We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has character but could with a bit of a renovation. Lovely spot.”
Review of Berida Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Berida Manor
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has character but could with a bit of a renovation. Lovely spot.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Needs a better family room. Single bed a bit short for teenage children. Really needs a family room with two single beds. Stayed during a heat wave and room had no air conditioning which made for a very sleepless night. Other than that the manager was very pleasant

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sctag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    134
    76
    32
    20
See reviews for
58
173
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I just love these people and this place, it was huge once had the biggest conference in the Nation hosted by Margaret Fulton who created the resort, they do not mention this in their Sales material, they are humble and they have people taking photos by the minute, as they explained to me when I mentioned reviews, they thought they have one of the best ratings and for an unrenovated place, so marks and ware an tear are part of the character here and most people get it, apparently they are working around 100 hours a week, I just adore them with thier young family and their
work ethic, but truly it is not about them it is about me. You have to enjoy this place for thier difference ( I don't know when I have ever pulled out the camera at any accommodation in the last 20 years) they are embarrassed by the accolades given to them everyday, as was I (I had to sit near reception at checkout until my friend got the car) people know what is good and real, I have to say I give this place icon status for the area , but young and old they are mad about this place

Room Tip: Best restaurant in the whole region
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is our second time staying at this hotel during our Christmas vacation. The hotel was very festive with Christmas decors everywhere. We stayed 4 days and 3 nights and we barely left the hotel. Our boys loved the in-door swimming pool, jacuzzi, and the billiard room while my husband and I stayed at suite #17, a huge room with a beautiful view and relaxed. The location is very convenient and in the afternoon, we would go out to the town centre for stroll or hike the nearby lookouts to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Southern Highlands. We loved the uniqueness of the hotel. You really felt like you have travelled back in time. My boys said they felt like they have been living in an old movie for the 4 days that we were there.
I agree with some of the other reviewers, if you are looking for a modern/chic hotel to stay then this one is probably not for you but if you are looking for something historic and have characters, then it is high recommended.
We are planning to come back in the winter time and can't wait to cuddle up in front of the fireplace!
By the way, we find the staff to be very friendly and helpful. A very good and enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255060WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Do not even consider staying at this hotel. The hotel is very poorly maintained, staffed and frankly had the odour of a retirement home. The rooms were terrible with carpet stains, the bed was lumpy and the furniture and general decor was truly awful. The staff were very unhelpful (in particular the owner/managers), who would give Basil Fawlty a run for his money. Terrible experience I would highly recommend that you do not even vaguely consider this place. We ended up checking out it was so dire and booked a room at the 5* Milton Park which at $265 a night including Breakfast was a world class away from this joke of a hotel at $190 a night. It is well worth the difference. A candidate for the Hotel Inspector.

Room Tip: This place was totally unkempt and totally run down. If you like a tennis court that is overgrown w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank anthonypquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowral hotels

Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I loved our 1 night stay at Berida Manor. It's definately quirky and the decor is a bit confused, but it reminded me of my officers' mess days in Germany. Lovely ante room that would be to die for in winter with a big fire, chess and red wine.

Don't stay here if you are seeking the monotone and sterile hotel room you would typically find at an airport. If you are seeking character, his place oozes it. The staff were very friendly.

We will surely be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theminxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeridaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Berida Manor, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I know the feeling, but we are th biggest Hotel in Bowral with 40 rooms hotel and restaurant and many features, as a major conference centre unfortunatley we are so busy with current guests we don't look at the history here, we have recently tried to improve the history information, but mostly our guests are looking for other issues like value for money and just love the bonus they receive when they arrive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I was on a working trip and fount this gem it may not be for everyone but i found it just fantastic it is a time warp and quirky my first room was like a nursing home single bed wardrobe dresser
i told them that and they said it use to be in the 50s run by red cross, do let that put you off as it was clean and cozy i returned again but stayed in a double room and loved it it is very old world and the decor is something out of a movie set sitting rooms and the worst wallpaper and furniture
the restaurant is great and the breakfast as well , i sat by the window overlooking the garden very cute, i have been back a few more times and still love it so for something really different give it a go ...... and enjoy the country air.

Room Tip: A bit hard to find all the rooms seem to have a nice location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oskardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeridaManager, Guest Relations Manager at Berida Manor, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are committed to keeping our high customer satisfaction rating and we thank all those for the enormous support we receive. We are continually being praised for the hard work and effort being applied to maintain this wonderful place. The well wishes and nice comments are highly valued and keep our enthusiasm for the task at hand. Many feel that our location, price range and facilities are worth the stay and that the feel of yesteryear we evoke is an added bonus. Some may not see this and prefer new and refurbished surroundings, which while we endeavour to maintain as we are, we will always be looking to improve where and when room rates will rise sufficiently to allow these programs. Any area of dissatisfaction if it is something we can address will be promptly dealt with. Repeat stays are up to 50% of our business on any given day and are the driving force behind our success. We are used for special occasions like golden wedding anniversaries and indeed some guests have been returning for 40 years or more. We don’t offer a luxury stay and we may be a little worn, but if you allow yourself to enjoy us and all the Southern Highlands has to offer you may well remember your experience with us fondly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel has seen better days - but still has shabby charm. It is in a very good position (you can walk to town, or the station). The breakfast was terrific, and it has a good pool. Very good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeridaManager, General Manager at Berida Manor, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We are committed to keeping our high customer satisfaction rating and we thank all those for the enormous support we receive. We are continually being praised for the hard work and effort being applied to maintain this wonderful place. The well wishes and nice comments are highly valued and keep our enthusiasm for the task at hand. Many feel that our location, price range and facilities are worth the stay and that the feel of yesteryear we evoke is an added bonus. Some may not see this and prefer new and refurbished surroundings, which while we endeavour to maintain as we are, we will always be looking to improve where and when room rates will rise sufficiently to allow these programs. Any area of dissatisfaction if it is something we can address will be promptly dealt with. Repeat stays are up to 50% of our business on any given day and are the driving force behind our success. We are used for special occasions like golden wedding anniversaries and indeed some guests have been returning for 40 years or more. We don’t offer a luxury stay and we may be a little worn, but if you allow yourself to enjoy us and all the Southern Highlands has to offer you may well remember your experience with us fondly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
0.4 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
7.0 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berida Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berida Manor

Property: Berida Manor
Address: 6 David St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berida Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Berida Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berida Manor Bowral
Berida Manor Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing