We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of the Southern Highlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josh's Cafe

Josh's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Berrima
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fully Licenced Thursday BYO wine only BOOKINGS ESSENTIAL
Sydney
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best of the Southern Highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Friendly, sophisticated and wonderful food. Chat with Waiters Paul and Dave, with their Smith and Wollensky attitude. Josh is in the kitchen producing endless quality dishes. Try the Australan king prawns and the Calimari entrees. My favorite restaurant - anywhere

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby21Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    60
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just keep coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Another wonderful experience at Josh's. We keep going there for special occasions and have never been anything other than delighted. Great food, menu changes continually, great service, intimate ambiance. We intended this time to have a main only but ended up having entrée, main and dessert. Irresistible. Wines are great. Waiter made a late call for my steak and poured me an extra glass of red in lieu, cant complain about that although my steak was a bit more cooked than the medium rare that I ordered but still tender and delicious. Will keep returning for dinner at every opportunity.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Absolutely Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just had lunch at Josh's Cafe. My husband & I shared a starter of semolina encrusted whiting, with a shaved fennel salad, it was just delicious. I had veal with eggplant, that had been chargrilled, with thick cut chips, my husband had a very tender sirloin steak. Both mains were outstanding.. The service and food was brilliant, will be visiting again very soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss this gem of a joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great food, great waiters and great service. A lot of fun and food each time we go.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SophieLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value and quality varied menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We eat here regularly for a special occasion as locals and don't miss Bowral - easily better quality and friendly service

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trikemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josh's Cafe also viewed

Berrima, Southern Highlands
Berrima, Southern Highlands
 
Berrima, Southern Highlands
Berrima, Southern Highlands
 

Been to Josh's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing