We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellbird Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Bermagui B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every detail”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Gretel has the mot beautiful taste and hasn't missed a single detail. Fresh cut fruit and yoghurt always in the fridge, a pot for real tea if you don't fancy the teabags, breakfasts enough to last half a day or more. (Ask nicely and you can have the recipe for the home made jams.) Matching crockery on the table, Australian timber bed,a double shower and spa.
Bellbirds, whipbirds, parrots and the odd monitor lizard, but the lyre bird didn't make an appearance. I can't think of another thing that would have made our experience any better.

Room Tip: There's only the one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Many thanks for the compliments and for the lovely review. We take a lot of pride in what we do and I'm so pleased that we have been able to make your stay special. Yes even selecting the crockery has been fun, having a room that encompasses both our woodland setting and art, gave us a great opportunity to match with the theme. We look forward to welcoming you again, and hope to be able to see your completed book some day. Cheers Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Bellbird Cottage B&B is situated in a beautiful garden in a forest of magnificent trees in one of the loveliest coastal towns of NSW. The single room and luxurious bathroom are spacious, elegant, a little quirky. And very private. There's wonderful light from the large windows, with peaceful views into the garden. You will love this place especially if you like birds: including tinkling Bell Miners, whooping Wonga Pigeons, and Whipbirds performing their special country and western duo; you can match these sounds with sightings. Gretel and Tony are generous hosts, Gretel's breakfasts are homemade, creative and delicious. Nearby I can recommend the Bermagui Gelati Clinic for a treat, Bluewave Seafoods for excellent fish and chips and a view of the harbour, and Il Passagio for a classy dinner. You can walk over spectacular headlands, on the world's most beautiful beaches, and along lakes (and see more birds), swim at Bermagui's famous Blue Pool, explore the region by car, visit pretty Tilba, especially on Saturday mornings, that's market day, and I suggest you head straight for the stall that sells German cheesecake. Or you can simply spend your hours being still at Bellbird Cottage, in its magical setting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissusMagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
How lovely to be described as magical, and our thanks for such a wonderful review. I'll always see our birds as a bootscooting routine now :) Though for now the pidgeon has left the group and will return again in spring. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and will look forward to welcoming you again soon. Cheers Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Our 4 nights in Bellbird Cottage were wonderful. We really needed a getaway to recharge and reconnect, and our time at Bellbird really exceeded our expectations. In a setting including expansive bush views, and constant birdsong, the room offers total privacy, and many luxury touches.

The new bathroom is absolutely superb, the toughest part of the holiday was deciding between the gorgeous bath or the fabulous 'rain' shower! And the room is impeccably fitted out... Gretel and Tony have really thought of everything.

Breakfasts were divine, Gretel can 'play with our bellies' anytime!

Bellbird was a great base for exploring Bermagui (which it turns out is quite a culinary hot spot, who knew?) and the surrounding areas. We will definitely be back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SharonB712a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. I'll be looking forward to tempting you with some new treats on your next visit. :)
Cheers
Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I made the mistake of staying only one night at Bellbird on our way from Melbourne to Sydney and I had real trouble leaving this property :) Everything was beautiful, the room (we got take-out for dinner just to enjoy it a little longer), the view from the room and bathroom, the surroundings.. Gretel and Tony really thought of everything, they were a very warm and pleasant couple. I hope to get back to Bellbird and stay longer in the future, wish we didn't live so far..
We also had a chance to see migrating whales from the Blue Pools on our way out of Bermagui thanks to Gretel's suggestion..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gulin_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Many thanks for your lovely review. We got such a chuckle out of you wanting to send your beloved husband on alone but hope you enjoyed the rest of your onward journey. We hope you will be able to make it back to Australia sometime and will look forward to welcoming and settling you back in to Bellbird :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Bellbird Cottage was exactly what we were after! It was the perfect place to reconnect and unwind. The renovated bathroom was especially lovely and indulgent. Though it was all the little touches that will make us come back - from the welcome cheese board, the range of tea and coffee and fluffy robes, to the chocolates on the pillows, Gretel & Tony have thought of everything! Would very highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review. I get so much enjoyment from creating the little touches which are always changing, and I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. We'll look forward to welcoming you again to our home and Bermagui. Regards Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We were very impressed with this establishment from our first email contact with the owners. In fact they were so welcoming that on the basis of our email contact we extended our stay even before we had arrived! We were met by one of the owners, Gretel, with an open smile and infectious enthusiasm nicely matched by the “Garden Room” where we were staying. The room was spacious, lovingly decorated and well furnished with a large King-Sized bed, armchairs, small fridge, TV/DVD cupboard and timber chest of drawers. Timber was a deliberate feature of the room and house to fit in with the natural bush setting. The ensuite was somewhat cramped but that we were informed is being remedied this year and plans are well advanced. All around Bellbird are large numbers of bellbirds with their tinkling call which was a welcomed accompaniment to our time there, much better than the sound of traffic. The breakfasts were excellent with enough there to be used for morning tea if you so desired. The cheese platter provided on our second night was of outstanding local cheeses and more than enough for two. Outstanding hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JSee7214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TranquilityAustralia, Owner at Bellbird Cottage B&B, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review and wonderful comments in the guest book. We always love to hear how much guests enjoy their stay. Yes you are correct we have an ensuite extension that is commencing very soon. The new ensuite will include both a bath and a double shower all with extensive views to the woodland to match the guest room. We will also be launching a new 'Indulgences' selection which will be aimed at our 2 favourite things, relaxation and food. We'll be very much looking forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Gretel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is an amazing room with a view that you won't expect. The owners are lovely, friendly people who bend over backwards to make sure you have the best stay. This is a top find and is a must do if you are traveling between Sydney, Melbourne or Canberra and want some real peace and tranquility!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dougleface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bermagui
1.5 mi away
Beachview Motel
Beachview Motel
#1 of 1 in Bermagui
23 reviews
1.2 mi away
Harbourview Motel
Harbourview Motel
#1 of 3 in Bermagui
81 reviews
1.6 mi away
South Coast Holiday Park Bermagui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Captain's Quarters Bermagui
4.5 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Ocean Lake
7.8 mi away
Saltwater @ Narooma
Saltwater @ Narooma
#2 of 2 in Tilba Tilba
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbird Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbird Cottage B&B

Property: Bellbird Cottage B&B
Address: 88 Nutleys Creek Rd, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bermagui
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bermagui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bellbird Cottage B&B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bellbird Cottage B&B is a lovely, multi award winning, AAA rated 4.5 Stars B&B, in the stunning seaside town of Bermagui. Set amongst a wooded forest, wake to the sound of bird song while being only a skip away from the beaches and harbour. Ideally suited to guests who enjoy a more private stay. Guests have private entrance and garden area. The Woodland suite is luxurious and spacious with uninterrupted views. King size bed, TV/DVD, comfy chairs, breakfast table and large en-suite with corner bath, picture window and double shower. You can be assured of a warm welcome and the little special touches you hope for in a B&B. Breakfasts are served in your room or can be enjoyed in your private garden area. Dine out at one enjoy one of our lovely restaurants Harbourside or in town. Guests can also choose to dine in with a local produce inspired platter. For the ultimate indulgence why not relax with an in room massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bellbird Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing