We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run like an army barracks”
Review of Harbourview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbourview Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Bermagui B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just completed a most unpleasant 2 night stay at this hotel. The positives are that it is in a good location and it is well maintained. However the price is ridiculously high. The biggest problem is that the owner have placed signs throughout the property and rooms with "do's" and "dont's" that make you feel like an unwanted guest in an army barracks. I travel for around 100 nights per year and have never seen anything like this.
More than that, it was the attitude of the owners that make you feel unwelcome. Nothing like walking into reception to see a sign "We dont lower our standards, so dont ask us to lower our price" and then in the bedroom "$33 charge if you use the single bed in your room"

The owners are also quite rude. They reserve the right to throw you out for doing almost anything. We asked if we could pay 50% for a late checkout (which is standard in most parts of the world). They wanted 100% or we had to be out before 10am.

My tip - Our friend is a regular at the anchorage motel. We didnt stay there as all the apartments are 2 bedroom and the website does not look appealing. Their rooms were far nicer, including a full kitchen and the price was $60 less despite being bigger!

Room Tip: Stay at the anchorage motel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatingAdventures88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 4, 2012

We are disappointed to hear that you felt regimented or offended during your stay with us. Unhappy guests are never our intention. I'd like to address your comments and hope you can appreciate our explanations. Upon arrival we explained we have power saving keys for each unit and find our guests have always appreciated us taking them to their rooms as a courtesy to demonstrate. The sign you mentioned on the reception desk refers to our inability to reduce rates so we can maintain our commitment to quality. You made your booking online and had accepted our tariff before arrival. Our rooms are very spacious with kitchenettes and provide much more than normal Motel rooms. We cannot be compared with an apartment or holiday unit as suggested by you, as we are a Motel and our facilities are explained fully on our website. Your feedback mentioned our charge for an additional person. You registered 2 persons only, requiring one queen bed. However you did have a child and we did not charge you the extra charge. Large Accommodation chains employ staff 24hrs per day and are able to allow half day checkouts. We are a small country Motel and as explained at the time cannot afford to pay Sunday penalty rates for half day checkouts. We appreciate your feedback and assure you all of your comments have been considered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A professional couple from mid north coast who have lived & travelled extensively domestically and overseas( incl Asia, UK, Western Europe & Canada).
This is the second time I've stayed (in 3 years) looking for a holiday break from work.... Found this hotel very well located being walking distance to restaurants & shops, our room was exceptionally clean, but I did feel the host's initial insistence of personally wanting to explain how to operate the AC , TV & directions of where to park my car a little condescending. The hosts seem on top of everything though, which I think would ensure there's no undesirables... which is a big plus for me.
Aside from that, the $155 charge through wotif seemed a fair price for what you get.
I was happy the first time I stayed, and again on this occasion, so I'm happy to recommend this hotel to those staying in Bermagui....

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 13, 2012

Thank you for visiting us a second time and hope you will continue to return again . Most of our guests find that the unusual personal touch of meeting them in their unit and explaining the use of the TV, AC, etc is refreshing and welcomed, instead of them fumbling to find out how everything works, as every Motel doesn't function the same. We also try to ensure that guests are parked as close to their unit as possible. We apologise if you felt that it was condescending, which is the last thing we would want our guests to feel. Please feel free to advise us on your next visit that you do not require to be taken to your room.
Kind Regards Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cute hotel room, very quite, comfortable bed and pillow, shower pressure was a little low otherwise great. Hotel staff gave great advice on where to get dinner on a Tuesday night as everything seemed to be closed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 1, 2012

So pleased that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. Our shower heads regulate water pressure because of our commitment to the environmental responsibility of water usage. When visiting us next time we hope that our efforts will improve your stay. Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a wonderful find! The room was definitely 5 star accommodation, a very spacious room, well appointed bathroom, kitchenette and bbq on the rear balcony. The owners were very knowledgeable on the surrounding areas and very pleasant and personable Would not look past the Harbourview Motel if in Bermagui again.

Room Tip: The upstairs units have a lovely view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 1, 2012

We always try to ensure that our guests have every opportunity to explore all aspects of our beautiful town and area. If you didn't have time to see everything this trip plan another visit we would love to welcome you back to experience more. Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Very clean and well maintained with more than you expect in a motel room. Our large room had a kitchenette with microwave and small private balcony with BBQ.

As the name suggests it has a view of the harbour and is only a short walk to the shops and beach.

A gem!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeeGeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 1, 2012

Positive comments rewarding our hard work to keep up standards are always appreciated
Thank you kindly
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

very friendly, down-to-earth hosts, very efficient. Centrally located in the town and very convenient with your own vehicle. Very spacious, well-equipped and spotless room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalston-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 1, 2012

Whilst initially trained and overseen by the us, our cleaners deserve the credit.
Thank you for your kind words
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My wife and i recently spent a night in the Harbourview Motel, Bermagui. The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious, and the grounds were immaculate. The location is excellent, with the harbour, beaches, shops and country club all within easy walking distance. The owners were friendly and helpful. Bermagui is a beautiful little town, and we will definitely be staying at the Harbourview again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 1, 2012

Success in provideing good accommodation is not an easy task and your comments are an excellent reward. Looking forward to your return visit
Thank you kindly
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bermagui
21.3 mi away
Tathra Beach House
Tathra Beach House
#1 of 1 in Tathra
129 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Bryn at Tilba
The Bryn at Tilba
#1 of 2 in Tilba Tilba
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beachview Motel
Beachview Motel
#1 of 1 in Bermagui
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bermagui Motor Inn
Bermagui Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Bermagui
81 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Ocean Lake
0.7 mi away
Captain's Quarters Townhouses Bermagui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbourview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbourview Motel

Address: 56 - 58 Lamont St, Bermagui, New South Wales 2546, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bermagui
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bermagui
Price Range: $142 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only multi award winning 4 star AAA accredited motel in Bermagui with 15 beautifully presented modern spacious units - some upstairs, some downstairs & the Ajiro Japanese Restaurant enviably located directly opposite Bermagui Harbour Fisherman's Wharf with more restaurants, fresh seafood, wine bar, gelati & gift shops. Also next door to Country Club 18 hole golf course opened 7 days for golf, tennis, bowls, TAB & restaurant etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Harbourview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing