We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers Craigieburn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxation heaven”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Picture waking up with a view over the Craigieburn golf course, mist rising with the promise of a day in a world past. We visited Craigieburn decades ago and the beautiful charm and aura of peace and harmony remains. A choice from many comfortable lounge areas provides the perfect environment for quiet reading and relaxation. Refreshment service is offered at the right level. In good weather, a pleasant formal garden awaits as an alternative. The highlight of our stay was dinner in Montfort's Dining Room. Executive Chef, Warrick Brook, has created a menu sourcing local produce (including edible flora from his garden) and very fresh seafood. The Entrée Tasting Plate was a delicious and entertaining journey. Being mid-week, we were very fortunate that Warrick was able to spend time chatting with us about the features behind the design of his menu. Highly recommend the overall Peppers Craigieburn experience. Sue & Peter

Room Tip: Room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you Susan for your wonderful feedback. It is a beautiful old building which has retained a lot fo the charm of bygone days. Great to note you enjoyed your dining experience and your overall stay. We do hope you will visit us again. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    408
    274
    137
    94
See reviews for
169
726
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We arrived 29th Dec 2013 for a one night stop over, whilst travelling down to Sydney. On arrival it just looks amazing every bit like the photo's. We had booked a room with balcony it was beautiful, with stunning view of the grounds. We ate in the restaurant that evening, the food was delicious and of good portion size. We relaxed in the bar afterwards lovely atmosphere. The breakfast the following morning was the best I have ever seen for choice and quality. Our only regret was not to have stayed longer. Thank you to all the staff that make it what it is.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you Alison for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience. The staff will be pleased to get your feedback as it is always great to learn when all your hard work is recognised. Look forward to having you back with us some time. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Booked our staff strategy planning day here. Staff listened to our needs and offered a package that met our requirements. Property as a whole is beautiful without being ostentatious. Rooms can be a little noisy. Would use again and have no reservations in recommending for a business function. Look forward to going back with family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Rita
Great to note that your meeting/conference went well, you found the staff attentive and we catered to your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. If you can't handle lots of stairs don't go there. They have no lifts. Room very small and never cleaned while we were there. Dinner was not very nice, not much to pick from, our stay was 7 & 8 February 2014. The bar was closed, you had to ask the dinning room for what you required which took forever to get any service. This was 2 nights to many. There are better places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi CG
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I am sorry to learn that your stay did not meet your exectations. With regards to the stairs we do have ground floor rooms available for those that find stairs challanging and if we are aware we can allocate rooms accordingly. Also we do offer assistance with luggage. The bar was closed due to low occupancy and we always do offer drink service in the lounge areas, I am sorry that you had a wait for service and will highlight this to the appropriate Department Manager.
Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowral hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Superb staff with excellent service. The rooms are a little small and old but the atmosphere and balcony more than make up for any flaws. Breakfast was good. Nice place to just sit and watch the day drift by.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Phillip
Appreciate yo having taken the time to provide feedback on your stay. Great to note the staff provided excellent service. I will certainly pass your feedback on as it is always great to know when you have carried out your job well. Look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Hi,
My wife and I stayed here on the last long weekend which was very nice but the sunday night restaurant service wasnt good at all. She had the twice baked souffle which was cold in the middle. We didnt even get asked by the wait staff how the meal was...a let down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Kendall
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay which is appreciated as it allows us to address areas in need of attention to improve on the guest experience. I have spoken with Chef regards your comments on the souffle whom will address this with the relevant staff member. The wait staff have also been reminded of the importance of checking on the meals once served with the guests to ensure all is as it should be. I do applogise that this impacted on your stay. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

There are lots of good things about this hotel. The reception was welcoming and all the staff very pleasant. The hotel is clean and tidy and the public rooms well kept and spacious. The grounds are well cared for and the outlook is pleasant.

On the other hand the bed rooms were very small and the bathroom minuscule. Only just enough room for the bed, no room for a lounge chair or two though there was a door to the balcony/terrace, what a pity there were no chairs or tables on the terrace outside the room to take advantage of this area.

The really irritating things about this hotel are the hidden extras and add ons. Extra charge for using my credit card. Internet charges that are beyond a joke (someday this kind of hotel will wake up to the fact that the internet is now an essential part of everyday life and not a luxury that can be used as a lucrative revenue raiser). Breakfast charges which were cheaper if you booked the day before than on the day! Why? The product was just the same.

This hotel could be really good but I left feeling that I had been taken advantage of and that I would not be returning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallimaufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you Galimaufry for providing feedback on your stay.
It was pleasing to note you found the Hotel and grounds well maintained and cared for and the staff provided good service during your stay. With regards to your comments on the 'hidden extras" I advise that we do highlight credit card surcharge on our website, confirmations, registration forms also signage on the Reception desk. We do offer the option of eftpos facility to avoid this charge. The Hotel offers 15 minute free wifi per day to our house guests in our lounge areas. The breakfast discount is offered to all Hotel guests whom have booked room only packages on check in. Thank you for providing us with the opportunity to address your concerns and we am sorry that you felt this impacted on your stay. Kind regards Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
7.9 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
4.9 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
377 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
1.5 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Property: Peppers Craigieburn
Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909, with 2009 marking 100 years of exquisite stays, service and food. Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines ultimately offering an idyllic and relaxing escape. The retreat boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include central heating, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. A new dining experience awaits you with the opening of Hickory's Restaurant and Bar. Overlooking the original 9 hole golf course and offering a relaxed atmosphere and local produce inspired menu promises something for everyone's taste. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room and tennis courts. When visiting Bowral and the Southern Highlands, you will be inspired by the beauty of the local area. Highland fresh air, fresh produce and friendly locals will ensure your stay at this retreat is one to be remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing