We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We might as well have been INVISIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Craigieburn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We're widely travelled, not too fussy, but just want our dollar to equal the experience. Didnt happen here... The night desk girl told us we had 2 dinners on our voucher, the unable to crack a smile morning Madam denied it was so. Morning Madam booked us into day spa - attempting to make a 1pm booking on a day we said we were going to be out and about. we declined. she offered it again. *sigh*. who was serving who here? finally we booked for 3pm, adjusted our day to fit that and upon arrival 'madam' had only booked for one person... we changed the time to 6pm, the in town spa rang thru to the hotel to ring thru to their spa, but wait... that was expecting too much... at 6pm the hotel spa had no idea we were coming, let alone 2 of us... talk about tedious. The most disgusting part of this communication was Madam at the Peppers desk telling us the Endota spa people did not quite 'have it together' and then later the (lovely) Endota spa girls were telling us they had had previous problems with the quality of communication there.
No offer to carry bags to rooms upon arrival, nowhere to swing a cat, couldnt fit 2 people in the bathroom at once, no where to put bags, no robes to wear; had to wait for ages at the bar for a waiter to appear; waited 4 deep to be seated at breakfast and no one to seat us... oh.. except Madam across the hall looking busy and important at her desk... just looked up at her clients... and then looked down...
And lastly, the walls are paper thin. Late at night i had to listen to the showers going on my right, then the showers going on my left, then lots of snorting and nose clearing on the my right again, then drunken convos on my left. it was a long night..
Dont even think of this place. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: the website room picture? not yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robbiemoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigieburn3, Guest Relations Manager at Peppers Craigieburn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry of the shortcomings in service you have reported. It disappoints me to learn that you encountered some instances of indiifference in terms of attitude from a member within our team and sincerely apologise for any disappointment you experienced.The issues you raised regarding front office & food & beverage have been addressed with the staff members concerned and more training has been implemented accordingly. Once again I apologise for your less than ideal stay with us and invite you to contact me directly to dicuss in more detail.
Regards
Mary-Jane Wardrop
Peppers Craigieburn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,419 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney AUS
35
Reviewed May 21, 2011

5 star price without the quality or service. Booked the "luxury pack" for a special weekend. The "day spa" firstly had no booking and offered us a booking off site in bowral. We were planning on a day out, so fitted in with the plan. when we arrived! there was a booking for only one. The "suites" are tiny. no where for luggage. A chaise is jammed under the window, two people can't use the bathroom together, the lighting at the vanity is as good as a dimly lit restaurant, and totally deficient. Find a guest house instead

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Every time I called to confirm a booking the prices jumped. As I was travelling with a friend and part of a wedding group I had to check in with other people before handing over my credit card details. From an initial quote of $249 (one night okay) the price went to $386 then $426 (two-night minimum!!). This is complete profiteering and has made what should have been a joyful weekend away to celebrate the marriage of two dear friends into a very stressful and unsatisfying experience. We cannot stay together as a group and are now booked in to venues all over town. There are so many great alternative venues - with very helpful staff - at other hotels in Bowral I suggest you think twice before you hand over your cash to this rigid, greedy old venue.

Room Tip: Book a year ahead!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank KittyCat004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived at craigieburn for a wedding expecting great service and venue, to match the rates we were being charged. How wrong could we be!! Very poor service matched by overpriced bar (12.50 for a standard wine) served by pimple head kid. Our rooms were small and spread apart, with obvioulsy no thought having gone into a wedding partys needs, even though being charged at 250 a head on top of rooms. Food in restaurant was average to fair for the price. We were left pretty much to ourselves with the impression we were'nt really welcome. We were told to 'ring the bell and someone will be there' but still waited 1/2 hour for someone to serve a drink at 5:30pm. WE NOT GO BACK IF YOU PAID ME. DO NOT HAVE A WEDDING HERE!! You could do far better

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I chose Peppers as we were looking for a lovely relaxing break with excellent customer service and relaxation. Unfortunately this was not to be so.

The rooms are tiny, the smallest I have stayed in. The bathrooms are quite simply unacceptable, with a tiny wash-hand basin, showers that soak the floors and a toilet crammed in so close to the shower you have to wipe it down with a towel before you use it. There really is literally not enough room to swing a cat. Offhand service by inexperienced staff made for an awkward evening and upon departure no one even asked us if we had a nice stay.

The fires in the bar area are lovely and great to sit with a bottle of wine but this was not enough to rescue this hotel from poor service and quite simply overpriced rooms. We will not return .

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozzy1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I spend a lot time traveling and have stayed at many hotels around the world.

This hotel would break my record for being the smallest my wife and i have ever stayed in as a couple. Normally, you would only find this sized rooms for singles.

Cons:
Tiny Room.
So small it would only fit a double bed (not even a queen).
So small the light is the fan light.
Walls are so thin we were whispering so our neighbour could not hear us (its ridiculous!)
No one to take your bags to your room.
The bathroom is so small i challenge anyone reaching the toilet paper comfortably.
We were wedding guests and our poky room certainly affected the overall experience of the weekend. Would you let your wedding guests stay in such poky rooms at $200/night?

Pros
The golf grounds are stunningly beautiful. (but its just a golf course)
The breakfast was plentiful and the breakfast room manager was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcjchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Initial Impressions on the internet for this hotel were great and we were really looking forward to it, Check in was fine but we got to our room which overlooked the car park, The bathroom was not big enough to swing a cat in and on the second morning there was no hot water, Overall a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
7.9 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
4.0 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
388 reviews
4.9 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Craigieburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Craigieburn

Address: Centennial Rd | Southern Highlands, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: $105 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Craigieburn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Craigieburn boasts 72 guest rooms spread across two wings with a selection of rooms featuring either views of the golf course or the landscaped gardens while premium accommodation includes an airy shared balcony with views designed for relaxation. All rooms include Reverse cycle air conditioning, flat screen television, tub chair, minibar fridge, tea/coffee-making facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, hairdryer, shampoo and toiletries, iron and ironing board and high speed wireless internet. A new dining experience awaits you with the opening of Hickory's Restaurant and Bar. Overlooking the original 9 hole golf course and offering a relaxed atmosphere and local produce inspired menu promises something for everyone's taste. The retreat offers an idyllic and relaxing escape. Set on a picturesque country estate, this fully refurbished grand country home features its own private nine-hole golf course, billiards room and tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Craigieburn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Craigieburn Hotel Bowral
Craigieburn Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing