We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean accomodation”
Review of BackO'Bourke Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BackO'Bourke Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bourke
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed there last night. After bit of muck up with key, arrived at motel. Large spacious room with kitchenette. Clean linen and bathroom. Godd selection of tea and coffee and large fridge. Ideal if staying a few days. Secure location well out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 40 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

The rooms here are very clean, and are a very good size. The King Size bed was comfortable, there was a full size sofa & fridge in the room, and the kitchen has all required appliances. The bathroom was an impressive size for a motel, and the shower was full size & lovely and hot with good pressure. There is plenty of parking space around the motel, so perfect if towing a trailer/campervan.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jasmine745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed here before and it has been great. When we stayed in Jan 2013, we checked in to find mouse droppings under every bed and dead frogs behind the TV unit! The airconditioners did not work and the Spa was blowing out what looked like mould.
As we have stayed here before, we have met the owners quite a few times and they were always lovely. This particular time I went to the RSL/office to complain. I pulled the owner aside as I didn't want everyone to hear. I informed him nicely of what we had found and that we weren't happy. He then proceeded to say to me that if we didn't like it, we should just leave. I was speechless and turned and went to walk out... The owner then came after me shouting and yelling that if its not good enough to get out now.
We will never ever stay here again and would not recommend this place to anyone. It's one thing to obviously have hired bad housekeeping staff, its another to abuse your paying customers and not offer to rectify the problem. We had booked the house for over a week too!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1986traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Marie P, Owner at BackO'Bourke Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review, these customers actually stayed after the altercation for the duration of their stay, they had stayed with us on previous occasions but also on each occasion they had a dog in the unit which is against motel policy.
The customers had been spoken to on numerous occasions however they continued to keep the dog in the house.
I Phillip, took their booking against the advice of my wife as on each occasion we have had to have the unit steam cleaned after they had left due to dog hair and odour.
We feel the customer was unhappy because they were unable to rent the unit they had previously rented on more than one occasion which was more isolated and easier to get a pet into without onsite staff seeing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This motel is located in North Bourke which is a quieter part of Bourke. It was my second stay there. When visiting Bourke about 20 years ago and staying in a central hotel/motel, we had our vehicle broken into overnight despite the 3 metre high (then) chain wire fence surrounding locked car park. I noticed that things have not improved and there is now a 4 metre sheet steel enclosure replacing the chain wire fence, the shops are all boarded up, high fences surround car parks and there was a beefy security man at the entance of the IGA in town. Back to the room, it is spacious, air conditioned with a quiet split unit, equipped with a basic kitchen and has a selection of Twinnings teas. The beds are comfortable and the location is quiet. At $150 per night for twin share it was the most expensive night on our trip but it was worth the peace of mind as the car was loaded with all my son's stuff. Service was helpful and friendly. The motels office is in town but you can call them from the site.

Room Tip: Book ahead as this is a poplular place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed three nights in what was the manager's residence at the motel. It is huge, charming and very comfortable. We had everything we needed, especially in the well equipped kitchen which we cooked in on two nights. It was so peaceful and we were left alone and not bothered by anyone but were pleasantly surprised by having the house serviced on each day. It's out of town and we felt very safe and secure.
The house was clean where it mattered, ie linen and kitchen. There is a huge spa bath in one of the two bathrooms which was lovely on the cool nights.
Two of the three bedrooms had tvs and there was a big flat screen tv in the lounge room. Also a pool table.
We would definitely come back, and perhaps try out the cabins further down, in the Summer when we can make use of the pool and bbq.
It's so nice to see places like this that are so affordable for families.
Also, eat at the owners' restaurant "Diggers on the Darling". Wonderful food at amazing prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RainyDayGirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at this motel for a week, we were working in Bourke, there were three of us. I also stayed for one night back in April with my family.

The motel now operates more as an accommodation service, since the owners now own and run a restaurant (Diggers on Darling) in the old RSL in Bourke itself and manage the site by remote control. It pays to call by the restaurant before going to the site to do all the usual check in stuff there before heading out to North Bourke where the motel actually is. Despite running it by remote, all the things that need to be done are done.

When we stayed in April the place was overrun by frogs but this was because of the floods a few weeks before. The pool was nice but could have been a little cleaner (didn't seem to have been chlorinated in a while). What was once a spa has now become a frog breeding chamber so don't lift the lid on it if you don't like frogs!

The rooms are very generous, clean and comfortable with air conditioners in each room.

The owners seem to actually own most of North Bourke now which itself is a ghost town, the iron shed pub having long closed and the "roadhouse" shop is now unfortunately also closed and up for sale. In short - the place looks and really feels like it's name sake - the Back of Bourke! If you're fed up with the rat race and want somewhere comfortable to veg out in the middle of absolutely nowhere but with all the comforts of home on your doorstep then the Back O Bourke Motel is for you.

The owners also own a number of complete three bedroom houses surrounding the motel and have renovated these and now make these available for travellers also - mostly for longer term stays and work groups. It was one of these which we stayed in this time around. They all have big screen TVs, Austar, comfy lounges and full kitchen etc. There were a few of the obligatory lizards and ants etc but you would expect this in such a location.

It was the middle of winter, every night for us consisted of sitting outside the front of the house surrounding a 44g drum cut up as a bonfire (they left some wood fuel for us but we used it so much we regularly had to go off in the bush foraging for more). A nightly BBQ completed the evening.

It was a work week but with the Back O Bourke Motel, it felt more like a week's holiday with BBQ, beers and good mates around the bonfire every night in the middle of nowhere. If this is Bourke, we'll be back - but at 4 hours' drive from just about anywhere, I'm not sure when.

In short, it depends on what you're expecting. If you are looking for a hotel with service and all the trimmings then the BOB Motel isn't for you. But if you want to experience Bourke they way it should be experienced, are prepared to do some work for yourself then the BOB is heaven.

Just be wary making a booking. Several times I called and booked a particular room or house only to find when I checked a few weeks later, the booking had either been changed or deleted because "someone else" decided to stay longer or some other work crew rolled into town. It pays to call beforehand and keep the communications open as to what you want, where and when.

Oh and buy your food in town - because there's nothing left in North Bourke.

Paul M

Room Tip: If you can, then book one of the houses away from the motel itself - 26 or 27 and if it's Winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

worst hotel in australia... no the world! owner tried to fight us over the bugs inside the room(pretty sure i didnt bring my pet bugs this time) because we left the light on, the reception is unattended and is being used as another hotel room! and last but not least, you have to feed the dog that is old and lovely but no one at the hotel cares for, quite disgraceful

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank philthedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Marie P, Owner at BackO'Bourke Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for your review, we note at the time of this stay, Bourke was in the middle of a flood and all guests were advised to keep their gauze doors closed due to the high increase of insects around flood times.
The guest had demanded another room, however as we were fully booked, we were unable to provide another room for this guest. They would not use the fly spray provided. Also, they advised me that they had left the doors open because they liked fresh air.
In relation to the comments about our dog, our staff onsite always fed and looked after the pet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bourke hotels
2.5 mi away
Bourke Riverside Motel
2.7 mi away
Major Mitchell Motel
Major Mitchell Motel
#3 of 3 in Bourke
65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Darling River Motel
Darling River Motel
#2 of 5 in Bourke
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bourke Bridge Inn
Bourke Bridge Inn
#1 of 5 in Bourke
87 reviews
Show Prices

Been to BackO'Bourke Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BackO'Bourke Motel

Address: Wanaaring Road, Bourke, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bourke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bourke
Price Range: $108 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your BackO'Bourke Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing