We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint rooms, bad beds”
Review of Berida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Berida Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The manor house had a quaint charm to it. However, would benefit from a slick of paint and some new wallpaper, in similar styling a to give it a fresher feel. The room was quite small, with basic facilities. The bed was awful. Very hard, and uncomfortable, making it difficult to get a get a good nights sleep.

The shower, although evident that it was recently renovated, was very basic. The water temperature was an issue. You had a choice of scalding hot, or cold.

Blue ray player didnt work in the room either.

Not as romantic a room as first thought.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ceara262013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 390 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

A graceful, elegant old hotel/manor that exists as a time warp. Genuine old, not dressed up old! Expect some shortcomings but spend some time calmly, quietly appreciating country life in and around the hotel. Search the Internet to get a good deal!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumpbackBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a group go to Berida Manor for Christmas in July. The rooms and surroundings were as expected and the use of the pool was great.
Unfortunately the Christmas in July meal was quite disappointing, the soup was watery and way too salty, the main was very ordinary with condiments all over the meat not on the side. The wine service was poor. We had to ask the waitress to pour our wine instead of just leaving the unopened bottle on the table. There was no coffee at the end of the meal and we were told coffee facilities were in our room. Not acceptable really. In the morning at breakfast the coffee was like bad dishwater and the waitress told us there were lots of people drinking coffee over the last few days and they just topped up the urn with water because it takes an hour to an hour and a half to brew fresh coffee. Well we paid for it didn't we! Very sad as this could have been a great weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eaglereach184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were take with charm and character of the Berida Manor. We only stayed the one night and had opted for the DBB package. The facilities (heated pool and spa) were excellent and unusual to find at a B and B. We were a little disappointed with the dinner but maybe it was because we'd a lunch at a local restaurant the same day. Our room was extremely comfortable and we both slept like logs. Breakfast was nice. Overall a very enjoyable stay and we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamelaOs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very comfortable, old world charm. Good heating and lovely hot shower. Choice of sitting rooms, two with lovely log fires. Staff friendly, obliging and unobtrusive. Great food too. Highly recommended. S & J Archer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheeliebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed a night at Berida Manor, enjoying the dinner, bed and breakfast package. This establishment met our expectations. We were given a warm welcome on our arrival.The decor is charming and "old English" in character. The room was well appointed with a comfortable bed and bathroom adequate for our needs. The added activities available for guests are a plus, from the inddor pool and billiard table to the tennis courts. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious, with an extensive winelist and friendly service. Breakfast was hearty and met our needs, with eggs cooked to our order. This place has warmth and character without the colourless decor of many five star hotels. Yes, it's not 5 star but we enjoyed our short break. Happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were wanting a cosy winter break for a couple of nights and were very pleased we chose Berida Manor. The old world character, open fires and decor of yesteryear are welcoming. Located in a quiet culdesac it is convenient to Bowral Golf Club (opposite) and about ten minutes walk to Bowral shops. The dinner at Berida Manor, included in our package was delicious. The owners and staff create a home away from home atmosphere. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
2.8 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
1.5 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
388 reviews
7.0 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berida Hotel

Address: 6 David St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia (Formerly Berida Manor)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berida Hotel is set amongst established gardens just moments from the main street of Bowra. Featuring 42 stylish, luxurious guest rooms, conference facilities an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna, tennis court and Endota Day Spa. The in-house European Bistro and Bar, Bistro Officina, is open for dinner Wednesday to Monday, Breakfast Saturday and Sunday and Lunch Friday to Sunday. Serving the freshest local produce and an array of fine beverages in a warm and friendly atmosphere, bookings are recommended. During the week guests can enjoy a continental breakfast in the stunning guest lounge. On Friday and Saturday nights the guest lounge transforms to a guest bar for groups to meet and enjoy a drink and some nibbles in front of the open fireplace. Berida Hotel is conveniently located 1.5 hours from Sydney and an 8-minute walk from the centre of Bowral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Berida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berida Manor Bowral
Berida Manor Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing