We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at the Gibraltar on a Winter midweek package that was good value for money. The room was large with a fabulous bed. Bathroom very spacious. We were only 5 mins from town by car and we chose to drive into Bowral for dinner as the meals were not value for money.
Breakfast was adequate and as part of the package was a half price lunch. The best item on the menu was a burger. Very nice but still not value for money.
Staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful. I think it is a better venue for groups than couples especially noticeable to us as the hotel was quite empty. Can recommend for girls/boys getaways. It is also a lovely venue for a wedding.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course. If overlooking the car park try first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDUTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 635 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gibraltar hotel in Bowral overnight and enjoyed the service the room the beautiful open fire on the outside patio and a very enjoyable tapas meal. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting something a little bit special

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Gibraltar Hotel is probably the newest accommodation in the southern highlands, overlooking a golf course and a few minutes (by cab or car....not foot) out of the town of Bowral. It's not easy to find (partly because the local Council signage leaves a lot to be desired) and is, to some degree, on the wrong side of the tracks (but then a lot of Bowral accom is too). It seems to cater for weddings and business conferences, and probably does an excellent job for either or both. However, it leaves one feeling that it hasn't quite decided what it wants to be.
The car parking is fairly generous and the rooms are pleasingly large, and the bathrooms combine a walk in wet shower area with a bath: for us perfect but may not be everyone's cup of tea. As others have said, the rooms themselves are poorly lit (but then, show me a hotel/motel that has good lighting: perhaps they all want to conceal their blemishes or just cut back on the electricity bill: in either case, it is an ongoing pain in the.... that one cannot get a room with enough light to see whether your spouse has shaved or alternately administered her make up accurately. How the brides and their maids handle this might provide an interesting commentary...but then I digress.
Our room was, as stated, pleasantly large and generally clean and tidy, although one wonders whether the bits on the carpet might have yielded to a stronger vacuum cleaner, or whether the carpet itself just hung on to little bits of fluff. The toilet was in the bathroom (oh, why can't hotel designers provide either a separate cabin or a toilet with a privacy screen of some sort so that two people can use the bathroom area at the same time) and on arrival we were a little non plussed to discover only one (used) bar of soap, but perhaps the cleaners had other things to do, though the hotel will not go broke by offering an excessive amount of toiletries or tea/coffee facilities.
We tried eating in in the appropriately named "Dining Room" opposite the main bar. Half the staff were extremely pleasant, the other half seemed to have a bit of an attitude problem, but perhaps that's because they'd tried the food before us: would not recommend it for a return visit, and we decided to look elsewhere for the next night's experience.
Breakfast was fairly comprehensive, but on reflection a rather bland buffet in a room overlooking the golf course. Have seen better, but also seen much worse. OJ was fine, toast/toaster ok, coffee machine ho hum. Sausages (which are the only things one can use to really judge the quality of a hotel's breakfast buffet) were about 50 percent, though at least there was plenty of tomato sauce.
On reflection? Yes, we'd probably stay there again if we returned to the NSW Southern Highlands, given most of the accommodation there could do with a good swift kick up the.......you know where. Wedding parties should ask for better lighting in the bride's/bridesmaids/mum of the bride etc rooms although these days who cares? And for dinner? Look outside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Recently stayed at the Gibralter Hotel for an overnight stay whilst attending a friends wedding.

Whilst the location is great (it is a lovely part of the world) our stay was soured by the fact that we booked a suite which was in fact no different to a normal hotel room. There is a bedroom and a bathroom. No interconnecting living areas that you would usually expect from a suite.

We wanted to stay somewhere special, make a night of it, and I guess when paying double the usual hotel room rate for a suite you expect something special. Major disappointment. Also, the patio doors were screwed shut so we couldn't even use the outdoor terrace area in the morning with a decent coffee.

Aside from the room I guess it just about ticked the boxes. It is a country club type of place, certainly not true 5 star.

If you are a big wedding group, or a group of golfers then it would be just fine.

Just don't pay for a suite as you wont get one.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goldwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My daughter has just had a wedding at Gibraltar hotel the venue was great the staff where very helpful and done a great job. the food that we had was beautiful on the wedding day and in the buffet our stay there was the best as we had 3 days at Gibraltar hotel I would recommend it to any one to have there special day there

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We recently stayed for the weekend for a wedding,the accommodation was very nice, nice and clean thanks to all the ladies that do a good job,the wedding chapel was very very plain not very exciting,quite boring looking just a cold plain room.the reception room looked nice but the food was very uninteresting very small entree ,and the main meal what a joke the amount people paid for there guest was shocking and a lot of people were left very hungry,if you were a child you might of been full but the amount on adults plates were simply a joke a piece of meat so small but the meat did taste nice, it had potatoes and a few small veggies,I wouldn't recommend any one to eat there or have there wedding or function there you will enjoy your accommodation even if it is so over priced but you will be leaving very hungry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights, a lovely setting especially in breakfast/lunch dining rooms. The decor was certainly well appointed with very sophisticated setting and you could imagine yourself somewhere in either Asia or Europe - depending on which wing you are walking around. Lovely staff all round, the typical regional salt of the earth type where you can have an actual conversation. The title of just needing a bit more reflects some small but yet essential elements say, a clock that works in room, more tissue boxes (there was one small one in bath), drinking glasses, jug for water, music for lounge (small ipod stand will do - $100) etc. Very small stuff and with little effort would complete the entire experience; combining the scenery, the building and very spacious rooms (you have no idea until you come), genuine and great staff. I had a jacuzzi in my room (it was the ambassador room), king sized bed with exceptionally comfortable bed and lovely furniture in lounge. I will definitely come back if for no other reason the atmosphere and staff - I will be prepared to "rough it out" without the other bits that would otherwise makes this hotel "perfect".

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank 639abbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
0.6 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
8.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
961 reviews
1.8 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
4.2 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
4.5 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibraltar Hotel Bowral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Address: Centennial Rd & Boronia St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: $188 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gibraltar Hotel Bowral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 100-acres, among century old elm and pine trees and under the shadow of Bowral’s iconic Mt Gibraltar, is Gibraltar Hotel, the most luxurious and modern hotel accommodation available in NSW’s Southern Highlands. Just one and half hours easy drive from Sydney and Canberra, Gibraltar Hotel offers 76 luxurious suites each with vistas of beautiful Bowral woodland or Mt Gibraltar itself. The Hotel also features a challenging 18-hole golf course, the largest conference centre in the region with a unique, elegant ballroom, six breakout meeting rooms, a wedding chapel with a full organ, as well as its own heated indoor swimming pool, cardio centre and luxurious Bowral Day Spa and Grooming Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gibraltar Hotel Bowral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing