We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Squid's Ink Hotel

Squid's Ink Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Squid's Ink Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Terrible hotel. We paid $170 for a spa room. Out of three lamps only one was working. We didn't use the spa as it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in the past year. The fake eyelash stuck on the bathroom wall where the spa was confirmed that. Tissue holder held just and empty box, no tissues.

The fridge was disgusting, filthy and had a half drunk bottle of drink left in it which had gone moldy. This was proof they do not pride themselves high on cleanliness.

When checking in the person was rude. We asked for another room, and was advised there were none, as they were fully booked. Only 4 cars that evening, nowhere near fully booked.

Nobody there when trying to check out. Rang the number on the office door, nobody answered.

Seriously, don't stay here, disgusting filthy motel. Also traffic noise from the hwy is LOUD.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, my only tip I can give you. Run, run and keep running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    12
    10
    23
See reviews for
16
24
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Overpriced! No restaurant facilities. Poor housekeeping- toilet 'sealed' but not cleaned, 1/4 roll of toilet paper and no replacement, 2 tissues in the box in the bathroom! As far as kitchenware ware- no glasses, 1 individual potion of milk so not enough to have a cup of tea for both of us. A freezer in the little fridge but no ice trays! Weird hanging rack in the bedroom as there was no wardrobe.
Plenty of hooks in the bathroom and good pillows on the bed.

Room Tip: Lakeside essential- quieter than being on the highway side and nice view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShelleyCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belmont hotels

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Squids Ink at Belmont is a major disappointment. The reality is nothing like the pics on web.
Rang to say we would be late checking in and were told "I can't find your booking". The man was just plain rude. When we did check in he was even ruder. Couldn't have cared less. Next morning there was no one there to check out.
Found out that the previous weekend they had just closed the function room despite having a wedding booked in.
The rooms did not look like the internet pics and the courtyard view was a view of the car park. Way too pricey for what we got, will never stay there again and do not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
3 Thank 195Alison1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great value for money and position.
Some traffic was heard in the night but the owners were very nice and friendly . Our check in and check out times were very flexible which accommodated our needs perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Booled on line.
No one at reception , no on room instruction booklet, no Foxtel remote so poor TV 4 channels. Not even a glass to drink from, 1 fork 1 spoon ( room for 2) . Old bathroom . No working Wifi ( and no reception to ask) small , tired room , overpriced

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooksflyfishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolwarra, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Lake view room, very tired rooms, old bathroom and cruddy old tv set... Has an outdoor area and small wharf viewing the lake which is beautiful, but the tired old rooms and bathrooms are certain disappointing. Bedding and mattress is of modern standard and had a great sleep however, would return just for the wharf and sleep quality....

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

OK so its a cheap place to stay but when I mean cheap I mean the entire hotel should be demolished. The rooms are extremely small and very very tired. Old fittings, old everything. There is no food available either at dinner or more surprisingly breakfast which makes it a bit hard when you have a big day ahead of you, so you need to find somewhere else to eat as soon as you leave. On checkout at 8:00am I had to call the main hotel number as the entire hotel was locked up as the people who run the hotel were not out of bed yet, so I had to wait downstairs for 10mins before I could checkout. The lady couldn't even print me off an invoice, all she could do is give me a receipt from credit card machine, a bit difficult for work.
The location on the banks of the lake is wonderful but totally spoilt by this hotel, it could be such a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Belmont - too bad. Just forget it.

Room Tip: if you're going to stay there ask for a room on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmont
1.0 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
9.0 mi away
Bay Hotel Motel
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Palms Motel
Belmont Palms Motel
#2 of 6 in Belmont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeview Motor Inn Belmont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Squid's Ink Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squid's Ink Hotel

Property: Squid's Ink Hotel
Address: 690 Pacific Hwy, Belmont, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2280, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Belmont
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Belmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Squid's Ink Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Squids Ink is set on the shores of the picturesque Lake Macquarie, a mere 90 minutes north of the Sydney CBD. Squids Ink has 10 Waterfront rooms, 14 Courtyard rooms, 2 Spa Suites and a Veranda Suite. Our gourmet restaurant is open for lunch and dinner Tuesday thru Saturday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Squid's Ink Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Squid's Ink Hotel Belmont, Lake Macquarie, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing