We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was in a nice location however food was over priced and over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was in a nice location however food was over priced and over rated”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The briars is situation in a lovely place around the southern highlands however the food wasn't that great for how much they charged and what you got wasn't worth it. However the service was great and it is a lovely restaurant

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbertino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    136
    53
    24
    14
See reviews for
74
135
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed a few weeks ago for one night. The room was spacious with a king size bed. Had a nice view of the pond and its own parking bay. The continental brekky was part of the package and was pretty good. I would stay again if its a Sunday or Week day as its a good price.

The only thing is the lighting outside at the main entrance is poor and wasn't seen well in the dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandieLCShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

25 members of my family had a reunion lunch at Briars restaurant today and it was lovely. The restaurant was extremely crowded due to MOther's Day weekend but the service of the food to our table was quite good. We expected some delay but enjoyed the experience. Everyone really enjoyed our chosed meals other than the baked vegetable were not hot. However this did not change the delicious taste. The staff though under pressure were most pleasant and did everything to make our occasion enjoyable. We have held our reunion at Briars for 4 years and plan to return next year again. Cannot wait.,Usually we stay for 2 nights as well although on this occasion we had to returnhome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moveround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed at the Briars a number of times over recent years without cause to complain. The price is usually reasonable value for money and the rooms (if only just starting to get a little dated) are always clean and comfortable. The rooms open on to the duck pond and gardens and make for a very relaxing setting no matter the time of year. The hotel is not really within walking distance of the nearest town (Moss Vale) so it is either drive or cab there or to Bowral / Berrima. The key to not feeling let down by the bistro is to remember that it is not really a reasturant. It is pub food and pub standard. That does not make it bad. It just 'is what it is'. Same goes for the bar and bistro staff. Pub. The bar and open fire area whilst small is very comforatable and the whole place has a welcoming feel. Overall, wouldnt stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJTSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney,NSW
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Briars offer lunch to the public. Had a meal here last weekend and it was pleasant. The atmosphere is lovely with live music and outdoor seating offered. Food choice is broad and often changes. There is the ability to 'cook your own' steak or other meats. Value could be improved, but on the whole impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soniclicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a pleasant 2 night stay over the Easter break at a good rate for the Sunday and Monday nights. The room was quite comfortable and with very pleasant warm weather we used the small outdoor area with table and chairs outside each room for an afternoon glass of wine as the sun went down over the lake and nice green grounds. Good buffet breakfast included taken in the attached historic hotel. Did not eat evening or other meals at the hotel because although very nice surroundings frankly the prices were frightening.
Hotel is agreat location to access the nearby fantastic bike track back along the river well away from any traffic until close to Bowral and surrounds. Gentle grades and nice views for all ages of riders.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra -
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a very pleasant overnight stay in this comfy motel made all the more enjoyable by their wonderful Restaurant where we had a most enjoyable dinner and breakfast at a very good price. We have had many enjoyable family lunches ther in the past, but this was the first time we have stayed and had dinner, bed bad breakfast. Great steaks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenBCanberra_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
4.0 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
4.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
755 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
377 reviews
5.4 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briars Country Lodge & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briars Country Lodge & Inn

Property: Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Address: Briars Meadow 653 Moss Vale Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Briars Country Lodge & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Briars Country Lodge & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briars Country Lodge And Inn
Briars Country Hotel Bowral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing