We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little touch of India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belmont
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have stayed here a few times before and the managers always made me feel at home. Now the motor inn is under new management and sadly that has all changed. The rooms are quite large, nothing fancy but comfortable and the location good although on a busy road. When it comes to service, unfortunately the new managers offer as little as possible. When we had a problem with our room they would rather argue than simply fix the problem.

The drains in the bathroom had a strong smell that I have not encountered since my last trip to India. A trick I discovered from my traveling companion was to fold a wet washer in half and place over the drain to stop the smell coming into the room. This also works on smelly drains in Australia. Of course the alternate is to use a bit of bleach to actually clean the thing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontOwner, Owner at Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thankyou for your comments regarding your recent stay at our Motor Inn. As with most businesses we encourage feedback from our guests, be they positive or negative. Any problems that guests find with our Motor Inn are always taken seriously as this is a reflection on us as Owners.
As this review is our first negative review we were truly shocked when we read your review, we are new to the accomodation industry are still learning the ropes. Regarding your comments,
at no time were any of these matters bought to our attention during the time of your stay, as with all our guests our last comment on check in is to ask you to let us know if you need anything or if anything is not to your satisfaction.
In regards to arguing about fixing any problems you may have had with your room, we had no problems bought to our attention from any guest at all. We would never argue with a guest who has a legitimate complaint as we are in a service industry we understand that our guests expect and are entitled to quality service for their money.
I assure you that our drains are cleaned and disinfected regularly as we are in a low lying area at sea level this is something that all Motels in this area must do. Again, if this problem had been addressed at the time of your stay we would have ensured it was rectified immediately.
We were very disappointed to read your comments through this third party and did not address this directly with us either during your stay or on check out.
It is always easier I suppose to make negative comments online anonymously rather than address them to the accommodation provider who unfortunately has no chance to converse with you to rectify any problems.
Since taking over the Motor Inn 8 months ago we have had many many positive comments about our efforts here and am sure that this will be a learning curve for us as well.
We are sorry that you were not happy with our service but if we do not know we cannot fix it.
Kind Regards
Jodie - Owner - Lakeview Motor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2011

We have previously reviewed this hotel very positively under previous management. There are new managers now and we have stayed twice since and you can see a difference and not for the better.....

Our room while very clean had a strong smell in the bathroom that seemed to be coming from the drains. The towels now seem to be of lesser quality. The service is now barely passable..... I think there is just not the attention to detail and experience here now.

Contact with the managers is really just perfunctory that is routine and with little interest or care. When, on our previous visit, we reported our room was only half cleaned and the bed left unmade and the dishes in the sink, the response was disappointing.

So, with some sadness I am downgrading my earlier report. Friendly service DOES make a difference! When we stayed here before, it was like staying with friends!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BelmontOwner, Owner at Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thankyou "Wingrider" for your comments regarding your stay at our Motor Inn. Unfortunately it seems that your stay with us was not a positive one. We would like to address your comments so that people thinking about coming to stay with us do not think that these comments are a true reflection of our Motor Inn and our service.
When any business changes hands there is always a settling in period and peoples personalities may differ from the previous owners. As my husband and myself are new to the accommodation industry, we still have alot to learn and can only do this by feedback from our Guests, though we would rather do this face to face rather than online. We would have been only too happy to listen to your concerns during your stay or on check out so that they could have been dealt with there and then rather than this impersonal manner.
When staying at our Motor Inn any contact with Guests is at the Guests discretion as we feel that you are obviously away from home for rest and relaxation and deserve your privacy. Our Guests are ALWAYS greeted with a smile and made to feel welcome.
In regards to your first stay with us, on your door you have a Please make up my room and you have a Do not Disturb sign which slides over to whichever you prefer. In this case, your Do not Disturb was showing so your room did not get serviced by our staff, which was explained to you when you raised the matter. When you bought this to our attention we apologised for the confusion and set about servicing your room, which I did myself.
In regards to you saying the towels were of lesser quality, all of our towels and linen were replaced within the first few months of us taking over by the same supplier of the previous owners with the exact same quality. Our cleaning staff are the same cleaning staff who have serviced your room on previous visits both with us and the previous owners and I assure you that both their standards and ours are very high.
Yes, we did have trouble with one of the upstairs drains the previous owners pointed out to us when we took over but we have since rectified this problem.
As for experience, no, we do not have alot of experience but we are striving to learn and improve in this very demanding industry. Friendly service does indeed make a difference and the positive comments we receive on our Guest Surveys, to our staff and to ourselves far outweigh the 2 negatives that you feel you have experienced.
We are very sorry that you are one of the few who have not enjoyed your stay with us but we have certainly taken your comments on board and would like to think that you havent discouraged other travellers from having a positive experience at our Motor Inn.
Kind Regards
Jodie-Owner- Lakeview Motor Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We just booked a one night stay via Wotif as we were going to a concert (Diesel) at the Belmont 16 foot sailing club and wanted to be able to relax and not worry about driving home. We were very happy with the room, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed, views of the lake and breakfast provided in the cost. The owners are very friendly and obliging, were happy to provide fresh milk instead of UHT. If you were staying for a longer period there is a microwave and utensils in the room. We would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We recently stayed at this property for the purpose of an "away" netball carnival, we booked one of the family rooms, which comfortably housed us all, 2 adults and 2 children, it also had a separate fold out double sofa, so you could have had an additional 2 sleeping in the room for no extra cost. The room was clean and well appointed for the price point. My only criticism would be that it only had one bathroom, all contained. No separate toilet. So mornings were difficult with everyone needing to shower and no access to toilet. We were also given a room which was on the ground floor, and found that upstairs guests were noisy coming up and down the stairs adjacent to our room, so I would recommend, if you book one of these rooms, the rear rooms away from the road would be better, or the upstairs larger rooms. Also parking is extremely tight, with one entrance and one (rear) exit, so if you have boats or trailers, you will not be able to get them onto the property. The road noise can be heard from the rooms, so if your a light sleeper, insist on a rear room which faces a quieter cul-de-sac, rather than the main road. Staff were friendly and courteous. All in all, good value for money for what you get. Tea and coffee facilities in the room a welcome addition. clean towels and linnen as well.

Room Tip: For couples/singles rear rooms are better/quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank belrusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We have stayed here twice now and both times we have really enjoyed our stay.

The rooms are fastidiously clean and well planned and fitted out.

The owners are friendly, efficient and very pleasant to deal with.

While we were in the newer rooms once with a spa, the older rooms look fine and would be good value for business travel.

A nice convenient location for our family visits.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
0.8 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Squid's Ink Hotel
Squid's Ink Hotel
#4 of 4 in Belmont
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
107 reviews
7 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
431 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont

Address: 749 Pacific Hwy | Lake Macquarie, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Belmont
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range: $75 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont Lake Macquarie, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing