braidwood NSW as this guest did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely holiday in Braidwood. I stayed at the Stables Villa at MONA. The grounds are beautiful, but I was a little surprised and disappointed at the quality of the rest of the property. Reading the previous reviews, it appears that the other property, the Coach house, is better – I found that the Stables Villa didn’t meet the 5 star rating that I was expecting. The kitchen was tiny and on the bottom floor, while there were many steps leading up to the living / bedroom area. The living area had no direct natural night – this was quite depressing and it was necessary to have the lights on all day. The double bedrooms were well appointed – although the whole place feels like it needs an update. There is no DVD player and the television is very, very old. The décor, while serviceable, appears to have a mismatched feel like cast-offs that are not needed in a main residence anymore.The stove is electric and has ONE hot plate. I am really glad other people had such lovely experiences, and wish I could say mine matched theirs.

Room Tip: The two double rooms at either end of the property are good - except the "pink room" is ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaHouse, Owner at MONA Country Manor House, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Interesting comments from the only guest in 13 years we have had to warn for being in breech of our Terms and Conditions.

The description for the Stables clearly states that it is on two levels with the bedrooms and living area upstairs and the kitchen downstairs. So, yes, there is a flight of stairs. We do not advertise a DVD player for the Stables Villa. I am not sure what is meant by the TV is "very, very old". With the introduction of digital in this region just three months ago, the TV does require a set top box. The living room has a large picture window to the North. And yes, the light were left on all day even when the guests were out.

Prominent Interior Designer Ray Siede may not have had this guest in mind as he scoured antique and second hand furniture shops to find the right pieces of beautiful wooden furniture to complement his specifically designed couches to create and easy, warm, comfortable country feel. Mono-color, matching furniture that looks and feels like a Freedom Furniture shop will never be found at Mona.

The lack of appreciation for the property probably explains the lack of respect for the property during this guest's stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The country is not usually my scene but Mona has converted me. The elegance and ambience of Mona's converted Coachhouse made us want to stay indoors but we forced ourselves to explore the extensive gardens and take in the fresh air. The hospitality offered by the hosts was wonderful and the food perfect - we were welcomed on arrival with a delicious home cooked dinner, while breakfast was left for us to prepare at our leisure (and privacy) in the well-equipped kitchen. You can go further afield into Braidwood or Bungendore if you want, but we just felt so relaxed 'hanging out' on the property.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room, they are all beautiful. You can go on your own as a couple or with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasha318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

This property totally exceeded my expectations. I've stayed at quite a few 5 star and boutique places but this one offers far more on many levels. I stayed in the Coachhouse which was incredibly well thought out and fitted with everything needed for a self contained stay. The decor was rich and tasteful making you feel more like royalty than merely Lord of the Manor. Bathrooms were huge and decadent with one for each of the 3 rooms. The kitchen had absolutely everything you could think of, there was none of the usual disappointment experienced when you cannot find your favorite tool.

Mona has just two "villas", both placed for privacy in beautiful gardens and rambling gentle countryside. I peeked in at the other place and was equally impressed, although it had a totally different atmosphere.

I already have this place marked as the ideal venue for our annual family gettogether (we have a large extended family), perfect for us more mature ones to set up in luxury, hold our conversations in peace and get a good night sleep - with the younger ones able to party on with juke box and billiards for their entertainment. During the day I have no doubt that everybodies needs would be met with the wide variety of activities on offer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank excell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We recently stayed in Mona, Luxury Country Villa , in Braidwood. It is absolutely beautiful. The accommodation is 1st class. Kerry and Greg are charming and couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The real charm to us is that there are not a lot of rooms so we felt like we had the run of this beautiful estate all to ourselves. So peaceful and relaxing. There is a beautiful creek and lake that runs through the property. Also a croquet lawn which is a real hoot. We will go back again as it is the perfect escape. www.mona.com.au

Helpful?
4 Thank foolonthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MONA Country Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MONA Country Manor House

Property: MONA Country Manor House
Address: 140 Little River Rd, Braidwood, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Braidwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Braidwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two very private and luxurious self catering holiday houses set in 8 acres of award winning formal gardens. The luxury Villas can be booked separately or together for larger groups.The Coachhouse Villa has three bedrooms and can accommodate 6 adults. The Stables Villa can accommodate up to 10 in four bedrooms. All seven rooms have their own bathrooms, luxury linen and unique decor and configuration. The whole property covers 120 acres and offers tennis, croquet, a walking and jogging track and equine activities. An ideal location to escape the hurley-burley of the cities, and unwind. Great for gatherings of family or good friends. MONA Country Manor House is located just 1 km from the pretty town of Braidwood and not far from five State National Parks. Midway between the beautiful beaches of Batemans Bay and the South Coast of NSW and the National Capital, Canberra ACT. A luxury Multi-award winning accommodation with 5 star services and facilities. Garden Weddings, functions and business retreats are available with full catering and modern "Shearer's Shed" conference centre. The whole venue can be booked for commercial photo shoots and movies. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing