We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's about time an international standard hotel in the Southern Highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's about time an international standard hotel in the Southern Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

I frequently stay in the southern highlands and have foun the hotel standards are below average. (Until Now), I stayed at Gibraltar hotel Bowral. It is new the rooms are well appointed the bed felt like I was snuggled up in a nest , first class quality. The outlook on to the golf course was breat taking this time of year with all the Autum colors,service was second to none staff couldn't do enough for you . The food is of international standards and well priced. It is not often that when you stay in a hotel that you eat in for the whole stay but here you don't need to do eat out as the food is scrumtious . I met with clients in Harveys bar and the atmosphere was fantastic and my clients loved it. The staff waited on us and there was never an empty glass nor was there empty plates left on the table they made us feel very welcome and my clients were very impressed. It is very hard to find a place to conduct business and make your clients feel at ease.
I had dinner in the restaurant the food is top class AAA . I had the calamari to start and guess what it was cooked to perfection and the Asian flavor was to die for . For the main I had an eye fillet it melted in my mouth excellent quality.
I am so impressed with the hotel this is now my regular destination on the Highlands. Good on the staff and management thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Developments61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    196
    90
    27
    13
See reviews for
95
279
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

This place is quite good. If it was a bit cheaper it would be great or if it was the same price but just a touch better in a number of ways it would be great.

Reception was only adequate. It was like I had been to the hotel before. No information on the pool, the restaurant or even the room. No I got the keys and room number on arriving and on leaving got a goodbye and I didn't owe any more on the room. Well at least no more than a minute at reception both times. Both time I was the only one there!

Stayed in the 2 bedroom room. Kids were able to stay in the front room which had its own large tv. The main bedroom had a similar tv. If you aren't great at working technology then the tv remote will be beyond you. No foxtel but the first place I have stayed recently (and that includes some high end 5 star places) that has all the free to air digital channels. At least the kids can see ABC 2 even though the lack of a DVD player caused some tears. The bathroom is very modern. Bath was very good for the kids except the plug didn't want to work. Part of a bit of an issue with fixtures. One of the swipe card for the front door stopped working on us and I noticed quite a number of the readers had fallen off front doors. The bed side clock radio had an ipod slot but couldn't find the power to turn the clock on until the next day (cord for both clocks had become hidden under the bed).

The room however was very big and very quite. No trouble getting to sleep here, great curtain to block out the world and the air conditioning work very well on a cold night. The kids could also stretch their legs around the room and nothing seemed too breakable (in the room, hallways have lots of art). Bed was very comfortable. If natural light is big for you probably not your type of place.

The heated indoor pool was good. Kids really liked it, mind you we were the only ones in the pool. The hallways are long and wide and the kids liked running down them. No room service but the place is very close to town (driving wise). The bar looked good and they have a kids room next to the bar which is a bit of a work in progress but wasn't too bad. Breakfast was a highlight in the morning. Good selection of hot and cold food and a really high level of service.

My concern for the future is that they will need to spend a bit on maintenance as the finish quality of this new building isn't the best. Lots of things that look flashy but are not high end in the fixture department and were already showing signs of distress.

Overall a very good 4 star experience at a 5 star price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpm_105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in a Woodlands suite (2 bedroom). I loved the super-king size bed and comfortable lay out of the room. The bathroom was large with a stand alone bath and fantastic ceiling shower. Nice bathroom accessories. Great that the children have their own room and flat screen TV. Coffee and tea making facilities, plus fridge for your use (just milk for coffee/tea in fridge). Liked the T2 tea. Air-conditioning fine.
Didn't like the view of the car park - but not too bothered as we spent all day outside.

Other amenities: complete buffet breakfast included - nice variety of options, refilling done regularly. View from the breakfast room was lovely - Bowral at it's best.

Pool was small and so was the gym. Spa wasn't yet open.

We ate one evening in the Grill restaurant. Food was average, considering the price. Service was friendly, but slow.

We played golf both days - which was fun - beautiful surroundings. Golf shop/pro very friendly.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay. The place is new, so it will be interesting to see how it stands the test of time. It is very modern, so keep this in mind when booking. It is expensive, but comparable to other two-bedroom places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymspinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Gibraltar Hotel in Bowral is not cheap. For the money, you would really expect something special. Unfortunately, it just isn't.

The design of the both the building and the interiors somehow doesn't fit with its location. It is very new and well appointed but seems to have forgotten it is in Bowral.

Our room looked onto the concrete splendour of the car park. Perhaps the golf course view on the other side would be better but the design of the building gives you a 50-50 chance.

The bottom line is that it is terrible value. Hugely overpriced and I suspect the dishevelled motel next door (that you have to drive through to get to the Gibraltar) provides more value for money. Add to this an extortionate charge for internet access and you have a very poor proposition indeed. Even at half the price it would have been pushing it.

I doubt I am in their target market being uninterested in golf and nowhere near retirement but I shan't be rushing back.

Perhaps it needs time to settle and find its place but in the meantime they really need to think about their pricing.

Room Tip: Perhaps try another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incoming11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I found & booked this hotel (before it was even opened) for the recent Day on the Green concert (the hotel is only a km or so from Centennial Vineyards & the hotel arranged private bus transfers). It was a little bit exe at $305 - $345 per night, but the place is great. The rooms are huge and decor is beautiful. We had a room over the golf course with no balcony, but when I asked for a room with an opening window, we were upgraded to a spa suite overlooking Mt Gibraltar & the golf course. It's a very peaceful place and, when I got an offer on Friday from Cudo to stay and play golf for 2 nights at half price, I jumped at it. Jess at reception is an angel .. in fact, all the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. It was a pleasure to stay there. Breakfast was fine and the bar (that you share with the golf members) is fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydneysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

I can't review the rooms but, living as I do just a few Km away we decided to have lunch in the restaurant and suss the place out.

The lunch menu is presented on clipboards and is not extensive but has adequate choices. My wife selected flathead, and I had a 200gm filet steak with peppercorn sauce, well done. Many chefs will not - or cannot - properly present a well done steak, but this was just right: grey inside but not burnt on the outside. One side dish of steamed veg was sufficient for two.

An icecream and one chocolate cake dessert were both tasty.

The restaurant and associated areas are older, and renovated: the hotel rooms are newly built. Unfortunately the former rooms are looking rather unloved: the (empty) conference room had a horrible smell reminiscent of damp or drain leakage. The restaurant carpet was badly fitted, with very untidy edges and the mens' toilet had broken screws which once held a hot air dryer. The grubby urinal sported a bit of string with a knot on the end as a flush mechanism.

Pleasant service and food, but management needs to lift the game.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wol747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.8 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
8.2 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
4.2 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gibraltar Hotel Bowral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gibraltar Hotel Bowral

Property: Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Address: Centennial Rd & Boronia St, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gibraltar Hotel Bowral 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 100-acres, among century old elm and pine trees and under the shadow of Bowral’s iconic Mt Gibraltar, is Gibraltar Hotel, the most luxurious and modern hotel accommodation available in NSW’s Southern Highlands. Just one and half hours easy drive from Sydney and Canberra, Gibraltar Hotel offers 76 luxurious suites each with vistas of beautiful Bowral woodland or Mt Gibraltar itself. The Hotel also features a challenging 18-hole golf course, the largest conference centre in the region with a unique, elegant ballroom, six breakout meeting rooms, a wedding chapel with a full organ, as well as its own heated indoor swimming pool, cardio centre and luxurious Bowral Day Spa and Grooming Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Gibraltar Hotel Bowral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing