We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great function!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers Craigieburn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great function!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at Peppers Craigieburn when we held our 5 day conference there. From reception to restuarant to function staff everyone was kind and courteous and only too willing to help. The rooms are functional and comfortable and mine had a beautiful view over looking the golf course. It was great to sit out there on the Verandah in the morning with a cup of tea and look out over the view.

From a function perspective the greatest plus for us was the range of breakout spaces around the venue. During the day our groups could sit outside or find a cosy spot by one of the three fire places to gather and chat.

The food was excellent, however there was a lot of it - more than our group could eat! Another comment I recieved was disappointment in the lack of gym facilities, however many over came this by running or walking around the local area in the morning and found that very enjoyable and a great excuse to get outside! A few members of the group played golf in the mornings too and enjoyed that immensley!

I had read some previous comments regarding the long corridors and steep stairs, however I think that this part of the experience when staying in an older style house with character and the too much modernising would ruin the ambiance. Someone to help people with bags though may be helpful as a future consideration.

I throughly enjoyed my stay here and our overall conference experience and would not hestitate to reccomend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms on the resturant side of the hotel are best, great view! I reccomend 212 or 213 if you can cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Amelia V

Appreicate you having taken the time to provide feedback on your stay. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    394
    267
    137
    93
See reviews for
163
702
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A potentially good resort hotel in a pretty spot BUT
Poor to average service... staff were mostly dim and slow.
Small, dingy, tired, old fashioned, poorly equiped room.
Expensive restaurant for dinner, but quality quite good
Breakfast adequate but poor coffee
Corridors were narrow, dark and smelt damp.

to cap it all they demanded a 2% surcharge for settling my bill on departure, with no warning at check in that this would occur, when then took a credit card impression.

My advice.. pay them in cash with coins! preferably 20c coins... my bill was over $800 for two nights, 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts and a few drinks.This cancer must be stopped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi ChrisB1949

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is disappointing to read your comments on the staff and your room. Being a heritage building built in 1887 the rooms and corridors are not of the size of modern hotels of today however they are well appointed and maintained. I apologise if the staff service was not to standard and will address this with all Managers to ensure they work towards improvement in this area and improve on the guest experience.

With regards to your comments on the 2% surcharge we do note this on our website, registration card, confirmations for direct bookings and information is provided on the Reception desk. We do offer the option of paying by EFTPOS or cash which does not incur a surcharge. I do apologise if this was not conveyed to you at checkin and that it impacted on your stay. Pleasing to note that you enjoyed the meal in Montforts Dining room and I will look into your comments regarding the coffee.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowral hotels

Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The location is beautiful and the hotel is set amounts a golf course and a gorgeous garden.
We attended a wedding at Craigieburn /Peppers and booked a room for 2 nights. The room was very small, although it opened up to a big veranda, which was shared with adjoining rooms, bed was comfortable, there are no complimentary dressing gowns in the room; you have to pay from the mini bar if you want plunge coffee and the cleanliness in the bath room was not a 100%.We paid NZ$320 per night, including breakfast.
They charge for wifi and 2% for using your credit card.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tui2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Tui2

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay. It is a beautiful setting as you highlight. I note your comments on the bathroom and will ensure this is passed on to the relevant Manager to address.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived after having spent the day trolling through Berrima and Bowral precincts and pulled in to this perfectly tranquil place. Whilst it is definitely a Period Property, it is delightful Yes I agree with some other reviewers that the steep stairs up to the entrance and the lack of internal lift are a bit daunting if you have large luggage but we accepted this as part of the experience. Though after booking in we were offered assistance with our bags, but we already had them with us. The staff were at all times very helpful and friendly. We also booked in to the main restaurant for dinner and even arriving earlier than our scheduled time, were accommodated very courteously. The meal was excellent as was the breakfast. The rooms were small but as the saying goes 'perfectly formed'. We were on the top floor (3rd) and ours opened on to the balcony which was accessed by French doors. We sat our there and had champagne and nibbles late afternoon looking out at the most delightful and peaceful views. The hotel has extensive facilities and whilst we did not use any of them, I am sure they are up to the overall standard throughout. There is so much to do in the area that I would recommend a stay of more than one night if you an, but one night is better than missing out.

Room Tip: We loved the Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diney1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi Diney1948

Appreciate you having taken the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. Great to read that you found the staff friendly an helpful and you enjoyed your dining experience. Peppers Craigieburn is a great place to base yourself whilst exploring the beautiful Southern Highlands.

Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, NSW
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Yesterday I had lunch in Pepper's Restaurant overlooking the gollfcourse - a heavenly stretch of green. I had a delicious leek and potato soup. It was so filling I had little room for the following course of pumpkin soufflé, which wasnunusual and tasty. With lunch I had a Daimond Creek Savignon Blanc - very refreshing to the palate. Unfortunately there was no room for dessert - it will have to wait til next time! While we were there I read all about the history of the house/hotel and who had owned. A synopsis of the history can be found at the back of the menu. As I o ly came for lunch I cannot comment on the accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joram48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Joram48

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience, Great to read you enjoyed the food and the local wine. Will share your feedback with the staff as it is always great to know when you have done well.

Do hope you visit with us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked into Pepper Craigeburn on wotif.com and I chose one of the most expensive room options available to me. On arriving at the property I was very impressed with the foyer, restaurant and lounge however our room was extremely dissapointing. The room was small and sparse with little natural light (my husband and I nicknamed it the dungeon). As with other reviews on here we also found the service a little dissapointing - we had high tea by the fire in the afternoon and although the staff brought us tea cups we were actually never offered any tea (you would think an essential item of high tea would you not!?) - my husband had to go and find someone to ask half way through our meal so no real harm done I suppose.

That said we just spent as little time as possible in the room and enjoyed the many benefits of the property instead. We played tennis, my husband beat me at scrabble by the fire and as we had booked the "stay and play package" my husband enjoyed some golf tuition on the monday morning.

Overall my advice would be to come here if you dont mind compromising on the room for the other benefits that Craigeburn has to offer. Also dont expect the room or the service to live up to the "normal peppers standard". The stay and play package was good value for money. Centennial Vineyards which is just down the road is worth a visit - I also noticed that they do a high tea - maybe they would serve tea as a matter of course there? (hehe).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi Clare B

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Pleasing to note that you were impressed by the grounds and public areas. I note your comments on the service and will pass this on to the relevant people to ensure we work on improving in this area.

Hope you will visit with us again some time in the future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for a 2 night weekend away. We started with the afternoon tea package and we were the only ones enjoying the lounge on this Friday afternoon, so we did have to go looking for assistance when we wanted a second drink. The room was clean and tidy, but very small- not a problem given we were happy to use the lounge to sit around reading and we had lots we wanted to do in the area.
The gardens and property are lovely and really the only noise was from wedding guests at a wedding on the property. We went out to dinner in Bowral (Biota- amazing!) and slept without disturbance on our return.
Breakfast was good and there was a fair bit of choice, but not quite the abundance that you might be expecting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJoSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pepperscraigieburn, General Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi JoJoSydney

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.on your stay. Pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and you found the Hotel well presented. Hope you will visit with us again some time in the near future.

Kind regards
Robyn Bautovich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
7.9 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
1.5 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Property: Peppers Craigieburn
Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands (formerly Craigieburn Resort), Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the style and elegance of the original homestead, Peppers Craigieburn was originally built in 1887 and welcomed its first guests in 1909, with 2009 marking 100 years of exquisite stays, service and food. Within easy reach of Sydney, Canberra and the coast, Peppers Craigieburn is set in an area renowned for its national parks, antique shopping and cool climate wines ultimately offering an idyllic and relaxing escape. The retreat boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include central heating, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. A new dining experience awaits you with the opening of Hickory's Restaurant and Bar. Overlooking the original 9 hole golf course and offering a relaxed atmosphere and local produce inspired menu promises something for everyone's taste. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room and tennis courts. When visiting Bowral and the Southern Highlands, you will be inspired by the beauty of the local area. Highland fresh air, fresh produce and friendly locals will ensure your stay at this retreat is one to be remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing