We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class food, first class service, friendly staff, tops all round.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salina Restaurant

Salina Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Belmont
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Italian with gourmet pizzas
1 review
“First class food, first class service, friendly staff, tops all round.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Ate here tonight and we were delighted with the food. Haven't enjoyed a dining experience like this for such a long time. In fact we gave up going out to dinner a long time ago due to many disappointing meals. Credit where credit's due. We are travelling so won't enjoy the experience again but we certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for well cooked food with taste.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hameldaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Robert & the crew at Salina have got it all going on.
Something special...something simple...its all there.
We had our wedding reception at this venue 2 years ago & it was magic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank newycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Speers Point, Australia
Level Contributor
549 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Great spot but better in the old location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Food here is great and service levels hard to beat but the new location in the Belmont CBD does not stack up in terms of atmosphere against the old location down at marks Point. Great menu!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Don't judge the place by it's inconspicuous street front. It is a warm and inviting place. The service is attentive and restrained. I had the gnocchi with leek, gorgonzola and walnut sauce, which was very generously sized as a main, the gnocchi easily ceded to the bite, the sauce was flvoursome, with each component shining through. My wife had the veal with provolone and eggplant, which was good, although the breadcrumb coasting was a little dark for my liking. Our companions had the penne and the fish, both of which were flavoursome and generous. There were many more options on the menu that I could have chosen - soft shell crab, pizzas, scallops. The desserts looked good, but we did not have any as we were too full. Nice to offer BYO.

A couple of suggestions: The quality of the bread to start could be improved. It was soft and generic. A nice crusty loaf with some texture and flavour would be better.
The specials board looked a little shabby. No need to deviate from the classic chalkboard in my opinion.
The large clock projected onto the wall could be seen as slightly offputting, but can't be seen from most of the restaurant.

We later realised that there was a large outdoor dining area that would be good for kids.
We will be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zedscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food and Byo was a good extra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

We went here with our two adult children and had great meals. My wife had the prawns in a tomato sauce and she loved it. I shared the Italian sausage pizza and 2 of the pastas with my kids and we could not fault any of them , they were fantastic.
The service was great and being byo was a added bonus and reasonable corkage .
We all walked out full and satisfied.....

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank granttoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salina Restaurant also viewed

 
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
Belmont, Lake Macquarie
 

Been to Salina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing