We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not impressed...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I heard so many great reviews about this hotel. I was quite disappointed to say the least when I arrived.

The grounds were very nice and well kept, the room was a decent size also, though as a Le Club Accor platinum member, I received none of the program benefits at all.

The fridge in our room smelt really bad and when I mentioned this upon my checkout, it was noted and I'm sure something would get done about it.

The unit we had (103), was quite noisy as it is near the main road, I also had to contend with kids and teenagers slamming doors and being routy and 1 in the morning.

All in all, if I return to Bowral I won't be returning here, I would have preferred to have paid some extra $$ and stayed at a lovely country like resort and spa, but I booked on the feedback I was given. But at least I know now.

I hope this helps.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Robert H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. We not not have dining onsite so are therefore unable to offer the usual discounts on food and beverage which is often offered to Le Club card holders. We apologise for the disturbance caused by fellow guests until the early hours. Thank you for bring the faulty fridge to our attention. This was also raised by our housekeeping team after your departure. The fridge has since been replaced.
Again, we apologise for the disappointment caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    70
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
78
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good for a short stay being handy to Sydney. Secure address being within a nice residential compound.

Could be more interesting if prepared to drive in surrounds which include national parks. Otherwise, there is a nice village feel to Bowral centre with friendly residents. The number of mainstream supermarkets available suggests a larger community than meets the uninitiated eye.

I enjoyed the fireplace, albeit electric, as well as the spa in the apartment. #209 had a verandah overlooking trees with autumn colours which was pleasant.

The manager, Paul Borland, was helpful in returning some forgotten belongings. Reception and housekeeping were quick and helpful too.

Could return for the spring flowers!

Room Tip: There could be a number of stairs involved depending on the apartment location, so check to suit pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear KazCC,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the service your received from Paul and the housekeeping staff was so good. All of the staff take a great pride in their work. We know that they will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you in the Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in Bowral for the weekend to attend a wedding in a two bedroom apartment and the location of the Grand Mercure was excellent. Easy walking distance to the shops and cafes/restaurants in Bowral. The facilities of the property are really good and the set up in our room was very spacious. Couldn't ask for more, except, perhaps a coffee plunger!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank judy428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear judy428,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We hope that you had a great time at the wedding. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Coffee plunger request noted and escalated to our Senior Property Manager to consider the next time we are replacing equipment and utensils.
Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in Bowral for our daughter's wedding. We treated ourselves to an apartment that seemed to have ample room, just so we didn't feel cramped on what we knew would be an emotional time. The apartment was big enough, large and comfortable bed and well lit and ventilated bathroom. There is no food on site so a 5 minute walk into Bowral for breakfast/ lunch/ dinner is easy enough. There are full cooking facilities in the apartment if you prefer to do your own.
And the wedding was simply splendid!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank mrwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear mrwombat,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. So pleased that you had a great day at the wedding. We are delighted that your stay made the weekend even more enjoyable.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queanbeyan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

very good place to stay top quality at a good price,very good service,the staff weres very friendly the pool was really good to swim in the services were very modern and clean,beins so close to town was very handy,i will be going back again because i was so impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank blurring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear blurring,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the good service your received from the staff - they will be thrilled with your comments.
Again, we thank you and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found the apartment exactly as we expected, well appointed and very conveniently located on the edge of the Bowral CBD, the price was reasonable considering the location and additional facilities available, pool, spa, gym.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AccorVacationClub, Guest Relations Manager at The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Bernice H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your stay at Grand Mercure Bowral. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in particular the great location and resort facilities.
Again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowral
1.4 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
0.4 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.5 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Milton Park Country House Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
7.0 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park

Property: The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park
Address: 9 Kangaloon Rd, Bowral, New South Wales 2576, Australia (Formerly Grand Mercure Bowral)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Bowral
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bowral
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed fully self contained apartments located close to the city of Bowral. Perfect for a weekend getaway or for a longer stay. Rooms range from studios to 2 bedroom apartments and are fully self contained. Parking is complimentary and it is a short walk to the city centre. The region is renowned for it's wineries, boutique food products and the Bradman Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Bowral Heritage Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing