We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice anniversary stay but some improvements needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We arrived at Gibraltar House on a Sunday for a two night stay. Our package included a massage and facial each, breakfast both mornings and one dinner at Harveys. It was good value because it was classed as mid week but would be very poor value if you booked for Fri and Sat night and paid twice the price. Our room (202) looked over the golf course and had a small balcony which was very rusted and quite unappealing. The room looked under decorated but was comfortable enough. The lobby and hallways are better decorated than the rooms! We were woken on Monday morning at 7 by the sound of lawn mowers on the golf course. Our massages and facials were lovely and the spa seemed very well run. Our dinner at Harveys was a bit hit and miss( see separate review) and I would probably recommend eating elsewhere. Breakfasts were fine. It was buffet on Monday morning and we chose from a menu on Tuesday. If I saw a good special rate I would return to Gibraltar House.

Room Tip: Golf course rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 640 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

For golf lovers and those like myself who just want a modern retreat, this hotel from our experience is staffed by an excellent group..(highly unusual for OZ hotels).
It is only a five min drive or 15min walk to Bowral itself.
The hotel is modern and has free parking (but stay away from the far fence..bird goo by the gallon). The food is very good, room is large and the bathroom is spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VICTEETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Very happy with our couples weekend away at The Gibraltar. The 300 package on offer.
On arrival great service and was given a late check out. I loved the way the hotel was decorated elegant modern but also brought the outdoors in and felt relaxing being there with mood lighting in the corridors.
We went to the bar at Harvey's had a good time, dinner was really nice and the service was also great.
I had a treatment at the day spa on Sunday and the experience was fantastic thank you to the dedicated beautician on the day.
The only criticism I can say I would had expected was Foxtel but then the free in house movies was a pleasant surprise, the nespresso machine wasn't working properly at breakfast which people where waiting for, breakfast wasn't that great I'd go into Bowrals town next time to a little cafe And we couldn't work the spa we think that was also down.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent three days / two nights under the mid-week "Stay and Play" package recently. The whole experience was positive from the initial phone enquiry and booking to the moment we left. The hotel allowed us to play golf for free from the morning of our first booked night, even though check-in is standard 2pm and we played for as long as we wanted on the day of check-out. We were delighted that upon arriving at 11am we were able to access our room immediately and found that we had been upgraded to a room with a view over the golf course. The room was tastefully decorated, generously sized and the combination of free-standing bath and rain shower in the large bathroom was ideal. The bed and pillows were so comfortable it was hard to leave them each morning. Also notable was the absence of noise from neighbouring rooms even though we were aware of a large contingent of cricketers staying in the hotel. We really enjoyed the dip in the cold plunge pool after playing 18 holes in 30 degree heat. Harvey's Bar is very relaxed and has a great atmosphere but expect to pay a premium for drinks. We ate at Harvey's restaurant both nights and found the food very reasonably priced for the quality - the tarragon and garlic chicken was really delicious. Buffet breakfast was genorous with the only slight negative being the nespresso coffee (I believe some people actually like it!) Every staff member we encountered was pleasant and professional. Overall, it was a great three-day break and we will certainly be back again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMaree2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at this rather cool, boutique hotel.Have stayed at some of the more established hotels here in the past but noticed they were looking a little 'worn' so decided to try something different. We were not disappointed. Our room was larger than expected, well-furnished with a big comfy bed, armchair, TV, adequate lighting, balcony and overlooked a small lake on a deserted (but for ducks) golf course. The room was clean, fresh and quiet and the bathroom huge with modern fittings, travertine tiled floor, a stack of soft towels and instant hot water. Noticed the glass on the sliding balcony doors was not clean but this was not enough to spoil an enjoyable weekend.

The staff were friendly, efficient and most helpful especially the ladies in the dining room (nothing was too much trouble). The food in the restaurant was tasty and carefully prepared and presented - well worth the drive from Sydney. We met the chef, a young, well trained and enthusiastic local who is obviously very good at his job.

A lively bar area was filled with locals, many on the balcony enjoying the peaceful surrounds. Those inside sat in cosy alcoves. Service was slick.

Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the pool or try the spa.

A car is a necessity as the hotel is located on a golf course (part of the hotel is the former clubhouse) on the outskirts of Bowral. There is plenty of parking, walking tracks are located nearby and the bustle of Bowral is only minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holysleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked a golf week-end in Bowral and the Gibraltar Hotel had been recommended highly on Tripadvisor. We were very happy with our experience with staff friendly and welcoming and our room very clean and newly fitted out. The rooms are very quite, the beds are very comfortable and the hotel spacious and Zen like, perfect for a relaxing week-end. We enjoyed drinks in Harvey’s Bar but were very disappointed with the dinner. We will stay at Gibraltar Hotel again, drink at the bar but will not dine with them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding there in December 7/12/13. We were looked after above & beyond what we expected. Simon our wedding events coord was up late the night before making sure the room was set up, all the gear was on tables & catering to mine & my families every need. He was outstanding. Excellent waiter service too. Michelle was so professional in all she did with the reception, food & drink wise. Some of my elderly guests were very impressed by the amount of attention & care given. Lastly, John the GM was outstanding. His care for impeccable service was the best on the southern highlands. With drinks before I headed out in my wedding dress, driving guests home after Harvey's bar closed, physically showing us directions in the township & organising a last minute photographer when mine cancelled 24 hours before. I was continually impressed. Loved the rock star ambassador suite too, it was the best we have stayed in for years. Loved the whole experience & we would recommend having your wedding there or just staying a night overlooking the golf course. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Sallyjanecollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
0.6 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
8.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
998 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Links House
Links House
#2 of 9 in Bowral
396 reviews
4.2 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
4.5 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibraltar Hotel Bowral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Address: Centennial Rd & Boronia St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range: $215 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gibraltar Hotel Bowral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 100-acres, among century old elm and pine trees and under the shadow of Bowral’s iconic Mt Gibraltar, is Gibraltar Hotel, the most luxurious and modern hotel accommodation available in NSW’s Southern Highlands. Just one and half hours easy drive from Sydney and Canberra, Gibraltar Hotel offers 76 luxurious suites each with vistas of beautiful Bowral woodland or Mt Gibraltar itself. The Hotel also features a challenging 18-hole golf course, the largest conference centre in the region with a unique, elegant ballroom, six breakout meeting rooms, a wedding chapel with a full organ, as well as its own heated indoor swimming pool, cardio centre and luxurious Bowral Day Spa and Grooming Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gibraltar Hotel Bowral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing