We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but room for improvement.”

Savannah Cafe and Bar
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Berry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $2,009
Cuisines: African, Mediterranean
Description: South African food on the South Coast of New South Wales. Take your taste buds on a Safari! Tastiest burgers in town - mufasa, peri-peri chicken, veggie and pulled pork 😃 Also great salads - Current favourite Mediterranean salad is our pulled lamb & pearl cous cous salad.
Restaurant details
Description: South African food on the South Coast of New South Wales. Take your taste buds on a Safari! Tastiest burgers in town - mufasa, peri-peri chicken, veggie and pulled pork 😃 Also great salads - Current favourite Mediterranean salad is our pulled lamb & pearl cous cous salad.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice but room for improvement.”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We ordered coffee (lovely) & a halloumi poached egg pesto hash brown. It was yummy but the halloumi was overcooked. The hash brown didn't appear to be made by them as I buy a similar brand myself. It was good though.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank love2travel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siphu, Owner at Savannah Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks you for your feedback!

We apologise for the overcooked halloumi an can certainly improve on that :) But what you thought were hash browns are actually crumbed maize meal fritters which is a white polenta from South Africa. These are made fresh daily by our talented chefs.

Hope to see you again some time.

The Team at Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    38
    10
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not sure it will last”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff were lovely and the atmosphere was fine. The menu is very meat oriented but we expected that. Our mains tasted fine but they were small and we're not big eaters. The desserts, however, we're interesting and yummy. Not sure we'd return and there was only one other couple there for lunch. It's expensive for the amount of food that is served. Not sure it will last when there are better options in Berry.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blossom96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siphu, Owner at Savannah Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it as that is how we improve.

Just so you know, two tables in the restaurant means you have visited our restaurant before or after our lunch rush - count yourself as lucky as you had our undivided attention.

Currently we are encouraged by other more famous restaurants in Berry who charge even more for even less food and they are going from strength to strength. Quality food counts!

The team at Savannah :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Took my dad out for dinner with my wife. At age 70 and born and bred in Berry, his culinary requirements are a bit old school but we all left well satisfied. The tasting plate with crumbed maize meal balls, peri-peri chicken wings and sliced grilled boerewors went down a treat. Dad and I had rouladen, comprising strips of gherkin, carrot, bacon and onion wrapped in thinly sliced veal and served with a yummy jacket potato and a healthy dob of sour cream. The highlight was the lime and blueberry cheesecake. The menu has something for people of all ages as long as you like your food nicely seasoned and tasty. Friendly courteous service. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Contiued excellence”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We've lunched here several times and always enjoyed to food so decided to have dinner, a great choice, the food is South African so a little different, but not too much so. So good we came back for breakfast the next morning, so glad we did it was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gems151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
“You do not have to be a South African expat to enjoy the unusual fare in this cosy little restaurant”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Whether you are spending the day in Berry or whether you are just passing through Berry on the way to your destination do yourself and your group/family a favour and have a meal at this delightful little restaurant.
It is situated at the back of an arcade off the main street in Berry, (Princes Highway), close to Alexandra Street.
Their speciality is South African food but even if this is not your fancy there are many other dishes that are not 'African'. As we love trying dishes from different countries and had been told that the food here was 'South African authentic' we went for the Babotie and rice (yum!) and the boerewors. The owner is most congenial and the service was good even though the place was fairly full. They also serve 'Windhoek' beer and if you like trying beers from other countries, you could well enjoy this lager.
The highlight is the 'koeksusters' which, I am told by one of our group 'in the know', are difficult to make. This delicacy is a plaited doughnut deep-fried and soaked in syrup. The end result should be a dish that does not leave any syrup residue on the plate. (The secret is to freeze the syrup and drop the hot doughnut into the frozen syrup. Savannah have done this to perfection.
Top marks! I hope enough people frequent Savannah (what a lovely name!) to keep this restaurant thriving so that we can enjoy a good meal every time we pass through Berry.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siphu, Owner at Savannah Cafe and Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your great feedback!

I know we as a family and our valued staff really appreciate visitors such as yourself that will try new and tasty dishes from a country far away. We knew we were taking a risk keeping the menu mainly South African but are so pleased & encouraged by the positive response from locals and visitors alike.

However, as you have noted, the menu does boast many other meals probably more Mediterranean. Our croissants and bagels with their different tasty fillings (to mention only two) will satisfy even the most discerning palate :) Give it a try . . . see you soon!

The Team at Savannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah Cafe and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Savannah Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing