We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed beyond belief........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berry Village Boutique Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Beware when booking to stay here as you may find like we did that the rate you are quoted is entirely different from what you get charged. Booked room over nine months ago for a family wedding - whole motel was booked out by the wedding guests - we were charged $235.00 for four people. Motel knew we were going to a wedding and had to be ready by 2.15pm to be picked up by bus to be taken to venue - at one stage were told we could not get into room until 1.00 pm. Luckily we finally got into the room at 12.30 pm. Receptionist needs a personality transplant very rude and manager the next day wasn't much better. They are rip off merchants taking advantage of people - could have stayed in 5 star resort at Gold Coast for same price. Would never recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disgusted827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 230 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

When I'm booking a hotel the two words that make me scared are Motel & Boutique!! Motel usually indicates a down market dump and Boutique means that few people want to stay there!! I chose the Berry Village Boutique Motel because it was one of the few places available when we were in the area for a wedding. I was very pleasantly surprised. Whilst it was obviously a motel in the past, it has been tastefully reformatted to have the appearance and feel of a quality 4 star hotel. The room was very well appointed with all the little niceties you'd expect. Comfortable, spacious and attractive. It was on the higher price for an establishment like this but not too bad. The only thing I'd change is the 10.00am checkout. Be generous and make it 11.00am. Everyone is staying in this hotel for leisure and doesn't want to be rushed out the door in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurferPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I paid $240 for a night here in late September and found myself in a dark basement room beside the car-park. The smell was reminiscent of a retirement home and it was in no way worth the money spent. That was the early beginnings of my travels in Australia, having just relocated back after 10 years away and I was shocked by the apparent rise in prices and drop in standards, but I have since found that this is not across the board and feel dissapointed that such a room is not either left vacant or sold at a vastly reduced price. The staff here were kind and good natured, but the essential ingredient of a hotel is cash for rooms and this was simply not a fair trade.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaz_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I've not stayed here. We did not get that far..... I contacted this place direct to book for a group and asked for a rate for 5 double / twin rooms. Subsequently circumstances changed so when I emailed back to book I said we only needed two room. They replied saying that the rooms that they'd quoted me on had been sold and all that was left was two much higher priced rooms. Fair enough, we'd asked for a price on 5 but only needed 2 so I expect to pay a little more. However I decided to check Wotif plus Tripadvisor and to my surprise I found that what they'd told me was rubbish. ALL of the internet sites were showing availability for the room we wanted on the date we wanted way cheaper than we'd been originally quoted direct by the motel. I wrote back saying we'd not be coming at all and that I was very disappointed at the rates discrepancy and what looks to be a clear case of trying to gouge us. No response to my email. Very disappointing and we'll not be stopping in Berry at all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very nice clean and very well positioned hotel, staff were very pleasant and helpfull $220 a night sees a bit steep but it was the Christmas holiday period so not unexpected. I would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NREvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We were very happy to find this Motel and even happier to find the staff so fabulously friendly and helpful. Berry is a great spot and this Motel managed by Yvonne and John is excellent. All the staff went out of their way to help us, the rooms are clean and well appointed and if we had any problems during our few days they were fixed promptly with grace. We had a Deluxe Room with park view including the continental breakfast. We ate at the Pavillion Restaurant that is attached but the food did not match the standout service (from Kirstyn and Trish) especially for the cost. We would definately stay at this Motel again and suggest the same to our friends. Thank you to Yvonne, John, Kirstyn and Trish for making our stay so enjoyable. We look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Deluxe with Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This place was more like a luxury hotel than a motel. The room was nice and big with all modern cons. The bathroom was huge. The only downside was that the bathroom floor gets quite wet when the shower is on (the shower is inside the spa without any covers). Other than this, a delightful stay was had by all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - it's nice and quiet and you get a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidTraveller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berry
8.0 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
732 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
11.4 mi away
Kangaroo Valley Golf & Country Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
845 reviews
8.8 mi away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berry Inn
The Berry Inn
#3 of 8 in Berry
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Village Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Village Boutique Motel

Address: 72 - 76 Queen St, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Berry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berry
Price Range: $128 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berry Village Boutique Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Berry, The Berry Village Boutique Motel will surprise you - it is a 25 room, high end four star property with all the facilities and comforts that you expect. Providing stylish country accommodation, each of the Motel's guest rooms are tastefully furnished in a modern "country meets city" style. We offer flexibility and value - we can assemble special packages to ensure that your time with us is relaxing and slightly indulgent. Pavilion Restaurant The Motel features a great in-house restaurant, the Pavilion Restaurant and Lounge, which serves high quality modern Australian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berry Village Boutique Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berry Village Boutique Hotel Berry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing