We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kookabar Cafe

Kookabar Cafe
Ranked #43 of 88 Restaurants in Bowral
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Love this place for a quick lunch. Service is fantastic, food really nice.
Great location, value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    0
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe with fantastic service and wholesome unpretentious food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Tried this cafe after looking around. Was very happy with the food and coffee. Good range of food for lunch. Food was fresh and tasty and I am told all the cakes are made there. What a great find!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bertha6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not child friendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I lived in Bowral for 40 years and this was my favourite breakfast and coffee hangout on a Saturday morning
Recently I returned for a weekend with family and will never go there again
I was with my daughter and 2 grandchildren, 1 in a pram, when we entered the cafe the man came rushing over to us and was so rude with excuses when I said I we would sit at the back so the pram was out of the way, in the end i said would you prefer if we left as the pram is obviously an issue and to my horror he said YES.
There was only 3 tables occupied in the cafe at this time
Very rude and un child friendly
I frequent the place and send work clients there, he has now lost there business also because of his rudeness
Lost our business forever

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Family run with a European feel. Good coffee and great service.
Comfortable cafe - a great favourite with Bowral locals.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJH885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Quality of the food and service is all ways the same , coffee is great , service good , selection of food ample, cakes like home made.Close to parking, quite.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillipBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kookabar Cafe also viewed

Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 
Bowral, Southern Highlands
Bowral, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Kookabar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing