We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Hidy Hole”

Berry Sourdough Cafe
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Berry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Local Hidy Hole”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Never let's us down, locals love it especially when the tourists, who nalso LOVE it, leave town and we get it back to ourselves! Great service, charming staff, good food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrinkyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    108
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“addictive!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We knew they had fine bread and other baked beauties but lunch was surprise and dinner a revelation! Being a bakery we assumed sandwiches would be the lunch mainstay but what delicious scallops and salads - obscure flavours, textures and colours combined. For example my seared scallops came with eggplant chutney, salad leaves, nectarine slices and hazelnuts amongst other things and it worked wonderfully. So even though we were staying in Gerringong it was well worth the drive. We returned for dinner and to a delightful and amazing meal - the best duck confit i have had. And we were so well looked after by the charming Sonia whose husband is a fine chef and a gem for the south coast - lucky Berry. Of course we also went there for breakfast - delicious and excellent coffee.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GinMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I went with my daughter in law and a friend as we had heard a lot about it. It was about 11.40 am when we called. We were given the lunchtime menu. We proceeded to pick what we wanted. I was so looking forward to the barramundi another person then arrive,maybe the head waitress and told us that we couldn't order off the dinner menu as it was too early and would have to wait maybe another 20 minutes to order. So we could neither order off the dinner menu or the breakfast menu. I then asked well what can we order and was told anything that was in the bakery,like a tart or a slice of pizza. So all I can say is don't go between 11.30 and noon if you want something to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann.cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berry, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First class food and service”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Absolutely gorgeous food by Chef Mark Evans, I can never resist having 3 courses and I just love that you can BYO your favourite wines from Justin Lill Wines around the corner. Service is always friendly and attentive, such a wonderful restaurant in a small country town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lillbillies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner gem on the South Coast”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

John Evans is a first class chef and his food is memorable. Staff are so well versed and knowledgible on the menu and wine list - they make it a joy to eat there

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Car0leR1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berry Sourdough Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Berry Sourdough Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing