We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home - A Little Gem !!”
Review of Harbourview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbourview Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bermagui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A well earned Chrissy break at this little gem was a sancturary away from home with all the conveniences of well appointed, spacious and meticulously well kept clean rooms. Everything is there for you to enjoy a great break. Key highlights for us was the private courtyards with our own BBQ facility, kitchette with bar fridge, microwave, sink and benchtop, plenty of spacious parking and welcoming reception facilities. Then at the end of the day, theres a flat screen TV and DVD to help you wind down from a day of excellent touring, beaching, hiking, fishing, boating and shopping. The town boasts some gorgeous coffee shops,restaurants and park/playground facilities along this little seaside town. A big plus was how centrally located the motel is right across the harbour and bang smack in the middle of town. This motel is definitely the pick of the crop compared to other accommodation in the town. You can't go wrong with this one !!!

Room Tip: Book early so you are not dissapointed with no vacancies !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyLeo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing comment about our Motel. What more can we say but Thank you and hope that you will visit us again shortly. Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Harbourview Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights here as a sanity break after Christmas and to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We were very pleased to find how big the room was and how well set up, with a well-equipped kitchenette and a bbq area in a little terrace at the back where we had our breakfasts, pre-dinner drinks and dinner the first night (the bbq worked very well and it is great having a bbq for each room). Carol and Graham were very friendly and helpful and we had a very relaxing and fun few days. Comfortable bed, big bathroom, all very clean and comfortable. We didn't need to use the aircon but it looked very effective. Location is great with some good eating places within walking distance including the Country Club next door and the seafood cafe (takeaway and eat in - byo) where we had dinner the last night and breakfast next morning. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good. No traffic noise or noise from other rooms. We had a downstairs room which wa...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieoldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 6, 2013

It is always our intention to satisfy our guests and when we read responses as kind as yours we know that we are doing something right. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish you both another wonderful 25 years of happiness together. Hopefully you won't wait so long to return, perhaps you'll visit for your next Anniversary in 2013.
Kind Regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a getaway weekend at this Motel. I was pleasantly surprised to find how centrally located the Motel was. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed. The owners were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and happy to answer any questions we had. Well worth a visit, wish we had more time to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded January 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Continuing to provide the excellence in accommodation that you our guests deserve is not an easy task and your positive responses make our efforts worth while. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just completed a most unpleasant 2 night stay at this hotel. The positives are that it is in a good location and it is well maintained. However the price is ridiculously high. The biggest problem is that the owner have placed signs throughout the property and rooms with "do's" and "dont's" that make you feel like an unwanted guest in an army barracks. I travel for around 100 nights per year and have never seen anything like this.
More than that, it was the attitude of the owners that make you feel unwelcome. Nothing like walking into reception to see a sign "We dont lower our standards, so dont ask us to lower our price" and then in the bedroom "$33 charge if you use the single bed in your room"

The owners are also quite rude. They reserve the right to throw you out for doing almost anything. We asked if we could pay 50% for a late checkout (which is standard in most parts of the world). They wanted 100% or we had to be out before 10am.

My tip - Our friend is a regular at the anchorage motel. We didnt stay there as all the apartments are 2 bedroom and the website does not look appealing. Their rooms were far nicer, including a full kitchen and the price was $60 less despite being bigger!

Room Tip: Stay at the anchorage motel instead
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatingAdventures88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 4, 2012

We are disappointed to hear that you felt regimented or offended during your stay with us. Unhappy guests are never our intention. I'd like to address your comments and hope you can appreciate our explanations. Upon arrival we explained we have power saving keys for each unit and find our guests have always appreciated us taking them to their rooms as a courtesy to demonstrate. The sign you mentioned on the reception desk refers to our inability to reduce rates so we can maintain our commitment to quality. You made your booking online and had accepted our tariff before arrival. Our rooms are very spacious with kitchenettes and provide much more than normal Motel rooms. We cannot be compared with an apartment or holiday unit as suggested by you, as we are a Motel and our facilities are explained fully on our website. Your feedback mentioned our charge for an additional person. You registered 2 persons only, requiring one queen bed. However you did have a child and we did not charge you the extra charge. Large Accommodation chains employ staff 24hrs per day and are able to allow half day checkouts. We are a small country Motel and as explained at the time cannot afford to pay Sunday penalty rates for half day checkouts. We appreciate your feedback and assure you all of your comments have been considered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A professional couple from mid north coast who have lived & travelled extensively domestically and overseas( incl Asia, UK, Western Europe & Canada).
This is the second time I've stayed (in 3 years) looking for a holiday break from work.... Found this hotel very well located being walking distance to restaurants & shops, our room was exceptionally clean, but I did feel the host's initial insistence of personally wanting to explain how to operate the AC , TV & directions of where to park my car a little condescending. The hosts seem on top of everything though, which I think would ensure there's no undesirables... which is a big plus for me.
Aside from that, the $155 charge through wotif seemed a fair price for what you get.
I was happy the first time I stayed, and again on this occasion, so I'm happy to recommend this hotel to those staying in Bermagui....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 13, 2012

Thank you for visiting us a second time and hope you will continue to return again . Most of our guests find that the unusual personal touch of meeting them in their unit and explaining the use of the TV, AC, etc is refreshing and welcomed, instead of them fumbling to find out how everything works, as every Motel doesn't function the same. We also try to ensure that guests are parked as close to their unit as possible. We apologise if you felt that it was condescending, which is the last thing we would want our guests to feel. Please feel free to advise us on your next visit that you do not require to be taken to your room.
Kind Regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cute hotel room, very quite, comfortable bed and pillow, shower pressure was a little low otherwise great. Hotel staff gave great advice on where to get dinner on a Tuesday night as everything seemed to be closed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 1, 2012

So pleased that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Our shower heads regulate water pressure because of our commitment to the environmental responsibility of water usage. When visiting us next time we hope that our efforts will improve your stay. Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a wonderful find! The room was definitely 5 star accommodation, a very spacious room, well appointed bathroom, kitchenette and bbq on the rear balcony. The owners were very knowledgeable on the surrounding areas and very pleasant and personable Would not look past the Harbourview Motel if in Bermagui again.

Room Tip: The upstairs units have a lovely view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 1, 2012

We always try to ensure that our guests have every opportunity to explore all aspects of our beautiful town and area. If you didn't have time to see everything this trip plan another visit we would love to welcome you back to experience more. Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bermagui
21.3 mi away
Tathra Beach House
Tathra Beach House
#1 of 1 in Tathra
128 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bryn at Tilba
The Bryn at Tilba
#1 of 2 in Tilba Tilba
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachview Motel
Beachview Motel
#1 of 1 in Bermagui
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bermagui Motor Inn
Bermagui Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Bermagui
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellbird Cottage B&B
Bellbird Cottage B&B
#1 of 3 in Bermagui
92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Regatta Point Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Motel

Address: 56 - 58 Lamont St, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bermagui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bermagui
Price Range: $145 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only multi award winning 4 star AAA accredited motel in Bermagui with 15 beautifully presented modern spacious units - some upstairs, some downstairs & the Ajiro Japanese Restaurant enviably located directly opposite Bermagui Harbour Fisherman's Wharf with more restaurants, fresh seafood, wine bar, gelati & gift shops. Also next door to Country Club 18 hole golf course opened 7 days for golf, tennis, bowls, TAB & restaurant etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harbourview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing