We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This really is a luxurious and delightful place to stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berrima
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Berrima B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“This really is a luxurious and delightful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Found Ashrowan via Tripadvisor and stayed a Friday and Saturday night on the way back to Sydney from Canberra and, incidentally, it's one and a half hours drive from each. Very quiet location away from the main road through Berrima. House is delightful and beautifully furnished. Met by Philip at the door and shown to our wonderful room for our 2 night stay. Fabulously comfortable bed with nice pillows and linen, television, DVD and CD player. Huge choice of music, DVDs and books in the sitting room. Big, nicely tiled bathroom with a private outdoor sitting area through the double doors leading off it. Philip made us tea on arrival which we had sitting on the terrace. He showed us around and we filled out our breakfast order which has a choice of 3 times - 8.30,9.00 or 9.30 but they'll extend to 10.00am if you really can't get out of bed. Choices of bread, hot breakfast really all you will ever need and when it comes to the consuming part, just divine! They leave a bottle of bubbly in the house fridge for you and there's port and chocolates in the sitting room when you return from dinner. We took both their dinner recommendations - Josh's cafe (our preference) with superb service, great atmosphere and interesting menu; and Eschalotte a one hat restaurant which seems to have the one hat regional problem of incredibly slow service. It's fine dining but to us lacked atmosphere and service commitment but the food was excellent along with the wine list which was a mile long! There is plenty to do in Berrima with walks along the river, visits to the many antique shops, drinks in the local pub, a visit to the historic court house and Harpers Mansion to name a few. Not too many places who claim the luxury tag really fulfil our expectations but Ashrowan delivers in spades. An absolute delight and would highly recommend this place for a very memorable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Thank you Susan and Phillip for a wonderful stay. We stayed in the Gardeners Retreat which had a separate sitting room. It was like stepping back in time with a little bit of Tuscany.
Susan and Phillip are wonderful hosts who are there if you need them but completely unobtruvise. Everything was just as it should be, clean, welcoming, warm and cozy. Phillip made sure there was always enough wood for the fire, breakfast was beautiful, there was an extensive library of books, dvd's and cd's if you needed them. It was so quiet, even though it was a very windy night we did not hear a thing. We loved it, it was just the way a B&B should be and within walking distance of the beautiful town of Berrima and top restuarants, make sure you check out Harpers Mansion if you are staying, it is worth the entry fee to see a little bit of our Australian history.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, the Gardens Retreat has its own sitting room but the other two rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbliss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Gardener's Retreat was excellent and having a separate lounge with a fireplace was a wonderful place to sit and read the Saturday papers, have a glass or two to sparkling prior to wandering out for dinner and to sip a glass of port when we returned.
The ambiance of Ashrowan was just beautiful, the decor, the collectibles just made it.. Susan and Phillip were wonderful hosts and made you feel very welcome in their home. We will not hesitate to return...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHCRONULLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

Wonderful, welcoming, warm, cozy and friendly. Very tastefully appointed and a superb attention to detail. Very friendly hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwynranallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

As it was raining when we arrived, we were greeted with susan who came out with a umberalla for us. I immediately felt special. Our room was the tower and just everything was perfect. Comfortable bed and great view from our window. Amenties were exceptional. Pure luxury. We were totally left alone and enjoyed the peacefulness. Breakfast was excellent and the only time we saw other guests. It was so homely and the fire created a great atmosphere in the evenings. We were made so welcome and susan made the bookings for us each night for Dinner. We were in walking distance to everything in Berrima. By far the best place I have ever stayed and I can't wait to have the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyCooma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Ashrowan is at the top end by price for a B&B. However, it is a calm, lovely house where you would like to move in and stay. The rooms and bathrooms are stylish, comfortable and very clean. The shared space is warm and welcoming, with a fire, tons of books to read, music to play and comfortable sofas on which to waste an hour or three. The terrace and garden carry this theme on outside. Breakfast is delectable. Best of all, in a calm and understated way, the hosts make you feel welcome and at home, like welcome family guests.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essendon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

If you're looking for a magical experience for you and your partner look no further. With Nanna looking after the kids (worth the drive from Melbourne alone) we arrived at Ashrowan just before New Years. It was a relaxing experience from day one. We stayed in the Gardeners Retreat which was both magnificent and private. The breakfasts were indescribable with no expense spared, and different each day. Our hosts (Susan & Phillip) were charming and were there when you needed them with nothing being too much trouble. The home has a main living area with a lovely fireplace should you feel like the company of others and there are some lovely restaurants within walking distance. This property would suit the more discerning traveller and well worth every cent, thank you again Susan & Phillip. We'll get back there one of these days. P&L

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berrima
5.8 mi away
Peppers Manor House
Peppers Manor House
#1 of 1 in Sutton Forest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.6 mi away
Links House
Links House
#1 of 9 in Bowral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.7 mi away
Gibraltar Hotel Bowral
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Peppers Craigieburn
4.3 mi away
Briars Country Lodge & Inn
0.1 mi away
Berrima Bakehouse Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashrowan Bed & Breakfast
Address: 8 Wilshire Street, Berrima, New South Wales 2577, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Southern Highlands > Berrima
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Berrima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing