We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely gone down hill...the food and the livestock.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Berry Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Berry Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Berry B&B and Inns
sydney
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Definitely gone down hill...the food and the livestock.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We used to come to this pub years ago and it was really good value as even though the rooms were old and VERY basic, the food at the pub was really great so it made up for it. We hadn't been here for a couple of years though and were really disappointed when we stayed here for a couple of nights this month. The food has really gone down hill in a major way. I didn't realise that panna cotta could taste so awful. You have to be a pretty bad cook to stuff that up and the choc mouse was inedible - dry, floury and goodness knows what they did to get that result either. They definitely need to fire the head chef/cook and delouse the beds, as there were bedbugs too!!! Tiny little 1.5mil yellow ones...ewwwww....won't be coming back. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

Room Tip: Not sure that's possible. You could perhaps ask for a room without bedbugs, but that may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarellahutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    26
    19
    31
See reviews for
29
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We made the mistake of staying at the Berry Hotel. The upstairs accomodation is disgusting. OLD beds with bedbugs (or were they fleas ?). Musty, dirty rooms. Appalling OLD showers with zero hygiene standards. If any of you remember the house interior on the TV show "The Munsters" then Berry Hotel is a similar type of accomodation. Eating in the hotel restaurant downstairs could also be a health risk. We sat on the downstairs balcony and there were flies everywhere. The tables were old and dirty and wobbly. A very unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Tip is don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berry hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

From the moment we were shown to our table it was clear the waiting staff were clearly not going to be hospitable. They were unfriendly and even bordering on rude. Having booked a table for 1pm we ordered our starters and mains. The starters arrived in good time and was enjoyable. Two of the six main meals arrived at 1.50pm. These were both steaks, one cooked medium rare, the other well done. The waitress mixed them up. After waiting for twenty minutes for the other four meals to arrive I complained to the waitress and sent my steak back, as by now it was cold. She sent the manager (?) who was extremely argumentative and informed me that "If I wanted another steak it would be at least 20 minutes as there are other diners here too". The other four meals arrived within the next five minutes and my steak shortly afterwards. From the first meal to arrive on the table to the last was half an hour!!
To sum up I found the service at this restaurant abysmal, the wait staff rude and the manager argumentative and totally unprofessional in his dealing with my valid complaint. If you want good food with courteous staff then give this place a miss.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverback71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel was disgusting to put it mildly. They made me pay before I saw the room. Had I seen in I would have done a u turn. Room dusty dank/smoke scented the last time it was cleaned probably 1970. Loud music till 12.30 am. I didn't sleep in the bed I was that scared. Can't believe I made such a mistake and didn't look on here first. The bathroom was nasty. I got in the shower only because i needed to shower but it didn't look clean so I left my thongs on my feet. Please don't make the same mistake as me. Lonely planet Australia recommends-they must be out if their minds. Oh and the bin is a bucket with a plastic bag in it.

Room Tip: Don't take any room
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Archipeligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

was extremely hot, dirty, noisy with bugs in the bathroom and beds.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kroney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Room was directly above the pub which meant noise didn't die down till 1am.
Room was on the roadside which meant you heard every single truck that passed during the night as there was no soundproofing...
The room was about 40 degrees too as it was a hot night and there was of course no fans or AC.
Not to mention the grubby rooms and insects in the bathroom.
Only stay here as a last resort....

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Our family recently stayed in room 1 at the Berry Hotel and I was very disappointed with the accommodation.

Downstairs in the Hotel is extremely well furnished, new, clean and attractive. It is on the back of this impression we booked the room. However, I found the upstairs to the hotel to be in complete contrast.

Our room was small, had no television, no in-room tea making facilities, no bathroom, no air conditioning, no décor on the walls, which needed painting, the furniture and carpet was old and in need of replacing. The lamp did not work and had the remains of food on it. One of the beds had a rip in the side where the padding was coming out. The only window in the room opened out on to an inside stairwell. Underneath this window was the shared tea and coffee facilities (around one foot from where my kids were sleeping).

The toilet and bathroom were shared and were in disrepair. The shower did not work properly and so we had to wait until we reached a campsite until we could wash.

We paid $130 for the night. I have stayed at Youth Hostels with cleaner, more modern and generally better facilities and have paid the same price for a whole week’s accommodation.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jeff_jervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berry
7.8 mi away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
24.6 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Berry Village Boutique Motel
0.7 mi away
Broughton Mill Farm Guesthouse B&B
7.6 mi away
Park Ridge Retreat
Park Ridge Retreat
#1 of 2 in Gerringong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Hotel

Property: Berry Hotel
Address: 120 Queen St, Berry, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2535, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Berry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Berry
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing