We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bangalow
Saskatchewan
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

While visiting Australia last December, we lucked out in finding this lovely spot. It is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the popular resort town of Byron Bay to be quiet and relaxing, yet close enough to be a quick drive to the beach. Bangalow, which is very close, has unique little shops and good restaurants.
I just can't rave enough about this retreat and its wonderful hosts. We enjoyed many long walks in the serene countryside or relaxed by the pool, enjoying the beautiful view. Hosts, Graham and Francesca couldn't do enough for us and definitely went above and beyond. We felt as though we were visiting family or good friends!
If you are planning a trip to the East coast of Australia near Byron Bay and Bangalow, we certainly encourage you to treat yourself to a stay at Summerhills.
Gloria and Bryan

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramsandgramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    19
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
98
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Hard to describe exactly how much our time each year at Summer Hills means to us. The location and the people hold a very special place in our hearts. We always arrive with great anticipation and leave so relaxed, grounded and refreshed.

Take the time to walk the surrounds of Summer Hills and visit the big old fig tree, a great place to zone out and awesome for family pictures. We have many. Every direction has it's own perfect backdrop.

The breakfast, oh yes the food, in one word FANTASTIC! We cannot think of a better way to start the day while on a relaxing holiday. Don't forget to have a coffee and a chat to Graham and Francesca before you head out for a day of exploring or chilling out by the pool.

A big thank you to Francesca and Graham for always making us feel very welcome and part of their Summer Hills family.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joels-c55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We had the most awesome stay at SummerHills Retreat. Francesca and Graham, the owners, made our stay a wonderful experience - beautiful people we will not forget.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a nice beautiful, peaceful and romantic place to stay. It reminded me of a place where movie stars would like to hide themselves away for a relaxing getaway.

The surroundings were beautiful overlooking a valley. One could stroll through the macadamia orchards or wonder through the hills amongst the sheep; it was a taste of Tuscany. You could lay by the pool and relax on the thickly padded reclining chairs or read a book while overlooking the valley in peace and tranquility.

Just a short 15 - 20 minute drive from Byron Bay at a little place called Bangalow. A nice quite resort town with lovely shops and restaurants.

Ed & Sharon

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadbunny7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie Drifter
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

We had three romantic evenings. We celebrated our tenth anniversary of the day we met.
The two massages were deliciously awesome. Thank you Francesca for having such a beautiful hideaway for all to share.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boantherose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We found Summerhills to be a fantastic getaway and we shared a marvelous Christmas in our very private retreat.

The views of the countryside were splendid and the service was very personal and welcoming.

Strongly recommend Summerhills for anyone looking to spend some quality time with their better half.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We had our wedding weekend at Summerhills and stayed over with 20 of our friends and family for 4 days. We had exclusive use of all the accommodation which features beautiful modern decor, with lots of sublime little extras and fantastic views over the rolling green hills. Everything we needed was there including a fully equipped kitchen, spa baths, swimming pool, bbq and even a complementary bottle of bubbly on arrival!

Everything you've heard about this place is true. The facilities, the food, the rooms, the spa, the Pool – all fantastic. But it is the service that sends this retreat in to the stratosphere.

The Cabana spa cabin was breathtaking, very romantic decor, spacious and right by the pool and has expansive views over the hills & mountains. There is also a spa bath which we absolutely loved.

Overall, we loved our stay at Summerhills and had very relaxing time with family and friends the whole time. We had a recovery bbq the day after our wedding and went for a walk through the macadamia nut plantation, near the huge figtree, soaked up some sun and had a swim in the pool, played snooker and had a big bbq feast.

Summerhills holds a very special place in our hearts and all of our guests keep reminding us on how much fun they had at Summerhills and how amazing everything was, they were all blown away and keep talking about wanting to go back. We already planning to go back as we loved it so much!

Francesca and Graham are such beautiful people, very friendly, professional and will go beyond your expectations every time. Nothing is too much for them, whatever we needed they were able to accommodate all of our requests with no worries, and a genuine smile.

Summerhills is only 15 min away from Byron Bay and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves nature, fresh country air but also wants to have an option of going to the beach and having the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athrodite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2010

A beautiful retreat in the countryside once you have had enough of the beach. Stunning views and self contained rooms where you are left undisturbed to relax. Salt water pool too.

Owners are big foodies and v helpful with suggestions on where and how to fill your belly!

Complimentary bottle of pop & box of choccies also much appreciated.

Greatly recommended

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ol70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangalow
6.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
8.2 mi away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#2 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.9 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#5 of 32 in Byron Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
12.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
3.0 mi away
Bangalow Guesthouse
Bangalow Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Bangalow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay

Property: SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
Address: 100 Binna Burra Rd, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Bangalow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bangalow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Private Sanctuary Retreat, this beautiful Bangalow accommodation is set on 113 lush acres in the picturesque Byron Bay Hinterland, cocooning just 4 sets of guests at one time. Offering self-contained spa cabins & spa villas, each suite has either tropical garden or mountain views, air conditioning, personal spa bath, own kitchen/kitchenette, bathrobes, beach towels, LCD TV, DVD player and access to a gas bbq and outdoor timber setting. Facilities on-site include a 12 metre Saltwater Swimming Pool, Yoga Room, Massage & Beauty Pamper menus and Nature Walks at the Retreat (2km & 4km). This tranquil Bangalow accommodation is close to the vibrant village of Bangalow (4 minutes) and near the heart of Byron Bay (14 minutes). Close to excellent beaches and surfing, world class shopping and outstanding restaurants, this convenient Byron Bay accommodation also has free Wi-Fi and free movies for all guests, a 24 hour front desk reception and mini bar in most suites. There are golf courses and tennis courts close by as well as beautiful scenic drives throughout the hills above Byron Bay. This is Byron Bay Hinterland accommodation at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing