We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Links House(Bowral)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral(Bowral)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park(Bowral)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Berida Hotel(Bowral)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oxley Motel(Bowral)(Great Value!)
$92
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briars Country Lodge & Inn(Bowral)(Great Value!)
$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Springs Resorts Mittagong RSL Motel(Mittagong)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Grand Country Lodge(Mittagong)(Great Value!)
$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
177
99
62
41
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
99
62
41
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest suitepolo bargourmet packagegarden roomsteam roomwedding coordinatormagnificent gardenshigh teabridal suitethe main housepoached eggsindoor poolwine listduckgas firea bit tiredspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 423 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I attended a weading at Milton Park in March. Beautiful venue, food was amazing and rooms comfortable.

The service though was horrible, clearly weddings is a cash cow and they are more interested in servicing their non wedding guests at the expense of wedding guests.

My 96 year old grandmother was stopped from walking through the hotel to get back to her room because they had locked and gaffer taped the only door between the reception and hotel. They told her to go outside and back around to the main entrance even though it was raining outside. Truly outrageous. This is just one of a number of issues we had over the weekend.

If you want a quiet weekend and high tea you will be fine. Don't book your wedding here though.

To the hotel management, you are either a wedding venue or you are not. Make a decision! If you are, lift your game and provide a level of service that your fees warrant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

From the minute we arrived we new we were in for a great weekend. Service was great, our bags were taken to our room whilst we looked around, the service was great everyday, every desire was catered for. We dined in the restaurant Friday night & lunch Saturday, it was truly delightful. Andrew looked after us & made us feel very much at home & our supper served in the private lounge with the roaring fire just topped off a wonderful experience. Our friends thoroughly enjoyed the weekend, we will be back, thanks again to all that made or weekend so special.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

As you arrive, the property is magnificent, superb winding driveway, extensive gardens, real wow factor.
Then it all goes downhill.
Check in is hidden away in the middle of the hotel, so you have to lug your bags there (no porters), then wait for check in.
The bar opens at 6 and not a second before. Its a hotel! The two people sat behind reception doing nothing, refused to open the bar earlier.
Relaxed, bar snack? No, its the full menu or nothing. Don't want to eat in the main restaurant, well its your room then, NOT the bar sir.

Generally, the staff run to their own agenda, its not run for the guests.
Dinner was good, but overpriced.
Breakfast was average.

Overall, what a setting, but it seems to be slowing running itself down. Shame!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark_J_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Certainly, the entrance to the property and the drive up the forested hillside through to Reception are enchanting and you immediately know the experience of staying there will be out of the ordinary. Our rented Mustang convertible looked 'just right' parked outside Reception. It is a huge and iconic property that once was the pride of the Hordern family (of the old department store fame) and the original main house has been extended massively to include hotel rooms and suites. Once inside, the original charm of the place is evident and it is easy to imagine the grand dinners and balls that would have taken place here. Once in our suite and the decision to have a late in-room lunch was made, we encountered the first problem. Yes, you can have in-room service, but it is the full dinner menu or nothing...
Why not cater for those who have just checked in and crave a toasted ham, cheese & tomato sandwich at 4 in the afternoon instead of driving the 10km back to Bowral? Not a show-stopper, but not very convenient either. Similarly, you can only have breakfast in the main dining rooms, and not in your room. All good if you're a morning person, but again inconvenient if your idea of a relaxing morning is being woken up at a later hour by a polite tap on the door with a breakfast tray on the other side of it....
One of the key attractions to Milton Park is the spa facilitiesy, but you had better book whatever you want to indulge in very early in your planning, or there will be nothing available as the local residents in the know seem to monopolise the bookings.
After we had made this unpleasant discovery, and after a few other disappointments that weekend (not related to Milton Park, I add), we were hoping that our dinner that night would lift our spirits a bit. There are several packages available that include dinner on your chosen evening, and I urge you to have at least one dinner while you're there. The food at Milton Park is EXCEPTIONAL! I had an entrée of a twice-baked goats cheese soufflé that had me literally licking out the bowl to get every last morsel, followed by perfectly baked blue-eye cod fillet with the most exquisite crouton and vegetable base imaginable. The chocolate and mango ice cream/sorbet dessert had the taste buds squealing in delight. My partner declared her steak to be the best ever (and she has had a few good steaks in her time). All this yumminess comes at a price though, but let's face it, if you're staying at Milton Park, cost had better not be an issue. The only 'down' regarding the meal was that we had been relegated to the room where breakfast is served, and so we could not experience the comfort and grandeur of the main dining room, which is in keeping with the rest of the place in terms of cosiness. The breakfast area is not in that category.
When you throw in the unusual fact that the resident cat (a gorgeous ragdoll named "Hordern") has his own guest room (#101...!) and is free to roam about the place and be equally admired by cat-lovers and teased by stupid kids who can't help themselves, alongside the once-beautiful gardens (that require some urgent TLC it must be said) and the sensational output from the kitchen alongside the somewhat haphazard approach to customer service, Milton Park is a quandry. It knows what it wants to be, but doesn't do the easy 1% things that would make it as outstanding as the food served there. It has the location, it has the reputation and it has the ambition, but it needs the right management to make the experience life affirming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the garden (ground floor)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David635csi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have just returned from the most beautiful stay at Milton Park. Every aspect of the stay exceeded our expectation - room, so peaceful, staff, so friendly and efficient, the food, the most enjoyable meal by the talented chefs. The historic gardens set the scene for this amazing hotel set on its own estate, with its own micro climate, even in summer the mist rolls up the hilll engulfing the hotel which is a true lay spectacular site. We will return!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great with access to the garden.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews