We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, staff and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josh's Cafe

Josh's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Berrima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fully Licenced Thursday BYO wine only BOOKINGS ESSENTIAL
Bowral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, staff and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've eaten at Josh's number of times, for lunch and dinner. The food is always very good, beautifully cooked and presented. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable about the food and wine, and attentive. We've enjoyed every dish we've eaten there. The dishes are clever, well cooked and show a real understanding of flavours.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    60
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowral
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food , great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the friendly hello on arrival to the farewell as we left, a great night was had by all. We were a group of friends for a meal on a Friday night. Service was prompt but we were not made to feel rushed, the meals were beautifully presented and tasted exactly as they looked. I thought the sizes were small glancing around at other tables but was unable to finish my main meal, not due to taste but was just more than I was able to eat. Entrée was a goat’s cheese in a fine pastry with a light sauce, mains I had the battered flathead and the batter was very light .Homemade lemonade made a refreshing drink. Good value great meal

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhillipBowral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, efficient staff and wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

What more could you want? The food is innovative, beautifull cooked and presented. Accommodating staff (when we asked to order every entree to share as all sounded so good we couldnt decide) , well timed presentation .
and all the entrees were excellent and the sweets were superb.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RJSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere, firendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

A group of us dined at Josh's, they had made the effort to fit us in that night. We were surrounded by couples of dates and other small groups. The wait staff were well informed and very friendly.

The food was delicious and although Josh wasn't in the kitchen that night, the chief a young lady did the most amazing job.

Definatly worth the visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great surprise on a cold windy night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Arriving late into town we went to the only place still open...and what a find. Relaxed and fun service and yummy food. Love the decor. Well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Margotjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josh's Cafe also viewed

Berrima, Southern Highlands
Berrima, Southern Highlands
 
Berrima, Southern Highlands
Berrima, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Josh's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing