We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of Menabillie Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Menabillie Manor
Ranked #1 of 8 Bowral B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I read all the reviews before I booked and I can confirm that this is indeed a gem of a bed and breakfast and agree you should book in while you still can as once the word gets around about this newly established B&B it will be booked out. There is no point repeating everything that has been said so far but I will jut make the point that soon Susy's scones will be as famous as Flo Bjelke-Peterson's. Dawn of Malua Bay

Room Tip: The tulip room is the best room but the Bradman suite is also extremely well apppointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Manager at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Well no one could be Flo's scones but the local country cooks rallied around and after several lessons they imparted their skills to some extent
The omelets were a different case and we needed our Spanish friends to steer us into safe landing before we put them on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
103
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were looking for a quiet relaxing weekend in the country and found Menabillie Manor which proved an enjoyable experience at a beautiful county manor with outstanding views overlooking Bowral. The facilities were excellent and the manor is spacious, tastefully furnished with a picturesque landscape. The manor is air conditioned as it was a very warm weekend but pleasant indoors. Our suite, the Bradman suite was very pleasant with every comfort and all needs perfectly met. The hosts were very charming, professional but warm making us feel friends. Our scones and tea were a welcome greeting after a long journey. Our hosts provided helpful advice on Southern Highlands restaurants and tourist venues. We thoroughly recommend it to others and shall definitely return.
Miria from Rose Bay

Room Tip: There are two excellent suites available both with lovely views in a magnificent garden setting in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Owner at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It is pleasing to have feedback about our B & B and the service we provide. We are happy that you found the Bradman Wing to have met your needs and is is reassuring to note that your general remarks matches our advertising comments. Your enjoyment of the scones will be well received by Susy who has had lots of locals provide various recipes and lessons in trying to make the perfect country scone. It was good to hear that you had such a relaxing stay and we enjoyed the conversation of your travels throughout Europe and the place of B & B's there. On the remark about the computer in the room, just after you left, we had a D Link problem and are replacing the router for a stronger transmission. Being a double brick house diminishes the signal.
John and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband was going to Bowral to play bridge for the weekend, so thought I would go with him to do some shopping and browse the area. It was a busy weekend in the town and accommodation was proving very hard to find. Menabillie hasn't been open very long but the few reviews looked positive and so we booked it. Oh what a glorious choice! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel so welcome it was like staying with close friends. The house is beautifully presented and immaculate throughout, with just the two guest wings. The Tulip Suite being the larger, is sumptuously appointed and has stunning views across the garden and surrounding countryside. Beautiful linen and towels, along with big fluffy bathrobes and slippers add a touch of luxury. Mine hosts, Susy and John are a warm, charming, entertaining couple who love to engage with their guests and to spoil them! From the warm, fresh Devonshire tea on arrival, the high tea (which went well on til dinner!) to the full country breakfasts with fresh baked bread, they more than succeeded. This was Highland hospitality at its best. Get in while you can, I fear this little gem will be constantly booked out once word of how good it is spreads!

Room Tip: Tulip Suite is the bigger one, with seating area and large outdoor terrace. Bradman suite is a much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Owner at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It makes it so easy when you have good friends arrive together as a double and provide an comparative assessment of the sleeping accommodation. It is from perceptive travellers like yourselves that we have sought to fine tune our B & B to offer the best in B & B accommodation. Your response indicates that we are getting it together. The positive comments on the refreshments will certainly encourage Susy as she was quite challenged by the daunting task of cooking and preparing refreshments knowing that one is rather under scrutiny. Her nervousness has now been shown to have had no basis. Thanks so much for your words of encouragement and we are glad you loved the country experience ofSouthern Highlands hospitality.
John and Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were looking for a peaceful escape after a busy and hectic year. The manor and setting are absolutely beautiful and the rooms are maintained with emaculate detail. What made the experience so outstanding was the personal touches and the personal care and attention paid by our wonderful hosts. No effort was spared, from booking restaurants for us in town, to providing picnic supplies to giving useful local knowledge. We would return back to Menabillie Manor without hesitation for any future visits to the Southern Highlands, and recommend staying there to anyone who visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRE757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Owner at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It was a treat to have such easy going guests stay at our B & B. Your comments about detail and level of cleaning makes all the effort to maintain a high standard well worthwhile. We were unaware that our sharing of local knowledge of country driving tours and recommendations for different restaurants was so helpful. We will have to keep learning about the hidden treasures of this lovely area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were looking for a classy place in the country to enjoy our wedding anniversary. There were not many reviews for Menabillie as it is only newly opened as a B&B. However the pictures and description suggested it was the sort of place we wanted to stay to enjoy our celebration.
What a surprise when we arrived. A very beautiful house with simple but impressive decor. The house is nestled into a hill which overlooks Bowral with plenty of trees around attracting a variety of birds.
We stayed in the Tulip room which had a spa. The room is very spacious with fantastic views with a large verandah to enjoy the country.The house is sound proofed throughout and we did not hear anything happening in other parts of the house.
John and Susy where wonderful hosts. They were very friendly, interesting and talented people. They helped us settle in to our Southern Highland experience with a wonderful high tea complete with champagne.
We will stay here again when travelling to Bowral and recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet country retreat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IJC2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Owner at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
It was an honour to have been chosen for the venue of your wedding anniversary, as we have learnt that half our guest come to celebrate a wedding anniversary. To hear that the venue provided an appropriate and quiet venue for the important occasion and to relax, take a break and enjoy the country experience that you so graphically describe affirms our intuition that our location is quite unique and pleasant to experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A Classy Country Life Experience

It was our daughter’s two year birthday and we would like her to have a weekend that she will remember. Ann likes flowers and animals and we decided to choose a beautiful place in the countryside for her. From pictures on the internet, Menabillie Manor seems to fit our purpose well. Arriving at Menabillie Manor , we were so impressed as pictures couldn’t capture enough the beauty of this property. The mansion is situated in the middle of a hill looking over Bowral town, with beautiful designed gardens. It was mid-September and the gardens were brightened with peach blossoms, tulips and daffodils. Our daughter was also entertained with the sight of rabbits, chooks and parrots.

Menabillie Manor is a lovely mansion to stay in, especially with its artist and friendly owners. Ann immediately liked Aunty Susy, a professional pianist and primary school teacher and Uncle John, a historian. She loves the spacious lounge where she could run around, look over the garden through the glass windows seeing rabbits and birds; going around the two pianos that Aunty Susy played ‘Baa Baa Black Sheep’ and other kids songs for her. The lounge becomes even more lovely with balloons, fruits and cakes for her special birthday.

Menabillie Manor is a Bed and Breakfast, and the owners have made Breakfast memorable to their guests. Everything is local and fresh. We were provided with a freshly baked loaf of bread, locally made jams, ham and lots of fresh fruit. Bacon and eggs are freshly cooked only when you are at the table. The wood fire in the kitchen provides a unique experience of country life with its warm and pleasant odour.

As adults, we really enjoyed the Tulip wing with spa and romantic views over the back garden and the green valley. It is a beautiful suite equipped with top quality furniture and equipments and bright colour scheme. We love the cosy and luxury atmosphere inside the house and feel so close to the nature at the same time.

It was one of our most memorable and enjoying trips. We miss Menabillie Manor and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Owner at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We will never forget the wonderful experience of sharing your daughter's 2nd birthday at Menabille Manor. At first naturally she was rather shy and then suddenly she was so relaxed, as if a family member. Your description of the closeness of nature and the natural blending of the house into the surrounds was something we had not fully realised. What you have not said is the reciprocal satisfaction we received by meeting you both and your intelligent and perceptive assessment of life in modern Australia, Since your stay, unfortunately, the local fox was too wily and had a gourmet feast but we have ordered 6 more laying chickens and will build a more secure enclosure which we will call 'Fort Choox'. Your comments about the freshly cooked breakfast are encouraging as you are amongst our first guests and we are still learning the onerous tasks of good hospitality.
John ans Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We recently stayed at Menabillie and could not have been happier with the experience. Friendly, but unobtrusive hosts that went out of their way to help us settle into our room and experience the wonderful Southern Highlands sites. The residence is set in beautiful gardens with fantastic views through floor to ceiling windows in the living areas over the garden and Bowral. Everything was extremely high quality without being ostentatious. The late afternoon and early evening ambiance was fantastic - a few wines in front of the fire in the casual living area, with our hosts holding court, prior to departing into town for dinner. We recommend Menabilie to any discerning couple looking for superior Southern Highlands hospitality..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menabillie, Owner at Menabillie Manor, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Opening the doors of our home to be a B & B has been an arduous trek after a three struggle negotiating Council's onerous requirements for a B&B as they identified the home, due to its large size, as a 'hotel'; even though it has only two accommodation suites. The then suddenly overnight we became hosts and chefs and tourist guides to strangers which all meant a sharp learning curve and indeed a challenge. However, to then have you stay and so naturally feel at home and relaxed and enjoying the home and its 'ambiance' and setting all proved all the effort and and imagination were justified and worth all the effort. We appreciated your stay and, in particular, your candid comments which will encourage us to proceed in providing the opportunity for city people to enjoy the country experience of the Southern Highlands.
Susy and John.

st Susy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
0.7 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
0.7 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
1.2 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
7.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menabillie Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menabillie Manor

Property: Menabillie Manor
Address: 3 Merilbah Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Menabillie Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sumptuous Southern Highlands spacious home with three suites fitted out for bed and breakfast accommodation. One and a half cares of garden, billiard room, wood fire, grand piano. Complimentary refreshments and wine upon arrival and on Saturday afternoons complimentary High Tea with French Champagne. An ideal place to relax and enjoy all that the Southern Highlands offers. Property overlooks the township of Bowral with its boutique shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Menabillie Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing