We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf week experience with friends”
Review of El Sierra Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Sierra Motel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf week experience with friends”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

arrived from sydney the day before our golf package was to start. all arrangements ie golf cards and dinner vouchers were prepared. staff made every effort to welcome our party and ensured we moved into our rooms with minimal fuss. we all traveled with our dogs and had no problems with making arrangements for their bedding and comfort at night. We BBQ'd several nights and staff could not have been more accommodating with all the arrangements etc. we will effeminately take time to do the golf package again.

Room Tip: all rooms are well appointed and in good condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Waverley, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I went to Barooga,by myself, to relax. The room was very clean, and the staff (Buddy the dog included) were very friendly & polite. Unfortunately there was no where comfortable to sit. The choice was a bed, kitchen chair or backless bar stool that was too high for the bench. The toilet was the noisiest toilet I have ever come across & there was an awful smell coming from the drain after using the basin or showering. I thought it pointless having a sign that requested you have short showers & yet the toilet was not dual flush. The breakfast room was very quaint, with much interesting eclectic memorabilia, but the plastic table clothes, and toasters had seen better days. I didn't want to drive around all day & I don't play golf. Just wanted to vege out, so ended up going elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was the 8th time I had been on a golfing trip with a group of ladies from Churchill Park Golf Club (outer Melbourne). Michael & Kristen, as always, were very accommodating and went out of their way to assist when the weather was a little inclement. We played golf at Cobram, as well as Yarrawonga & Tocumwal, which forms part of our deal. Booking & deposit already made for next year's sojourn. That should say it all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandKarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review for us. Michael and I are so glad that the entire group had a great stay.( From the laughter in the breakfast room i'm sure you were enjoying yourselves!) We look forward to seeing you all again next May. Kristen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I had 4 nights at El Sierra and enjoyed. Rooms were clean, staff friendly, nice quite location as is well of main road. Plent of parking space and nice grass areas. Would stay there again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hi Shane,
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your time here at the El Sierra and got to relax. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have had two 3-night breaks at El Sierra now, and plan many more. Thank you for your warm welcome Kristen, and your pleasant and friendly approach. It was good to see that Buddy has his own pet cat now! My wife and I are not golfers/bowlers, but enjoy trips around the Murray towns and the retail therapy of Barooga and the nearby centres. The evening bus to the ""Sporties" was very convenient, and Kristen's booking of the pick up most welcome.
In all, my wife and I find it difficult to remember a more relaxed and welcoming venue, and we tour quite a bit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for those kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed your time spent at the El Sierra. Buddy and his pet cat Teddy are very entertaining! We look forward to seeing you again, join us on Facebook as I sometimes put specials on there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Just 3 hrs away from Melbourne. Don't expect 4-5 stars treatment but if you're in to try a new place, why not try El Sierra. Cabins are quite clean and the standard triple rooms can get you a queen and two single beds for the kids. There's a pool, a tennis court and a BBQ to cook all that meat. It's close to the Cobram city centre and shops. There's a golf course nearby too. There's a few to go around including the cactus country and feel like you're in Mexico or Arizona, try the strawberry shakes at the big strawberry and grab some wines from Monichino in Katunga. In Cobram-Barooga, everything seems so slow so this is perfect for gettiing away froom the city hustle and bustle. Staff are friendly and the dog too. You get what you pay for. That is, you pay for a motel experience not a hotel. And they live up to their motel category. What's best is the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your Easter Break and that you experienced some of the local delights such as the wineries and the Big Strawberry! Their homemade strawberry ice cream is the best! They must use it in their shakes! We hope you visit us again.
Kristen and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have been organising a group for 16 years on a trip to play golf on the mUrray and we have always stayed at El Sierra. It has been easy to book and they have taken care of all the course booking etc. It is great value for money and a very comfortable and welcoming venue to stay and enjoy the Murray golf.

Steve F

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElSierra, Manager at El Sierra Motel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and its great to hear that we can continue to provide your group a great golf package that sees you return again and again. We look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barooga
0.7 mi away
Sportsmans Motor Inn
Sportsmans Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Barooga
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barooga Golf View Motel
Barooga Golf View Motel
#2 of 3 in Barooga
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cobram Barooga Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Motel Barooga
Sunrise Motel Barooga
#1 of 3 in Barooga
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
RACV Cobram Resort
RACV Cobram Resort
#1 of 4 in Cobram
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cobram Barooga Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sierra Motel

Property: El Sierra Motel
Address: 183 Golf Course Rd, Barooga, New South Wales 3644, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Barooga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Barooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Sierra Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sierra with 41 quality, self-contained and family units, provides better class accommodation designed to make your stay in Cobram/Barooga relaxing and enjoyable. A holiday you will want to experience again and again. Just across the road from the Golf Club clubhouse and a stroll form the Sports Club. Placed in the middle of two superb golf courses, El Sierra is centrally located to all great golf courses along the Murray and is the perfect base for enjoying some of the best golf on Australia. Brilliant weather and a host of attractions on Australia's renowned Murray River. We specialise in All inclusive Multi-Course Golf Packages along the Murray. Prices start at $69 per person per day. Includes Golf, accommodation, breakfasts, evening dinners at the clubs. You play Cobram/Barooga, Yarrawonga, Tocumwal, Rich River, Corowa, or any course of your choice at no extra charge. We can accommodate up to 180 people at any given time and we have the largest breakfast room in Barooga. For the best breakfast in town come to El Sierra Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Sierra Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing