We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting in country gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely setting in country gardens”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is not the first time that I've been to Milton Park, having attended a conference there once before. We went during the week to avoid the weekend crowds. The setting is absolutely gorgeous, the gardens very old with trees planted over a century ago. The hotel rooms are an extension on to an original period country house (the old Hordern home), and there are a few conservatory like extensions containing breakfast and dining rooms. The views from these rooms are very green and serene. In the old part of the house there is a bar lounge, dark but cosy. There are some comfy chairs on the front verandah, where it is nice to have a quiet sit, and some seating areas throughout the garden.

Rooms are always pricey during the weekend, but more reasonable for this level of accommodation during the week. Where prices are high, guests tend to expect more, and I think this is where some of the more critical reviews come from. The restaurant served excellent food, but really was very pricey. The service in the restaurant on the nights we were there was really top notch. However, this was after arriving for a booking at 6.30 to find no-one there and waiting for about ten minutes. Breakfast was similar. Food not too bad, (apart from getting a decent cup of coffee) but turning up to find no-one there, and after being seated, having them disappear for lengths of time. Service generally can be a bit hit and miss, and I understand people's frustrations. If you are prepared to be generous with your time you will enjoy it more. However, the hotel does need to pay more attention to detail.

The style of the rooms are French country. Adequate in all respects. My biggest gripe is that they provide a heavy doona as bedding in the middle of summer so that you cook with it on, but remain cool with it off.

I would go again, because the setting of this hotel is one of the nicest in Bowral. There really isn't a great deal of competition. The Southern Highlands is a lovely escape from Sydney. However, if you are after top 5 star style service and accommodation you may need to choose another destination.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    86
    56
    35
    38
See reviews for
47
219
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We decided at the last minute to stay here, and were very glad we did. It was a cold day even though the middle of summer, and we were pleased to walk in and find the place beautifully warm with all the heating turned on. We had a gorgeous room with french doors to the outside view of a fountain and courtyard. It was quiet and private even thought the hotel was full. The bathroom was fine - NOT a luxury bathroom but perfectly adequate. You get the feeling you are in a true country house. Bowral can be terribly overdone, and if you want to avoid that fluffy pretty country style, then this is a place where you get closer to the real thing. It is a relief that it is not all prettied up and full of gadgets - it actually makes you feel that yes, you are in the country! The spa bath in the spa building (a short walk outside across the fantastic gardens) was good - with plenty of fresh towels and shower rooms on hand. The staff in the spa building were very professional and not at all 'in your face'. In fact we were there until after closing time and they were very polite and did not expect us to rush out, but told us to take our time and have a shower etc. The gardens are glorious and worth just wandering around in for an hour or so. The restaurant for dinner was well staffed and pleasant. The food was fine, but not spectacular. (If you want great food, go to Biota for lunch the next day! It is near by.) As we were a last minute booking we got the last table for dinner, which wasn't the best, but we asked to be moved and the staff were excellent in terms of going to the trouble to move us as soon as a better table became available. Overall the staff at the hotel, restaurant and spa were very professional, friendly and went out of their way to make sure you had a pleasant stay. The breakfast the next morning was pretty terrible and the coffee was crap. The eating area for breakfast was fine, but the food and coffee were basically motel quality. Luckily it is only a short drive to the cafes in the main part of Bowral which can do drinkable coffee and a good breakfast. Overall, we will definitely stay here again, it was a great short break and really refreshing.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room quite a distance from reception and it was really quiet and had doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchor228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at Milton Park for our joint birthdays. We always try to choose somewhere that is a treat without the kids. The grounds and facilities are great but there is just no soul or personality ! What do I mean by this? The place is run by junior and inexperienced staff, who are lovely but need a manager. The room was nice but the bathroom really ordinary - why would the manager if a 5 star think it is ok to have an old shallow bath with big chips in the enamel? There is nobody holding this place together. Eg. The breakfast is nice but it is a fairly standard cooked buffet that you get at a 3 or 4 star hotel, the 1 member of staff allocated to the dining room tries her best but can't deliver the service you expect at a 5 star hotel. When you ask for a latte and you're told, apologetically, that it will be an extra charge, you know that is nobody managing the place that understands what their customers want - add another $5 to the room rate but don't make out that an expresso coffee is a exceptional requirement on a weekend away... At dinner, we have requested a table by the window and we are given the opposite, we survive, but the sides we order with our main don't materialise so we get cross. Again, the junior staff are running around doing their best but there is no sign of anyone with authority. Our entire dinner is given as complimentary when we complain which seems a bit over he too - maybe the staff are so used to the complaints they default to maximum compensation.. All in all, a great shame that his hotel clearly doesn't have a manager ( or one that makes themselves visible). The focus if the hotel is in weddings and conferences - quantity nit quality - so if you want a luxury break where you will be looked after, keep looking.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally1000000011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,151 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,844 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

It's not so much that the house itself is grand, there are others in the region that have more of a "manor" feel and there are obviously extensions that don't all flow together but as a total package, the estate is a lovely country place to escape the city.
The gardens make it special and you need to make time to walk the property.
The pool is good - not all country estates have such facilities.
The rooms are spacious and easy to sleep and relax.
My gripe with the property is the restaurant which doesn't meet standards of other alternatives but overall, it allows a nice break from the city and is an easy 1 1/2 drive from Sydney

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed here for a conference earlier last year and was lucky enough to revisit the gardens in the spring time. This place reminds me of a beautiful country house out of an Austen novel or something - tastefully and beautifully decorated with such beautiful gardens to explore. Having said that, while the facilities were adequate, it does lack the swishy gadgets of say, the newer boutique hotels in central Sydney. But the gardens! It's worthwhile waking up early to see the gardens in all the mist...the grounds are beautifully kept with just the right amount of polish and wilderness. Unfortunately the spa and gym were closed when I was free, the restaurant was quite good but not spectacular. So, in summary, a great place with country comfort but they could definitely upgrade it to make it a bit more convenient and modern.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took advantage of the mid week escape for two nights and had a fantastic time. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food and drinks were great, the atmosphere was fantastic and it was only a 10 minute taxi ride to the centre of Bowral to have dinner the second night. Definately take a wander around the grounds it is so peaceful and gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We decided a night at a lovely place to stay with a restaurant would be a great way to celebrate my husband's birthday. We chose Milton Park from the internet and what a great choice. A beautiful house, friendly staff, a very comfortable room and a lovely dinner in the restaurant. Definitely a great birthday present. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
4.5 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
3.8 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
4.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
5.3 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
3.9 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa

Property: Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Address: Milton Park Country Hotel 200 Horderns Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa, the Southern Highlands leading luxury hotel, crowns its own private estate. Considered by many to be the finest regional hotel in Australia, Milton Park offers luxurious accommodation, fine cuisine and impeccable service in an atmosphere of relaxed sophistication. The hotels facilities rival some of the greatest Country House Hotels of the World. Both American Express Travel & Gourmet Traveller Magazine have recently voted Milton Park amongst their top ten luxury escapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Destination Bowral
Milton Park Country House Hotel And Destination Spa
Milton Park Country Hotel Destination

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing