We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Berry
Post
Inbox
Search

“Bad service”
Review of The Garden Berry

The Garden Berry
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Berry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: CAFE • RESTAURANT • BAR Relaxed social dining with a choice of indoor or outdoor seating. Visit us for breakfast, lunch, dinner, morning/afternoon tea or just relaxed afternoon grazing and drinks. Fully licensed with a range of wines, beers, spirits, cocktails, cocktail jugs and a G&T menu that features our much loved housemade tonic water. • Offering a wide range of local produce • A focus on sustainability • A choice of comfortable lounge seating or dining chairs • Sunny and dog friendly courtyard • Kids menus, high chairs and baby change table • Local art on exhibit all year round with exhibitions changing monthly
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was a hot day and the 3 of us found a spot in the garden we liked. But we were told we couldn't sit there as it was a 5 person table and "people may come". Mind you, half the place was empty. Soon after we saw a couple sitting in the same spot!
Not only that, my sister's food did not turn up for a long time and we realized they had forgotten. Basic 3 person order.
Do not recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank BrindhaNagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardenBerry, Owner at The Garden Berry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are so sorry to hear that you did not have an amazing experience with us here at The Garden. I would greatly appreciate if you could send us an email to admin@thegardenberry.com.au with the details of your visit (day, time and any other relevant details) so we may address the issues raised this review with full attention as we appreciate all feedback from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 226 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

An ok breakfast experience, with a lot of flies landing in you as you tried to enjoy your food, not too keen on the coffee but that’s a personal thing, others seemed to enjoy their food...
not too friendly an atmosphere but hey ho !

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank paulpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardenBerry, Owner at The Garden Berry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are terribly sorry about the flies, however unfortunately being in a rural destination they are somewhat unavoidable outdoors. We would love to have you back another time so we may try and improve on your recent experience. Our baristas are very flexible with their work and would be more than happy to chat to you about providing you with a top quality cup of coffee, for example if you found it too strong, weak, hot etc we can work to find the perfect cup. If there is any further feedback you would like to give us to help us improve please contact us via email admin@thegardenberry.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Wow, this restaurant, meal quality, service, staff just about perfection. We had steak and fish along with entrees and wine and they were the absolute best. Well done the garden

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardenBerry, Owner at The Garden Berry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. As we are only open two evenings per week (Friday and Saturday) it’s great to hear people enjoying our dinner service so much. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

I just had the most delicious meal at The Garden Berry. I visited with my husband in January 2020 (can't seem to select this in the drop down menu so entered December 2019) I had the Moroccan Lamb and it was one of the best meals I have eaten. Delicious, tasty, flavoursome, quality food. My husband had the Barramundi which was tasty and cooked perfectly.
We were lucky as it was not too busy as it was New Years Day. The general look and the feel of the place is friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveller457Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardenBerry, Owner at The Garden Berry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meals and the ambiance we have created here at The Garden. It was a tough New Year’s Day for us locally due to the bushfire situation with a lot of our staff being affected, so to hear such positive comments about your experience means a lot to us. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Came here with three friends today. It’s was really nice sitting in the courtyard. Both my friends liked their dishes and thought they were tasty. I Tasted their dishes and would agree. My steak sandwich wasn’t as great as the menu made it sound. By the time it was delivered to the table the bun on the bottom was soggy, the steak was well done and not medium rare as the menu reads. Chips on the side were however quite nice and crisp on outside with fluffy potato on the inside. I would go back again and try something else on the menu.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGardenBerry, Owner at The Garden Berry, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review – we are certainly happy to hear most of the meals were enjoyable. We do apologise the steak sandwich wasn’t up to par but we will take this feedback and discuss it further with our staff. We do hope you will be back in to try something else on our menu and fingers crossed you will enjoy it thoroughly. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Berry also viewed

 

Been to The Garden Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing