We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't recommend Cabin 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmont Bayview Caravan Park
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I don't recommend Cabin 2”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in the 2 bedroom 'Cabin 2' for 2 nights in Dec '13. The only air-con (old style) is in the main bedroom at the rear of the cabin and the cool air does not reach the lounge room at the front of the cabin even after many hours. They don't tell you that the wi-fi only works in the lounge room and not in either bedroom. There were cockroaches visibly running about in the kitchen/lounge if you went in that room at night after lights out. I had read reviews warning about the rude staff but decided not to heed them. I found the staff friendly and professional except the manager's wife (?), my experience was that she was very rude, almost as if she didn't realise she was working in a customer service industry. Spa bath had great pressure and was very relaxing. The oven is gas. Great location near the lake.

Room Tip: Don't choose cabin 2 if you want/need internet access in bedrooms, as it only works in lounge ro...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LBJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
17
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed in this park three times because it is brilliantly located very near lovely Lake Macquarie and very well priced. Our own experience of reception staff and management has been exemplary, and the facilities (amenities, camp kitchen, swimming pool, laundry) are clean and well appointed. Caravan sites however are not up to the same standard as many others we have stayed in. The park seems to have ongoing problems with drainage, tap (water supply fittings) leak and sites are ill-defined and uneven. Access is tight onto some sites. The negatives made us consider an alternative park for our third visit to the area, however price trumped so we returned, and we would again if the need arose.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bronwyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed in a cabin while doing business in the area. Turned out to be a great recreation location as well as a sparkling clean and secure accommodation very well equipped with the essentials. Staff and management were always friendly and helpful - a big advantage if you are not familiar with the locality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I spent the long weekend at the Belmont Bayview Caravan Park. The cabins were clean, neat and had everything we needed. The pool and BBQ area were also nice. The location is good. It is really close to the 16 footers (were we had a nice dinner), its opposite the lake and a just a quick drive to some great beaches (recommend Caves!!). Overall this caravan park has everything you need and is in a good location to explore Newcastle and the lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birchy993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had a family reunion in Belmont. This park has lots of cabins we had about 15 of them and there is a camp kitchen area that we could all meet and eat in. Close to the shops. Great beaches in the are and a huge lake across the road. The cabins were clean and neat and the park has a great family feel. We would recommend this park.

Room Tip: Loved the spa cabin near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Tony smith who runs the place is very rude and hung up on me several times when I rang to make enquiries. Over the phone I was told there was no availability but online there was. We made a booking but had no way to confirm it was correct until we were contacted hours later asking when we were checking in. No apologies for lying to me or hanging up on me or shouting at me.
If you stay here do everything online and don't deal with tony smith!!
If he treats the caravan place the way he treats customers then it must be a dump!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Bek02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robyn S, General Manager at Belmont Bayview Caravan Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
All Belmont Bayview Park cabins contain kitchens and bathrooms Our business places its highest priority on the cleanliness of these cabins. Therefore the Belmont Baayview Park has a minimum booking of 2 days to cover these very high cleaning costs.. I notice that you rang us on three separate occasions trying to make a one night booking. Tony our manager explained to you our minimum nights policy on each occasion. It is not economic for us to take a one night booking. I am sorry that you feel this is unfair but it is a decison we made many years ago and is suppored by our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my family in a spa cabin for five nights. The best thing was being close to the lake and main st. The downs sides were the AC was at the other end of the cabin, cockroaches, no bath towels replaced during the week and bed sheets were like paper. But it wasn't too expensive to stay there

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErinS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
1.0 mi away
Squid's Ink Hotel
Squid's Ink Hotel
#4 of 5 in Belmont
77 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Belmont Palms Motel
Belmont Palms Motel
#2 of 6 in Belmont
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aquarius Motel Belmont
Aquarius Motel Belmont
#3 of 5 in Belmont
53 reviews
5.1 mi away
Caves Beachside Hotel
Caves Beachside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caves Beach
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gunyah Hotel
Gunyah Hotel
#6 of 6 in Belmont
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmont Bayview Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont Bayview Caravan Park

Property: Belmont Bayview Caravan Park
Address: 1 Gerald St, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Belmont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belmont Bayview Caravan Park 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belmont Bayview Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Bayview Caravan Park Lake Macquarie, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing