We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bangalow Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Bangalow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very enjoyable stay, in a lovely calm environment. Really enjoyed it, VERY WELCOMING...GRACIOUS, BUT NOT TRENDY. Manager was very pleasant, we had to leave very early in the morning, she set up a lovely tray, food in fridge etc. Was great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynnlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 85 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently rented out the entire property to hold my wedding here. The location is amazing and the house is divine, BUT, upon checking in the day before my wedding the caretaker started to have a nervous breakdown as I didn't have a wedding co-ordinator and she thought I had too many guests. They were always aware of the amount of guests I was having and it was only ever 'suggested' that I should hire someone to make it less stressful for myself. So, not off to a great start - way to stress out a bride even more! Then to make matters even worse the morning of my wedding I then see her taking a couple around the grounds showing them about! In my mind she was completely unprofessional and she put a dampener on my wedding

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bangalow Guesthouse for our honeymoon at the end of September and start of October. We couldn't recommend it more highly, with the room quality and service quite excellent. The breakfasts were especially phenomenal, with a 2-course breakfast consisting of muesli and a cooked breakfast. Our favorite was the French toast. The baked goodies available throughout the day was an added homely touch.

Would love to come back, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Recently stayed just the single night, and enjoyed the hospitality, and close proximity to Bangalow. It is a restored home with 4 ensuite rooms, and a generous shared living/dining room. The kitchen is open house, with our host cooking a wonderful banana cake for guests afternoon tea. Tea and coffee are available 24 hrs from the kitchen.
The only downside was the proximity to the road, which was a little noisy.
Parking onsite, with lovely gardens to walk through.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently spent a week end at the Bangalow Guest House and would highly recommend it for a getaway. Set amongst beautiful grounds, the house has period features and lovely classic decor which give it a very relaxed feel. Samantha and Anneke were gorgeous hosts, and breakfast of local muesli/yoghurt and the delicious fresh local organic eggs on the balcony with sun on my back was idyllic!
The claw foot bath (with cake from Samantha) in the queen room proved the perfect end to a busy day. It would be a great place to hire out for a group of friends, and I can see why it is a popular place for weddings.

Room Tip: The queen room with claw bath was my favourite- take advantage of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900Emma89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here while attending Splendour in the Grass, and I'm so glad I booked to stay here instead of in the hustle and bustle of Byron Bay. The rooms were simple and lovely, breakfast was yummy and our hostess was lovely. Bangalow is a lovely little town, and we really enjoyed our stay here. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A beautiful spot. Restored house with exquisite furnishings. Beautifully maintained gardens although a bit too wet to use to its full advantage whilst we were there. Breakfast adequate although tables set outside in the middle of winter required us to wear coats!
Unfortunately the lack of attention to detail made our stay not the luxury experience we were hoping for. There was no hand soap in the bathroom, some areas quite dirty, flowers in the common areas were not fresh or were of the service-station style mixed bunch. There was a lunch held during our stay, on the balcony, which we had been pre warned about. However, I had specifically enquired whether it would mean that the noise would impact on our room, and been reassured that it wouldn't, yet this was certainly not the case. The house was generally very noisy sue to it being on the main road. Also, the old floor boards meant that every footstep travelled. Our baby girl was unable to take either her usual morning or afternoon nap due to the noise (which as any parent knows can lead to a very disrupted holiday).
I wished we had stayed elsewhere.

Room Tip: The king suite is probably the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangalow
3.1 mi away
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
Victoria's at Ewingsdale
#1 of 2 in Ewingsdale
72 reviews
3.0 mi away
SummerHills Retreat Byron Bay
3.8 mi away
Azabu Boutique Accommodation Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tallow Beach Motel
Tallow Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Suffolk Park
165 reviews
4.5 mi away
Abelia House
Abelia House
#12 of 34 in Byron Bay
84 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Byron at Byron Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangalow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangalow Guesthouse

Address: 99 Byron St, Bangalow, New South Wales 2479, Australia (Formerly Riverview )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Bangalow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bangalow
Price Range: $141 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bangalow Guesthouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bangalow Guesthouse is a stunning property sitting amongst beautifully landscaped gardens on the banks of the picturesque Byron Creek. Situated in the main street of Bangalow and just minutes walk from a wonderful array of cafes, restaurants, boutique shops and the iconic Bangalow Hotel, this is the perfect Northern Rivers holiday spot. This historic home is an immaculately renovated heritage-style property with four en-suited bedrooms. These can be booked individually or you can hire the entire house. The Queen room has a spacious en-suite and bathtub, The King room features its own sitting room with river views. All of the rooms have been beautifully furnished with Coco Republic furniture and artwork by internationally renowned artist Ken Johnson. Wide shaded verandas surround the home on 3 sides and provide cool breezy spots to sit and overlook the magnificent gardens and Byron Creek below. The property is a 15 minutes drive from Byron Bay and the region's famous beaches, 20 minutes from Ballina/Byron Airport and only 45 minutes from the Gold Coast Airport. The Bangalow Guesthouse is also a fabulous venue to host your wedding or any kind of special event with two designated marquee spots in the gardens. We regularly hold events, local fresh food lunches and seasonal special dinners in our elegant dining room or on the spacious verandah. Bangalow Guesthouse is just a two minutes walk to boutique shops, art galleries,cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Bangalow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing