We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Links House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Links House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Links House is a lovely place to stay and a classic B&B. It's just a few min drive from Bowral town centre, and locates right opposite a beautiful golf course. It is very peaceful and quiet. The staff are very friendly and very accommodating with the kids. The room is quite small especially the bathroom is very tiny but very comfortable. The food is fantastic. We had lovely dinner there with some regional wines. And the breakfast was amazing - so much to choose from - fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_R_ABishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    113
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
90
172
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked for the last weekend of June 2013 and we're absolutely blown away by Links House. We've stayed at other places in Bowral, but this by far was the most pleasing experience we've had. We were very comfortable in our room - the bed was warm and cosy, it also almost became a necessity for us to for to unwind by the fire in the main area each night. The staff we're friendly and really helpful in recommending some great restaurants and attractions near by (Biota is a must!). The breakfast was delicious and cooked to perfection, unlike most other hotel breakfasts we've experienced. We would definitely recommend staying here and can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnH74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Links17, Manager at Links House, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Bowral and the Southern Highlands has some great attractions and places to shop and dine. We're very proud of our region!
We're delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in the Links Suite for 1 night in July. We had stayed at the Gibraltar in April (ranked #2 on Trip Advisor), but had decided to book this room for our Winter visit thinking that the #1 hotel ranking on Trip Advisor indicated beyond doubt that it was the exceptional B&B in Bowral. The Links Suite is the premium suite available at Links House, and we initially thought it was good value at $340 per night (weekend rate).

The common areas of Links House are quaint and have an old-world feel – it is these pictures that mostly used in their promotional material. However, we were quite disappointed to find the Links Suite itself hasn’t been well maintained. The suite itself is spacious and has a (gas powered) fireplace, which kept the area warm. The bed and linen were comfortable. However poor use of the space, and limited furnishings has meant that the mini bar is located in one of the bedroom cupboards, which was strange.

The bathroom in particular is very dated, smells musty/mouldy and is not cleaned thoroughly in between visits. The shower water temperature jumps from hot to cold (which is frustrating) and the shower has no door - as a result the bathroom heating is insufficient for the Highlands winter.
Breakfast is included as part of the cost of the accommodation (excluding espresso coffee). There were a wide variety of breakfast items on the menu, however the food wasn’t impressive (my fruit and yoghurt consisted of 1 tablespoon of yoghurt, 5 grapes, 2 slices of orange, ½ a strawberry and 1 thin slice of rockmelon). My travelling companion and I were also distracted by the dirty coffee cups/glasses and tired furnishings…we waited for our caffeine hit until we got into town.

If you are planning to spend $300+ per night in Bowral, this isn’t good value for money; there are better options available in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingProvocateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa v, Manager at Links House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Naturally, we're all rather disappointed by your comments as we work hard to provide a really pleasant experience for our guests, so it's somewhat deflating to read your review.

We've had two most dedicated housekeepers at the property for over ten years and they are indeed perplexed by your comments about the bathroom not being properly cleaned because they are meticulous when servicing and cleaning rooms.

We do generally serve a smaller portion of fruit as the menu offers a second course of items like Eggs Benedict, Omelettes, Big Breakfasts, Vegetable Stacks etc. It's a shame we weren't aware that you prefer a more substantial serving of fruit because we are very flexible and would have been pleased to provide you with exactly what you desired.

I'm not exactly sure of the day you stayed with us but perhaps the morning was particularly busy and that's why dirty glasses etc hadn't been cleared promptly. We will address that problem.

Every dining chair in the property has been re-covered in the last 12 months and the nature of the armchairs and lounges means that they are sturdy, old-fashioned and comfy.

We have contacted our plumber about the fluctuating water temperature in the shower that you have mentioned.

Whilst we don't necessarily agree with all your comments, we will most definitely take them into consideration.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited Bowral as a family of 4 in July 2012 and stayed at Links House for 2 nights. We stayed in the family room which was warm, cosy & comfortable. There is a lovely fireplace in the living room to relax by. Also, breakfast was very delicious. We look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amelia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Although the staff were friendly and got us extra blankets after a very cold first night with insufficient bedding and no electric blanket. The rooms are old and out dated and everywhere seems to need some love. The old fashioned style of breakfast served from the menu was ok but seemed stuffy and generally lack lustre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SparkyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa v, Manager at Links House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for giving us your feedback.

Every bed at Links House is made up with an electric blanket along with a regular blanket. Our rooms are also centrally heated with additional electric heaters provided in all rooms.

From time to time our guests ask for additional blankets because they would rather not use the electric blanket for various reasons. Of course we are pleased to provide extra blankets as we like to keep our guests cosy and warm.

Perhaps our decor is a little out-dated but with every repair or refurbishment we try to retain the charm and elegance of the era in which the hotel was built (1928).

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in the Links Suite. Cosy room with a gas fireplace & a comfy king bed. Bowral was fairly cold on our visit but their was adequate heating in the room to keep us warm. The room itself is lovely but the bathroom is seriously outdated- old tiles, a large shower with no door- cold despite having heat lamps in the roof & the water temp jumps from hot to cold in the shower. This room would be perfect if they put in a big spa & some decent toiletries!
The bar & lounge is great for an evening drink, there are plenty of DVD's, boardgames & books available in the lounge as well.
Breakfast was really good- a decent menu & cooked to order.
The staff were really welcoming & happy people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights recently. I was staying in the Links Suite which is supposed to be their best room. While it was clean and spacious, the bathroom was very basic and tired. In fact the bathroom was not cleaned after the first evening. The front gardens are tidy the back were not well kept. The restaurant was nice. I felt that it was expensive for what it was and as such may not return when I next head to Bowral.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T-A-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.9 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.8 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
6.7 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Links House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Links House

Property: Links House
Address: 17 Links Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Links House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Links House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Links House Hotel Bowral
Links Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing