We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good country motel”
Review of Oxley Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oxley Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“good country motel”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A good solid country motel experience.

Had a standard room, quiet, clean. The only issue is could do with a bed update, the one I had was a bit worn and firm. But otherwise all good and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    21
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
39
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Bowral is a pretty town much bigger than expected with a great restaurant selection up market shops and of course the Bradman museum. The Oxley Motel is just out of town and we stayed in the back wing away from the main road. A big room ,bit dark but with all you could want and at a very reasonable price. There were other more elegant options at significantly higher prices and where I suspect you would be encouraged to "dress up" a bit more

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Not being able to find a motel or hotel in Moss Vale the local police officer (when he pulled me over..) suggested Bowral for my search. It was getting late and first place I saw without the no-vacancy sign was Oxley Motel. Situated right along the road between MV and B. Got a nice clean quiet room and a friendly chat with the hosts. The wifi was the only downside. They had it - but signal was very poor and I had to give up on using it. One of those things that's as important as a good bed, these days .. so perhaps look into that. The rest: I enjoyed very much and was happy I stopped there for the night.

Room Tip: I imagine they are all of same good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldivstgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed here for one night and couldn't fault it. I read some of the prior reviews, and I guess some people just expect too much. I paid $95 for a standard room on a Thursday night. I got a clean room, with a comfy bed. If you want more than that, then pay the extra $50-$100 extra somewhere else. I found Bill and his wife lovely people, and very obliging. I'll stay at the Oxley anytime. Cheers Marc.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oziman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Bowral is a country town located a little over an hour south of Sydney. Along with Moss Vale, Berrima and Mittagong, Bowral forms part of a wider area known as the Southern Highlands.

Here, among wooded surrounds, you will find an array of attractions including wineries, antique bric a brac stores, cafes and (for the cricket enthusiasts) the Bradman Oval and Museum.

Its all sounds lovely and it is, I’ve lived there in an earlier life. But taking a family of four down for an overnight stay is easier said than done. Whilst there is a selection of upmarket properties and guesthouses available, rigid minimum two night stay policies at many, along with decidedly Sydney rates make these expensive options for a family.

At the other end of the spectrum there are a couple of caravan parks with villas (booked solidly). Sitting in the middle somewhere you have a handful of reasonably priced motels. The Oxley Motel is one of these.

The Oxley Motel is located at the Burradoo end of Bowral. You’ll need to car to visit Bowral, which is a quick 5 minute drive away. It offers a selection of rooms configured in standard, deluxe and executive categories. Some are configured with single beds enabling four people to stay in one room. Whilst this fact hardly seems worthy of mention you’ll be hard pressed to find other lodgings in the Highlands (at short notice) that enable a family to occupy one room for one night.

As far as our room is concerned, it’s clean and had some nice updated touches including a plasma flat screen television and quality refreshments. The beds are adequate. The bathroom is compact, basic but clean. There are reserved car spots outside the accommodation wing. The grounds are well maintained. The room temperature was regulated by a wall mounted reverse cycle air con system. Breakfast can be organised (well priced). Our hosts were pleasant and efficient.

It was a very adequate stay.

For the price paid, the Oxley Motel affords a clean, comfortable stay for a family looking for a bed for the night. It also provided me a sense of nostalgia because, as a kid, this was the sort of place that I remember pulling into for the night during weekend trips down the coast where your front door was operated with a key rather than a plastic security card.

If you want to stay longer, it’s a very adequate option and the money you’d save by bypassing the more expensive accommodation choices could be re-directed into paying for breakfast and coffee in Bowral cafes which, for the most part, offer "country" hospitality but charge “city” prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had to stay here urgently to be near Hospital and it was the cheapest I could find so that was good. Room had a very strange smell in it and after searching, found it in bathroom. Had to keep door closed and still smelt it. Only windows are onto carparking area and people walk past room so can't really have curtains open anyway. No breakfast included which would have been good. Anyway it was OK for a short stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst exploring the higland villages of Mittagong and Bowral. The owner/manager appeared to be friendly and helpful, tho we didn't ask him for any info on the area.

The room was very clean, neat and quite comfortable. Well appointed with everything we needed. As it was a cold night we decided to 'eat in' and stay and so the good size TV with extra channels was very welcomed.

I agree with one of the other reviews in regards to the hardness of the bed - ours too in rm 26 was very 'firm'. The only other down side to the room was that the bathroom was very small - for me this wasn't too much of a problem but for someone on a larger build it would be a very tight squeeze.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezzaloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.7 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
1.7 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
2.5 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
3.8 mi away
Best Western Grand Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxley Motel

Property: Oxley Motel
Address: 535 Moss Vale Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oxley Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oxley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing